Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 207

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Welcome to Day 207 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 46; Isaiah 47; Isaiah 48; Isaiah 49; 1 Peter 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 46:3, ““Listen to me, you descendants of Jacob, all the remnant of the people of Israel, you whom I have upheld since your birth, and have carried since you were born. 4 Even to your old age and gray hairs I am he, I am he who will sustain you. I have made you and I will carry you; I will sustain  you and I will rescue you.”

Isaiah 47:4, “Our Redeemer—the Lord Almighty is his name—is the Holy One of Israel.”

Isaiah 48:11, “For my own sake, for my own sake, I do this. How can I let myself be defamed? I will not yield my glory to another.”

Isaiah 49:15 “Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! 16 See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.”

26 “I will make your oppressors eat their own flesh; they will be drunk on their own blood, as with wine. Then all mankind will know that I, the Lord, am your Savior, your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob.”

1 Peter 5:5, “All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because,

“God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.”

6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

O bservation

Yet again, God’s faithfulness is on full display! Isaiah 49 is a beautiful passage, comparing Israel to a newborn and God to a faithful, loving mother.

A pplication

Amidst all the judgment and unfaithfulness of Israel (and Judah), what remains after the dust settles is God’s faithfulness.

Period.

God is faithful, because he can’t NOT be faithful. He is not just faithful, he IS faithful.

Because of his faithfulness, we can rest assured. “If God is for us then who can be against us?” Romans 8:31.

I love the imagery of God as a faithful mother. So much of the Bible portrays God as a father or the Holy One… a consuming fire. Here we have a beautiful verse of God caring for Israel as a mother nursing her baby.

That paints a different picture, doesn’t it…

One of my favorite pictures is of me with my oldest daughter, Natalie (23, Air Force) when she was just an infant. She was asleep on my legs as I slept on the couch. Sometimes that was the only way she would settle down.

This is so important to having a well-rounded, full picture of who God is.

It’s so easy to over-simply who a person is… For someone to say, “Scott is a pastor and worship leader, husband and father of four” captures in a nutshell a few of the roles that I play in life, but that hardly captures all of who I am. My personality, desires or character.

What a great image for us to remember. That God could no more forget Israel (or us!) than a mother could forget her newborn child.

(And did you catch the part of the verse, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands?”)

“I have engraved you on the palms of my hands…” Brings the imagery of a tattoo… (the closest thing to an “engraving” I can imagine) on the palm of His hand. A photo, a drawing, a picture? Super-imposed on the palm of his hand.

Bottom line? He can not and will not forget us.

Ever.

P rayer

Thank you Lord that you have me engraved on the palm of your hand!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 207

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    This is my God, that I know & love…
    ” Listen to me, descendants of Jacob,
    all who are left of my people.
    I have cared for you from the time you were born.
    I am your God and will take care of you
    until you are old and your hair is gray.
    I made you and will care for you;
    I will give you help and rescue you.” Isaiah 46:3-4

    Thank you, God, that you care for me. That you help me and rescue me.
    You are my peace. I rest in your arms. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  2. Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

    When I feel anxious or afraid, it’s because I am relying on myself for something. If I am relying on myself, I should be afraid…

    This was a great revelation for me some time ago, and I rarely get nervous now. I was thrown into prophetic drumming a few years back and was completely uncertain of what I was doing. I came to realize that God would provide the right beat at the right time. By admitting that I don’t know what is right and trusting in the groove, tempo and dynamics that spring up inside, I can play confidently. This doesn’t take the place of practice and preparation even though it does seem at times that someone else is moving my hands and legs inside of me.

    Why is it so hard to say, “Lord, I need you!”? Is it that our society idolizes the self-made man; the rugged Marlboro man?

    Lord, I need you. I can’t do it without you. Thank you for being there.

Leave a Reply

