Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 219

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 219 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Zephaniah 1; Zephaniah 2; Zephaniah 3; John 9 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Zephaniah follows a similar format as Habakkuk. Just 3 chapters, Zephaniah uses the phrase “the day of the Lord” more than any other book! In their near future, captivity and restoration. In the distant future, restored by the Messiah.

Zephaniah 1, judgment…

Zephaniah 2, more judgment…

Zephaniah 3:17, “The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

John 9:30, “The man [who Jesus healed/was born blind] answered, “Now that is remarkable! You don’t know where he comes from, yet he opened my eyes. 31 We know that God does not listen to sinners. He listens to the godly man who does his will. 32 Nobody has ever heard of opening the eyes of a man born blind. 33 If this man were not from God, he could do nothing.” 34 To this they replied, “You were steeped in sin at birth; how dare you lecture us!” And they threw him out.”

40 “Some Pharisees who were with him heard him say this and asked, “What? Are we blind too?” 41 Jesus said, “If you were blind, you would not be guilty of sin; but now that you claim you can see, your guilt remains.”

O bservation

Matthew 22:29 says, “Jesus replied, “You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.”

A pplication

Whenever I read a passage like today’s, with the Pharisees (Sadducees and the Teachers of the Law) who are, as Jesus said, blind… it’s almost embarrassing that they refuse to believe in Jesus and accuse him of breaking the Sabbath because he healed someone. (Healing was considered “work.)

Sheesh…

Makes me want to say, “Seriously??

I love how they guy calls them out by simply stating the obvious that no “sinner” could do what Jesus did…

They rebut with, “You were steeped in sin at birth! How dare you lecture us!”

Their own pride blinded them from seeing the One they were waiting for.

Except for Nicodemus… who had a private conversation with Jesus in John 3… when Jesus talked about being born again. (Even then, Nicodemus didn’t get it…)

I’m sure I don’t get or haven’t gotten it so many times… if Jesus were standing here right now, he could put me in my place if he wanted to…

Still, one thing I know… Just as Peter proclaimed, I know that Jesus is the Christ. The Son of the Living God.

That much I do know!

I may not have it all figured out, but I don know that Jesus came to show us the Father… (John 14:9)

That he died for me (Romans 5:6) and rose from the dead (Matthew 28:8-9) and is seated at the right hand of the Father (Acts 2:33) making intercession for me! (Romans 8:34)

How cool is that?

P rayer

Thank You Lord that you still heal the blind… both literally and figuratively!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 219

  1. Zephaniah 2:3 seek righteousness and seek humility perhaps you will be sheltered. 7) the Lord their God will care for them, he will restore their fortunes. 3:13 they will lie down and no one will make them afraid. 17) He will take great delight in you and quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.
    This was what I am carrying with me in my boat today. We could all be called out on our own blindness (es) so many times thru the day we overlook the miracles that He performs in each of our lives. I’m grateful he sings over us and shelters us. No matter who we are, what paths we’ve chosen THIS is God’s love for us.

  2. I will put an end to all the idolatrous priests,
        so that even the memory of them will disappear.
    For they go up to their roofs
        and bow down to the sun, moon, and stars.
    They claim to follow the Lord,
        but then they worship Molech, too.
    And I will destroy those who used to worship me
        but now no longer do.
    They no longer ask for the Lord’s guidance
        or seek my blessings.

    Reminded again that idolatry is bad. Sounds like there were those who had a backup plan or wanted to cover all their bases. We will follow the commandments, but we will go to these pagan festivals just in case God loses. Not to mention, they’re fun! Perhaps God was their backup plan. Wait! God gets upset when we DON’T ask for guidance or seek His blessings?

    This got me wondering if I have a backup plan for God. In computer systems management, we are always supposed to have a backup plan. Just to be safe, maybe I should burn some incense and put a Buddha statue on a shelf. Those little cat figurines are cool too. While I’m at it, I should carry a lucky rabbits foot. …read my daily horoscope and stay home when it doesn’t look so good. At the start of a round of golf, maybe I should chuck an unblemished golf ball into a pond to appease the golf gods. Perhaps I could shoot a round under par.

    I’m being sarcastic of course…

    I used to suffer from mild OCD. I truly believed that if I didn’t put my left shoe on before my right shoe, I would have bad luck that day. This ritual evolved over time to include socks, etc. The belief in bad luck turned into feelings of dread. This went on for years and is something I don’t talk about much. One day, when watching As Good as It Gets when Melvin Udall is going through his door locking ritual, I felt the Lord say to me, “See how silly that is. All you need is me.” I realized that I was relying on this ritual as a source for blessing and protection, not God. Because of God’s strength, I am happy to say that I am free from these rituals.

    Expose any backup plans or things that I rely on other than you God. Your guidance never fails. Thank you for blessing me. Help others who suffer from OCD. You are their refuge and strength.

  3. Kelley Flees on said:

    Beautiful! We do not have to have all the answers. We are asked to do one thing:believe. I might not have all the answers, but daily I continue to learn from and get to know the one who does. I am only as close to God as I want to be. Please help me Lord to daily adjust my priorities to keep you number one.

Leave a Reply

