Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 200! Woohoo!

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 200 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Kings 17; 2 Chronicles 28; Psalm 46; James 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P =  Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Kings 17, Israel enters a new era of captivity by Assyria.

“They would not listen, however, but persisted in their former practices. 41 Even while these people were worshiping the Lord, they were serving their idols. To this day their children and grandchildren continue to do as their ancestors did.”

2 Chronicles 28:22, “In his time of trouble King Ahaz became even more unfaithful to the Lord. 23 He offered sacrifices to the gods of Damascus, who had defeated him; for he thought, “Since the gods of the kings of Aram have helped them, I will sacrifice to them so they will help me.”

But they were his downfall

and the downfall of all Israel.”

(I’m done blogging about Israel’s downfall… lol.)

Psalm 46:10, “He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.'”

James 3, insert the whole chapter of James 3 here! Incredible scripture!

1 “2 We all stumble in many ways…”

9 “With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10 Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.”

O bservation

How true is that? “We all stumble in many ways.”

A pplication

THEN James launches into this rant about the tongue and how it is a fire, set on fire from Hell… yadda, yadda, yadda…

I don’t know about you, but I am acutely aware when I say something I shouldn’t have. I may joke about my “filter” needing replaced, but honestly, it’s my self-rebuke. It’s how I remind myself that my mouth is for one thing, praise.

Not cursing others that God has made…

I am not responsible for what anyone else does or says, only for what I say and do.

What just popped into my head? “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17

Whatever I do? Word or deed?

Seriously?

Matthew 12:36, “But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken.”

Ouch…

Ephesians 4:29, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Gulp.

Not that I “let it fly…” I don’t. I’ve never had much difficulty keeping a rein on my tongue… I rarely swear (out loud. ; )

My offenses would be much, much more subtle. Not so obvious…

Although when I am tired, I am much more apt to say something “unwholesome.” Otherwise, my filter works pretty good… most of the time.

Proverbs 18:8 states, “The words of a gossip are like choice morsels; they go down to the inmost parts.” I compare gossip to M&Ms… “Choice morsels.” Little tasty bits of information about someone or a situation that we may know something about… or that others may know… usually prefaced with, “I probably shouldn’t say anything…”

You’re right… you probably shouldn’t.

What would life be like if we didn’t listen to, or spread gossip. (Even in the form of a prayer request? Doh!)

What if we all just stopped the person before they started and simply said, “Hey, you know, I probably don’t need to know whatever it is, and you probably just shouldn’t say anything anyway…”

That’s the way it should work.

P rayer

Lord, help me to keep a tight rein on my tongue, at all times! That I would only speak words that encourage and build others up!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 200! Woohoo!

  1. Woot!!!

    A word out of your mouth may seem of no account, but it can accomplish nearly anything—or destroy it! It only takes a spark, remember, to set off a forest fire. A careless or wrongly placed word out of your mouth can do that. By our speech we can ruin the world, turn harmony to chaos, throw mud on a reputation, send the whole world up in smoke and go up in smoke with it, smoke right from the pit of hell.

    Am I the only one who has said something and tried to reach out, grab the words out of the air and stuff them back into my mouth? I know one person in particular who can cut people to pieces with their compliments. I know a few other people with Aspergers Syndrome who don’t have a filter between their thoughts and spoken words. You always know where you stand with them.

    But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. Peacemakers who sow in peace reap a harvest of righteousness.

    Stephen Covey, author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People who passed away this week, used the analogy of emotional bank accounts. In essence, we all have emotional bank accounts with people in which we can make deposits and withdrawals. The goal of course is to continue to make deposits and not withdrawal.

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Eph 4:29 NIV

    When we gossip or talk negatively about anyone, we are doing Satan’s work for him. When we talk positively about someone, we are doing Christ’s work by extending mercy whether it is deserved or not.

    Set a guard over my mouth, O LORD; keep watch over the door of my lips. (Psalm 141:3 NIV)

  2. Mark Long on said:

    Wow – James 3 is a killer. This is another area that hit home with me. Although I feel like I’ve made some headway, there is a long way to go. I really like the analogy of the bit in the horses mouth(although I sometimes feel like the other end!) and the rudder to the ship. I know that I’ve done so much damage over the years by saying things before thinking and also weighing the cost.

    As I work on patience, contentment and being faithful, this is a major area that I need to spend more time in reflection.

    Thank you Lord for reminding me!

  3. Anonymous on said:

    Gossip, a person who listens to gossip is not much different than one who receives stolen property. Said Charles Spurgeon.

  4. Dan Talbott on said:

    Sorry, didnt sign my name to the last post.

Leave a Reply

