Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 215

Friday, August 3, 2012

Welcome to Day 215 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Nahum 1, Nahum 2; Nahum 3; John 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

I. Superscription (1:1)

II. Destruction of Nineveh Declared (1:2–15)

A. God’s Power Illustrated (1:2–8)

B. God’s Punishment Stated (1:9–15)

III. Destruction of Nineveh Detailed (2:1–13)

A. The City is Assaulted (2:1–10)

B. The City is Discredited (2:11–13)

IV. Destruction of Nineveh Demanded (3:1–19)

A. The First Charge (3:1–3)

B. The Second Charge (3:4–7)

C. The Third Charge (3:8–19)

Source: John McArthur, www.gty.org.

Nahum 1:7, “The Lord is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him, 8 but with an overwhelming flood he will make an end of Nineveh; he will pursue his foes into darkness.” (Nineveh was destroyed by a flooded Tigress River some years later, just as Nahum prophesied.)

15 “Look, there on the mountains, the feet of one who brings good news, who proclaims peace!” (Familiar with this verse? It is not directly quoted in the New Testament, but is alluded to by Peter in Acts 10.) Amazing how Good news is always adjacent to destruction in scripture.

Nahum 2:13, ““I am against you,” declares the Lord Almighty.”

Ouch… that is never good…

Nahum 3:16, “You have increased the number of your merchants till they are more than the stars of the sky, but like locusts they strip the land and then fly away.”

Hmmm… I think there’s a timeless message right there…

John 5:19, ““I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.”

This is right off this weekend’s outline… You’ll see. : )

O bservation

One century after Jonah preached at Nineveh, the capital city of Assyria, God brought judgment upon them after they returned to idolatry. (Remember when Jonah preached to them and they repented and he was upset?)

A pplication

I’m not a big conservationist… and I’m not all that concerned about global warming, or even protecting endangered species. I recycle, turn down my AC during the day while I’m at work… But this verse from Nahum 3 really jumped out at me this morning…

With our global economy, imagine what God might say to some of our companies stripping the land (and the ocean’s) of its natural resources… If scripture speaks directly to Nineveh that, “You have increased the number of your merchants till they are more than the stars of the sky, but like locusts they strip the land and then fly away,” what would he say to us? It’s estimated that Nineveh had 100,000-150,000 inhabitants within its walls… twice that of Babylon (and about the same as Dayton, OH has today!)

I wonder if this is what Paul was eluding to in Romans 8? Of course he was speaking to the fulfillment of all things… That even the earth itself is waiting for God to make all things “right” again.

20 “For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope 21 that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God. 22 We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time.” We know according to Revelation 21:1 that there will be “a new heaven AND a new earth!” (Emphasis is mine.)

I’m not going to go off on a “let’s go green!” rant… merely raising the question as to God’s view of how mankind has stewarded the earth. Keep in mind that Nahum referred to Nineveh’s merchants numbering “as the stars.” The earth’s population didn’t hit its first billion until 1804. Now it stands at SEVEN billion.

That’s getting a little closer to numbering “as the stars.” Agree?

If we are all called to steward the earth at some level, what is our responsibility? Does it really matter if I recycle? With the amount of trash created world-wide on a daily basis, how much impact could my recycling have.

You really have to look at this in reverse… What if no one recycled?

I always say, “millions are still made of up pennies.” Little by little by little…

PepsiCo has altered its plastic bottles used by Aquafina to use 50% less plastic. World wide, this has impact! The good news is fresh water is more available world-wide. The bad news is all that plastic ends up in a landfill or worse, in the ocean. 50% less plastic per bottle at least slows the rate at which our landfills are filled.

If you have been following this blog, you know I’m not given to such rants… Keep in mind, this is my blog, my take on each day’s reading. My musings, put out there for the whole world to see.

Not trying to push my views on anyone. Just pondering out loud.

And, for the record, I really dislike the new energy-efficient lightbulbs!

: )

P rayer

Lord, give me eyes to see and ears to hear what you are saying about the world around me…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P.S. Special shout out to Nicole for causing me to think through this a bit more than I might have. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 215

  1. You have your heads in your Bibles constantly because you think you’ll find eternal life there. But you miss the forest for the trees. These Scriptures are all about me! And here I am, standing right before you, and you aren’t willing to receive from me the life you say you want.

    This felt like a knock on the head. Reading scripture is only part of the the equation. I can read wonderful stories all day, but as Scott always says, “It’s all about relationship. Relationship, relationship, relationship.” Or something like that… =)

    I can learn and memorize every bit of scriptures and study it’s significance in a cultural perspective, but if I don’t encounter Jesus on a regular basis, what good does it do me? On the other hand, I can go to conference after conference and experience Jesus and don’t learn and apply His word to my life, what good is it? I want to be a friend of Jesus, not just a marketing rep. I want to live the gospel, not just peddle it on street corners.

    I am so thankful that you are my God. You ask for so little and give so much. Thank you for being with us as our counselor and friend.

    p.s. – Recycling and taking care of God’s creation is always a good thing. JMHO

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Thanks, Scott. 🙂 The Good News that I am reading from doesn’t say “strip the land” it just mentions the locusts. So, it was interesting to read it from a different version.

    Nahum 1:3
    “The Lord does not easily become angry…”

    I want to be like God. I want others to see him in me. Anger is something that I
    am working on daily. More impatience, than anger. But my impatience, causes my anger to show its ugly face.
    This verse just brought a flood of peace over me when I read it. “The Lord does not easily become angry.” And the Spirit speaks to me and says, “you want to be like me right? I don’t easily become angry. so you don’t become angry easily. it’s simple.”

    Lord, help me to focus on you. Please change me. Change my heart. Help me to be pure and filled with your Spirit. Take away my selfishness and impatience. I want to be like you.

  3. I also see taking care of what God gave us in the environment as a very Christian thing to think about, and I want to thank Scott for helping me to look outside of myself in the daily readings and look beyond my own needs and perhaps consider what God has in store for the big “US”.

    • Cheryl, the Life Journal is all about what God is saying to each of us. I try to approach my blog as though it’s between me and God, but with so many people looking on, it often ends up being “us.” 🙂

      Nice to see you again!

Leave a Reply

