Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 203

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 203 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 36; Isaiah 37; Psalms 76; 1 Peter 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

I have completed my reading for today, but will finish my SOAP exercise later this afternoon. God bless! Scott

S cripture

Isaiah 36 and Isaiah 37 are Isaiah’s version of Hezekiah’s defense against Assyria and his prayer, very similar text as 2 Kings 18 & 19 and 2 Chronicles 32.

Psalms 76, a psalm of Asaph.

1 Peter 1:3, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade, this inheritance is kept in heaven for you…”

23 “For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.”

O bservation

We have been born again of a seed that is imperishable, to receive an inheritance kept in heaven for us!

(I still can’t believe it… 185,000 Assyrian warriors died as they slept. Guess there’s more than one way to fight a war!)

A pplication

1 Peter 1:3 “He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade, this inheritance is kept in heaven for you…”

Let’s break this down…

1. A new birth!

2. A living hope!

3. An inheritance that can * N E V E R * perish, spoil or fade!

4. It’s safely stored in heaven for you, and me!

Now that’s good stuff!

A living hope… a LIVING hope! And an inheritance that awaits us!

I think I’m just going to marinate in that thought today… (Even though it’s yesterday’s reading!)

A living hope…

Let’s walk in that, not discouragement, disappointment or defeat!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for the inheritance you have stored for us! You are so good!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 203

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Peter 1:14
    “Be obedient to God, and do not allow your lives to be shaped by those desires that you had when you were still ignorant.”

    This hit me like a brick over the head this morning.
    “Do not allow your lives to be shaped by those desires that you had when you were still ignorant.” I have desires (old habits) in my life that shape my life, and they shouldn’t.

    Lord, I want to be obedient. Please lead me so that I am on a path directed by your desires for me, not my own. I submit myself to you. Take all that I am and use it for your glory.

  2. Joyanna on said:

    As I read today it was impressed on me again – Sennacherib was a thug! Full of himself and his lies, he tried to intimidate. Lies, insults and propaganda were his M.O. but The Lord, the one true God, will not be mocked!
    185,000 dead soldiers has made an impression on me too Scott. (I wonder how this was recorded in their national history?) It does not say they were afflicted with any disease, or any other ‘natural cause’ – God just wiped them out!!
    In contrast to the lies of the Assyrian king, God’s Truth in Psalms and Peter was refreshing and a comfort to me today.

  3. Over the last two days of reading the story of the King of Assyria and King Hezekiah, I had this picture of a school bully. It’s the same tactics. I’ve beat up everyone else, so you should just give up now and give me your lunch money. Give me your allegiance and you will have my protection and satisfy all your needs. Underneath all this is the message “You don’t need God if you have me.” We begin to feel trapped like there is no way out; that we have to give in… OR ELSE!

    Using manipulation to get power is a sure sign of Satan at work. In contrast, offering asssistance without any expectation of reward or payment is the hand of God. Note to self: avoid any attempt to manipulate or control others and look to enrich the lives of others without expecation of repayment or reward. God is all the protection we need. Do not underestimate what He can do.

    As I was driving to church this morning, I encontered a real and tangible sense of how big God is. The song, “Show Me Your Glory” came on and I looked out the window and saw the beams of sunlight streaming down through the morning clouds over the trees and grass which were brown and dormant just a week ago. I realized that God created all of this, even the car I am driving, not man. He is bigger than all of it!

    Lord thank you for creating the universe. Thank you for your protection against all ennemies. Thank you for providing for all my needs. Thank you for wanting to be my God.

  4. Good stuff everyone! I had the same impression of Sennacherib, intimidating and mocking… Go to bed, Sennacherib! Let’s see what tomorrow brings! HA!

Leave a Reply

