Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 206

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Welcome to Day 206 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 43; Isaiah 44; Isaiah 45; 1 Peter 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

Actual scroll of Isaiah.

S cripture

Isaiah 43 is such a great chapter!

Isaiah 43:2, “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. 3 For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.”

11 “I, even I, am the Lord, and apart from me there is no savior. 12 I have revealed and saved and proclaimed—I, and not some foreign god among you.”

25 ““I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.”

Isaiah 44:19, “No one stops to think, no one has the knowledge or understanding to say, “Half of it I used for fuel; I even baked bread over its coals, I roasted meat and I ate. Shall I make a detestable thing from what is left? Shall I bow down to a block of wood?”

(Doesn’t make much sense when you put it that way, does it?)

Isaiah 45:5 “I am the Lord, and there is no other; apart from me there is no God. I will strengthen you, though you have not acknowledged me, 6 so that from the rising of the sun to the place of its setting men may know there is none besides me. I am the Lord, and there is no other.”

9, “Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making?’”

22, “Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other.”

1 Peter 4:11, “If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God.”

O bservation

Isaiah continues to be mind-blowing! So deep and so practical…

A pplication

Having said that, 1 Peter 4:11 jumped out at me this morning… I was reminded when the Lord spoke this verse to me many years ago. Certainly more than a dozen…

It occurred to me that when I was doing to message (perhaps Doug was out of town) that I wasn’t merely “filling in for Doug…” that I was speaking because God was calling me to do so, not simply because Doug wasn’t available. However true that might have been early on in our church plant, after God spoke this verse to me, I realized I was to speak as though I was “speaking the very words of God.” Certainly not in an arrogant way, but in a way that I was now certain of my calling. Regardless of the circumstance of which I came to be speaking at any particular time…

I realized I was no less called, even if was “filling in.”

I have always been willing and happy to do whatever needed to be done. Whether leading worship or speaking. Leading the men’s ministry or the children’s ministry. Or writing a daily blog. 🙂

One of my favorite verses (I know, I say that all the time…) is Colossians 3:17, “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

What I get out of that is that whatever I say, whatever I do, I am to do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus.

Whatever…

(I don’t mean that in the teen-age, dismissive “WhatEVER!” way… just repeating the word from the verse…)

That’s pretty broad, isn’t it? Whatever I do…

Speaking, leading worship, serving…

… interacting with the community… one of my favorite things to do…

… Do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus.

(The very next verse says that wives should submit to their husbands and that husbands are to love their wives and not be harsh with them… that gives the previous verse a little different context, doesn’t it…)

I love where Jesus said, “Let your light shine before men that they would see your good works and glorify your father in heaven.”

Let your light shine…

We are to LET our light shine… not blind people with it.

But I digress…

When YOU speak, do you speak as one who is speaking the very words of God? Doesn’t have to mean public speaking… It could mean speaking to the person you work with, in line behind you at Kmart or whatever.

We have this authority! Not to be obnoxious and ram God’s word down people’s throats, but to speak as though we are speaking the very words of God! Not simply quoting verses, but we should speak as though we are speaking the very words of God.

Let that sink in…

It will begin changing how you approach conversations and affect the words you might choose, and how you see your part in the kingdom of God… that God wants to speak through all of us, to those around us.

“If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God.” 1 Peter 4:11

P rayer

Lord, thank you that you want to use us to reach others and to speak to those around us! Give us your words… words of life that would build others up!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 206

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Isaiah 43:1
    “Do not be afraid-I will save you.
    I have called you by name-you are mine.”-The Lord

    1 Peter 4;2
    “From now on, then, you must live the rest of your earthly lives controlled by God’s will and not by human desires.”

    vs 7. “The end of all things is near. You must be self-controlled and alert, to be able to pray.”

    vs. 12-19-Suffering as a Christian.
    We shouldn’t be surprised when we have painful testing in our lives. We should be glad that we share in Christ’s sufferings. If we suffer, it doesn’t have to be because we have done wrong. Trust yourself to Christ. He always keeps his promises.

    Lord, I want your will for my life. Please help me to be guided by your will, not by my desires. Help me to be self controlled and alert. Thank you, Lord, for the testing in my life. I trust myself to you. I will not be afraid, for you have saved me, called me by name and I am yours!

  2. “Forget the former things;
        do not dwell on the past.
    See, I am doing a new thing!
        Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?

    Initial reaction to this was contrasting it to Malachi 3:6 “I the LORD do not change. So you, O descendants of Jacob, are not destroyed.” Can God do a new thing without changing? Clearly the answer is Yes. God is creative. I don’t think he worked for seven days and retired. He continues to shape and mold us in new ways. If we did the same songs every week at church, we would quickly get into a rut. Singing the same hymns for the first half of my life just became a ritual.

    “Do not dwell on the past” doesn’t mean that we have to uproot everything. God designed us to adapt and encounter Him in new ways. We need to embrace foundational truths about loving God and others, but we need to do so in new and different ways… to different groups of people… especially those abused by the church. There is a new biker church operating at a bar on Sunday mornings in Huber Heights. Talk about a new thing!

    Application – Listen and perceive the new things that God is doing. Seek out and reach for modern day Samaritans, those the church has cast out and/or abused, not to beat them over the head with bible verses to get them to change. Love them, accept them, and let the Holy Spirit convict them. My attempts to change people usually end up in an epic fail. God working through the Holy Spirit is much more effective. Pray for that.

    Lord, open my heart to the new things that you are doing while keeping me anchored to the rock. Help me to be a bridge and not a dam. Put the right words in my mouth to lead others to you and to draw believers closer to you, not push them away.

Leave a Reply

