Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 218

Monday, August 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 218 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Habakkuk 1; Habakkuk 2; Habakkuk 3; John 8 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Funny… I quoted from Habakkuk 3 AND John 8 this past weekend. 🙂

Habakkuk 1:5, “… Be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told…”

Habakkuk 2:1, “I will stand at my watch and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what he will say to me…”

14, “The earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord, as the waters cover the sea.”

Habakkuk 3:1, “Lord, I have heard of your fame; I stand in awe of your deeds, O Lord. Renew them in our day, in our time make them known; in wrath remember mercy.”

17 “Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, 18 yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”

19 “The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”

John 8:10, “Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?” 11 “No one, sir,” she said. “Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.””

31 “To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. 32 Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.””

47 “He who belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God.”

58, “‘I tell you the truth,’ Jesus answered, ‘before Abraham was born, I am!'”

O bservation

Tension is rising in Jesus’ life… I much prefer the first half of John to the second half.

John 8:37 “I know you are Abraham’s descendants. Yet you are ready to kill me, because you have no room for my word.”

A pplication

In John 8, Jesus was talking about being drawn by God, truth, and being able to hear it.

In our culture today, “truth” is relative. Most people consider truth to be whatever one considers to be true, whether it’s true or not. It’s like, whatever you believe, if it “works” for you, then ok, good for you!

I once had someone tell me, “I don’t want salvation, I just want a little religion in my life.” Ouch…

I appreciated their honesty, though. At least I knew where they really stood.

I think they are in the majority now…

With all the talk now about tolerance, and I’m all about tolerance, it’s like there are few absolutes. People will even say to Christians, “You think you’re right!” Drives people crazy. Sounds narrow-minded, even arrogant.

But that’s not it at all…

No other religion offers salvation by grace. No one but Jesus ever made the claims he made regarding himself. In John 8 it is becoming increasingly clear that Jesus claimed to be God himself. “Before Abraham was, I am.”

“I am.”

Jesus was directly alluding to Exodus 3: “Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” Exodus 3:13-14

“I AM WHO I AM” (Hebrew) – Ehyeh Asher Ehyeh – I will be that/who/which/where I will be…

I will be that I will be.

I will be who I will be.

I will be which I will be.

I will be where I will be.

“The LORD the God of your fathers” – Yahweh Elohey -the existing One, a plural, masculine noun.

“I am.”

No other book in the Bible demonstrated Jesus deity as the Gospel of John. And in that one statement, Jesus drew a line in the sand. “I am the way, the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6.

Here’s the thing, no one else EVER made that claim…

And no one else backed it up by fulfilling all the Old Testament prophecies, and being crucified… then raising from the dead… after and proclaiming it all before it was going to happen.

I’m not against other religions. I’m not afraid of other religions. I’m not intolerant of other religions.

I just know it all comes down to Jesus and what everyone does with him.

[ ] Accept him.

[ ] Deny him.

I always say though,

the big deal isn’t that I accepted him, the big deal is that he accepted me!

Insert the whole book of Romans here… It does the best job of making sense out of how the Old and New Testaments fit together and explains how Jesus provided salvation for all of mankind.

For example, Romans 5:19, “For just as through the disobedience of the one man [Adam] the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man [Jesus] the many will be made righteous.”

Although nothing captures the Gospel quite like John 3:16…

Tim Tebow, professional football player.

““For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For

God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.”

That sounds narrow, but it’s really W I D E ! Wide enough to include ANYONE who believes in him!

Not religion… relationship!

You didn’t condemn the woman caught in adultery… you don’t condemn me!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for making a way for us to have relationship with you.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 218

  1. Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
       and the strawberries don’t ripen,
    Though the apples are worm-eaten
       and the wheat fields stunted,
    Though the sheep pens are sheepless
       and the cattle barns empty,
    I’m singing joyful praise to God.
       I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
    Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
       I take heart and gain strength.
    I run like a deer.
       I feel like I’m king of the mountain! (Habakkuk 3:17-19 MSG)

    Even though the world seems to be morally unraveling, I will praise God. Even through our financial hard times and drought, I will praise His holy name. Even though society idolizes beer and drunkenness and thrives on lust and sexual immorality, follow in His ways. Still today, justice goes to the highest bidder and our politicians are for themselves more than the people, I will trust in God. His justice will prevail.

    Thank you Jesus for allowing me to do this in my imperfection by Your blood.

Leave a Reply

