Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 214

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 214 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Kings 21; 2 Chronicles 33; John 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

So… We finished Isaiah. All 66 chapters… and I didn’t realize it until now. I was like, “Hey! Why are we in 2 Kings again! What happened to Isaiah?” Didn’t end like Paul ended his letters. No obvious benediction…

2 Kings 21 recounts the 55 year reign of Manasseh. Not a good guy. Shed a lot of innocent blood. He even sacrificed one of his sons, practiced divination and sorcery… Then his son Amon became king, reigned for two years when his officials killed him. Such is life.

2 Chronicles 33 ditto above passage…

John 4, now HERE’S a passage we can sink our teeth into!

Jesus’ conversation with the Samaritan woman at the well… They had a lengthy conversation and she returned to her town and told what had happened… Here’s the result:

39 “Many of the Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me everything I ever did.” 40 So when the Samaritans came to him, they urged him to stay with them, and he stayed two days. 41 And because of his words many more became believers. 42 They said to the woman, “We no longer believe just because of what you said; now we have heard for ourselves, and

we know that this man really is the Savior of the world.”

O bservation

I love that many of the Samaritans from that town believed in Jesus because of that woman’s testimony.

Jacob’s well in Samaria.

A pplication

She was just drawing water from a well and encountered the Messiah! How cool is that?

Keep in mind, she had a not-great reputation… She had been married five times previously and was now living with another man, yet many came to believe because of her testimony regarding Jesus possibly being the Christ!

She asked Jesus some great questions about worship, talked a little theology, Jesus lovingly read her mail and called her out about her relationship issues… But it didn’t faze her, or deter her. She immediately went and told others about her encounter.

How long has it been since you have had an encounter with God?

I had one Sunday night at our worship team get together. (We gather once per month to worship behind the scenes, to pray and seek His face.) I was just laid out on the floor as we worshiped. It was… refreshing. Uplifting. Family. Cozy. Fun! Just soaking in God’s presence, singing to him.

Here’s my new favorite worship song: “You Have Won Me” by Brian Johnson and Jeremy Riddle

Watch the video

Lyrics: 

Sorry about all the periods between the words. I copied and pasted and don’t have the energy to take them out! 🙂

Grace.You’ve.shown.me.grace

You’ve.lifted.my.shame

Drawn.me.with.loving.kindness

Washed.whiter.than.snow

You.have.redeemed.and.made.me.whole

 

Je–sus.you.have.won.me.

You’ve.broken.every.chain

With.love.and.mercy

You’ve.triumphed.over.death.

And.You.are.worthy

Of.glory.and.praise

 

Love.You’ve.shown.me.love

By.leaving.your.throne

By.bleeding.and.dying.on.a.cross.

That.wonderful.cross

That.took.all.my.guilt.and.sin.away

 

Shout.it.out.and.lift.up.one.voice.(in.worship)

Singing.of.Your.wonder.and.worth.(You’re.glorious)

Till.Your.name’s.revealed.on.the.earth

Revealed.on.the.earth

 

This song really touches my heart. It’s deep, it’s passionate, it speaks of His wonder and worth, and it touches on the cross. Always a good theme. Notice, too, it’s written in “first person” language. “Jesus, you have won me.”

I think Jesus won the woman at the well. She revealed his name on the earth! “Come, see a man who told me everything I ever did! Could this be the Christ?”

P rayer

Lord, you took all my guilt and sin away! May your name be revealed on the earth!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 214

  1. The Samaritan woman, taken aback, asked, “How come you, a Jew, are asking me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?” (Jews in those days wouldn’t be caught dead talking to Samaritans.)

    I think this is a perfectly timed story given all the controversy surrounding chicken sandwiches and gay marriage. I think Christians (generalization) tend to look at homosexuals similar to the way Jews looked at Samaritans. I suspect that many people are supporting Chick-fil-a not over free speech or support of traditional marriage, but out of prejudice.

    I think it’s OK to support free speech and traditional marriage, but I think this is also a good time to check our motives. Jesus reached out to this Samaritan woman, who was quite promiscuous, and dropped an invitation to the kingdom. He said in Mark 2:17, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” I need a doctor as much as anyone and need to share Him.

    Reveal my impure motives and help me to purify them. You know my heart. Lead me extend the kingdom to everyone, especially the modern day Samaritans.

Leave a Reply

