Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 209

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Welcome to Day 209 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 53; Isaiah 54; Isaiah 55; Isaiah 56; 2 Peter 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 53:5, “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed.”

6 We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.” 7 “He was oppressed and afflicted, yet he did not open his mouth; he was led like a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before its shearers is silent, so he did not open his mouth.”

11 After he has suffered, he will see the light of life and be satisfied; by his knowledge my righteous servant will justify many, and he will bear their iniquities.”

Isaiah 54:9, “So now I have sworn not to be angry with you, never to rebuke you again. 10 Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the Lord, who has compassion on you.”

Isaiah 55:1. “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. 2 Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare.”

5 “Surely you will summon nations you know not, and nations you do not know will come running to you, because of the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, for he has endowed you with splendor.”

6 Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near.

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

11 “… So is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Isaiah 56:8, “The Sovereign Lord declares—he who gathers the exiles of Israel: “I will gather still others to them besides those already gathered.”

See previous verse 6, “And foreigners who bind themselves to the Lord to minister to him, to love the name of the Lord, and to be his servants.”

2 Peter 2, wow, Peter is on a rant today about false teachers and the damage they do.

O bservation

Today may be the most impossible day to pick ONE verse that stands out. Isaiah 53-56 is loaded with amazing verses!

Isaiah clearly states that we (as “foreigners”) will be gathered along with Israel-exiles!

A pplication

So, here is today’s pick… Hard to find any other verse in the Bible that speaks of God’s love and mercy and His desire to pour out his love on us, to care for us and to provide for us!

It speaks to the possibility of having a deep, meaningful relationship with God… Not distant, cold or harsh.

Isaiah 55:1. “Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters; and you who have no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost. 2 Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy? Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and you will delight in the richest of fare.”

I like the verse, “you will delight in the richest of fare.”

I’ve had some great meals lately… Some of our favorite restaurants around Dayton include Brio at the Greene, Thai 9 in the Oregon District, Amelia’s in Bellbrook, the Wellington Grille in Beavercreek. I could go on and on…

I have really begun to enjoy food, and fellowship with friends.

I used to eat for fuel.

Now, 25 lbs. later, I have learned to relax and just enjoy a good meal.

“You will delight in the richest of fare.”

I love that imagery… it shows how much he cares for us. It implies friendship and intimacy. Closeness.

I really like that!

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you are not far off, distant or unconcerned. You are close to me!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 209

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Isaiah 55:1-3
    “1 The Lord says,
    Come, everyone who is thirsty—
    here is water!
    Come, you that have no money—
    buy grain and eat!
    Come! Buy wine and milk—
    it will cost you nothing!
    2 Why spend money on what does not satisfy?
    Why spend your wages and still be hungry?
    Listen to me and do what I say,
    and you will enjoy the best food of all.
    3 Listen now, my people, and come to me;
    come to me, and you will have life!
    I will make a lasting covenant with you
    and give you the blessings I promised to David.”

    “And you will enjoy the best food of all…”
    “Come to me, and you will have life!”
    The Lord is so faithful. He is the giver of life. He offers satisfaction.

    Thank you, Father, that you satisfy me. You provide me with all that I need.
    You bless me. I am so thankful today.

  2. If anyone does attack you, it will not be my doing;
    whoever attacks you will surrender to you. (Isaiah 54:15 NIV)

    This is a great verse, knowing that God will never attack us. What a great promise too hold on to.

    When things are going bad, it’s easy to think that God is upset. This is not the case. He will never leave or forsake us. Turning our back on God for idols is very bad, but who would want to do that?

    Lord, thank you for being there despite my slip ups and failures.

Leave a Reply

