Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 212

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Welcome to Day 212 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 63; Isaiah 64; Psalms 107; John 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 63:1, “I will tell of the kindnesses of the Lord, the deeds for which he is to be praised, according to all the Lord has done for us—yes, the many good things he has done for Israel, according to his compassion and many kindnesses. 8 He said, “Surely they are my people, children who will be true to me”; and so he became their Savior.”

Isaiah 64:5b, “How then can we be saved? 6 All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags…”

8 “You, Lord, are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.”

Psalm 107:13, “Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress.”

43 “Let the one who is wise heed these things and ponder the loving deeds of the Lord.”

John 2:10, “Everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the best till now.”

O bservation

Pondering, “but you have saved the best till NOW.”

A pplication

God is a God of now. “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.” Hebrews 13:8

Jesus only did what he saw the father doing. John 5:19

Doing. Not “did.” Doing… now.

This is my message for the upcoming weekend. Been thinking about a few different topics, but I think this is a message for our church, now. (Sorry, couldn’t pass that up…)

Put the past behind me.

Look to the future.

Live in the now.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

I’m sure that “now” in Hebrews 11 is transitive in its meaning… it’s not really “Now-faith” it’s “Now, faith…” as in “Now, moving on from there, faith is…”

But I like the “Now-faith” aspect. My friend Steve Bowen often refers to this verse in this way… It’s NOW faith. Faith for now. This moment. When God is present and doing something.

What is God doing in your life?

That’s a very different question than, “What has God done in your life?” That’s your testimony… And that’s good! It’s your testimony as to what God has done. But what is God doingnow… in your life?

Doing is present tense.

Done is past tense. (Sorry for the elementary English lesson…)

“Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.” John 8:58 (Jesus quoting from Exodus 3:14 when Moses asked God, “What should I say when they ask me your name?”

New Testament, “I am” Greek: “Eimi.” “To be, to exist, to happen, to be present. I am. I be. I have been.”

Old Testament, “I am” Hebrew: “Hayah.” “Be, become, come to pass, exist, happen.” Then He added, “the Lord” (YHWH/YaHWeH or “Jehovah” “the existing one.”) “God” (Elohyim, a plural, masculine noun) of your fathers.

God is a God of “now.” God of the present…

Be filled with the Spirit.” Ephesians 5:18… is present tense, “Be” filled.

“And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.” Colossians 3:17

How about this for a “now” verse! “LORD, I have heard of your fame; I stand in awe of your deeds, O LORD. Renew them in our dayin our time make them known; in wrath remember mercy.” Habakkuk 3:2

God is most certainly the God of now!

P rayer

Give me eyes to see what you are doing!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 212

  1. Shock on said:

    John 2
    4 “Woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.” 5 His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

    I wonder what other things aren’t in the Bible that Mary mother of Jesus had seen. She didn’t just mention to Jesus that the wine was gone, she knew He could do something about it. In the next verse we see that mom’s haven’t changed. She didn’t wait to see what would happen, she told the servants to do whatever he tells you because she expected the matter to be resolved. I can almost hear Jesus’ internal monologue. “Fine, I’ll use my God power to fix this trivial problem that seems so important right now. Great use of my power mom.” But the truth is, God wants to fix our trivial problems if we simply seek to get Him involved. In this example, Mary is using the “God On Demand” (the acronym is GOD, how awesome is that?) philosophy of there is a problem I can’t fix, so I better call on Him. A lot of people use this. “Oh, I’m about to get in a car wreck, Jesus take the wheel”. Or, “This is too big for me to handle on my own, better get God involved now”. But honestly, shouldn’t we start the day with God and have Him walk with us the entire day? What would your day be like if you shared the entire day with God and kept it in your head that God is right here with you every minute? Try it, maybe today, maybe tomorrow, but just try it. Keep God with you the entire day and see what happens. Maybe we can use less God on Demand, and more God all the time.

    • Good to hear from you Shock! Been a while!

      • Shock on said:

        Thanks Scott, I’ve been playing the silent type, just reading the blog and not taking the time to post. My dissertation defense is 21 Aug, so I’ve been working hard to get everything finished. Things should be a little less crazy after that. Take care and pray for a successful defense.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 107:9
    “He satisfied those who are thirsty
    and fills the hungry with good things.”
    vs. 29
    “He calmed the raging storm,
    and the waves became quiet.”
    vs. 43
    “May those who are wise think about these things;
    may they consider the Lord’s constant love.”

    God is the only one who can satisfy me. He fills me. Nothing else completes me and makes me whole. He is all that I need. I need him.
    When I remember that he controls the oceans, I feel safe & secure. The most powerful one holds me in his hands.

    I will meditate on your word, God. I am so thankful for your constant love.
    Thank you for your powerful ways. Thank you for the peace that you bring
    to my life.

Leave a Reply

