Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 205

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Welcome to Day 205 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 40; Isaiah 41; Isaiah 42; 1 Peter 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 40 begins the section of Isaiah proclaiming the salvation and deliverance from captivity and Israel’s misery.

29 “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. 30 Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

Isaiah 41:10, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 42:1, ““Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will bring justice to the nations.”

20 “You have seen many things, but you pay no attention; your ears are open, but you do not listen.”

1 Peter 3:15, “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect…”

O bservation

Amazing how much Jesus quoted Isaiah in the Gospels. There are so many familiar passages in Isaiah, especially chapters 40 and 41.

A pplication

The promises in Isaiah 40 and 41 are amazing in that we all run out of strength. “Even youth and young men grow tired and weary.” This is true for all of us… But his promise is to renew our strength as we hope in him.

Hoping in the Lord is a mutual partnership… knowing that God is for us and that he loves us… As we prepare our resume, send out letters and make calls to potential employers, believing that God will open doors for us.

Can the phone simply ring on its own? Can someone refer an employer to us and they call us out of the blue?

Sure.

I’ve had it happen more than once over the course of my prior advertising career. Maybe three times?

The company I was working for went under. We had just done a big presentation to our largest client when we were met at the elevators, handed a paycheck and were told, “Cash it. Now.”

I decided to just relax for a few days, stay at home with Bonnie and figure out what our next move would be. I was in bed when the phone rang… It was someone from another agency who had heard I was available. They asked me to come in for an interview. I showered, got dressed and drove to Cincinnati, was asked to come back the next day for another interview, and was offered a position.

Yes, it can work that way… but wisdom suggests that we do our part…

In Ephesians 6, the passage about putting on the whole armor of God… it simply states, “after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then…”

We put on the armor of God, do all that we know to do… trusting him along the way. After that, when we don’t know what else to do, or we’ve done everything that we know to do… we stand. Trusting him as we stand… and wait… for the phone to ring.

I love the adventure of trusting God… waiting to see how he will move. I’m all about the story of how God did whatever he is going to do in my life.

After praying for people, I always ask them to report back to me about their healing, job interview, how God helped them financially, etc…

No one can convince me that God isn’t faithful. I’ve experienced his faithfulness over and over and over in my life!

His promise is, when we are tired from standing, he will renew our strength… to keep standing!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your faithfulness… not just in terms of providing for my needs, but for your protection, guidance and wisdom.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 205

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    There is so much in the verses today…

    Isaiah 41:18-19
    He makes rivers flow in barren hills.
    He turns deserts in to pools of water.
    And the dry land in to flowing springs.
    He makes cedars grow in the desert.
    Forests grow in barren lands.

    He brings life. He does that to my life.
    Without him I have no hope, no growth, no life.
    Reminds me of this song we used to sing when I was a child…

    1 Peter 3:4
    “Instead, your beauty should consist of your true inner self,
    the ageless beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of
    the greatest value in God’s sight.”

    The ageless beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit.
    Oh, that is what I long for…a gentle and quiet spirit.

    Lord, thank you for your river of life that flows through me.
    Thank you for your Spirit. Please give me a gentle and quiet
    spirit. I want to please you in all that I do.

  2. Last Sunday I shared an experience that reminded me how God is bigger than myself, the earth, the universe, my problems, etc., and the readings in Isaiah today reflect that, and despite His greatness:

    But I’ll take the hand of those who don’t know the way,
       who can’t see where they’re going.
    I’ll be a personal guide to them,
       directing them through unknown country.
    I’ll be right there to show them what roads to take,
       make sure they don’t fall into the ditch.
    These are the things I’ll be doing for them—
       sticking with them, not leaving them for a minute.

    The creator of the universe is my personal guide who won’t leave me even for a minute?! What a great promise. I just need to listen and hear. I walked through the sheep barn at the Clark County Fair Sunday afternoon and walked up to a sheep in it’s pin. This sheep looked up at me, then looked around, then back at me seemingly confused and let out a “bah”. I think it knew that I was not it’s owner and that it wasn’t at home. Although the owner of this sheep put it in a pin to protect it and kept it fed and watered while they were gone, God promises that He will be next to us at all times no matter where we are. He never leaves us pinned up and runs off to ride the rides and eat fair food. He never sleeps or even grows tired and strengthens us.

    Thank you for being my God. I don’t need to feel lost or abandoned or call out as if You are not there. Jesus, You are my shepherd. Open my ears to Your voice and my eyes to Your creation. I pray for those who are suffering for Your sake. Deliver them from dark dungeons to the glory of Your kingdom. In Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

