Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 193

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Welcome to Day 193 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 11; Isaiah 12; Isaiah 13; Isaiah 14; Hebrews 9 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 11:1, “A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse; from his roots a Branch will bear fruit.” (Jesus)

Isaiah 12:2, “The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation.”

“Great is the Holy One of Israel among you.” (Jesus)

Isaiah 13:19, [Prophecy against] Babylon, the jewel of kingdoms, the pride and glory of the Babylonians,
will be overthrown by God like Sodom and Gomorrah.”

Isaiah 14, Babylon had become the crown jewel of the Assyrian Empire. Babylon represents the kingdoms of this world… Both Peter (1 Peter 5) and John (Revelation 14, 16-18) used Babylon as a symbol of ungodly nations.

Hebrews 9:13, “The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify them so that they are outwardly clean. 14 How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death,

so that we may serve the living God!”

27 “Just as people are destined to die once, and after that to face judgment, 28 so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many; and he will appear a second time, not to bear sin, but to bring salvation to those who are waiting for him.”

O bservation

Once again, Hebrews delivers the goods! Amazing, deep scripture regarding Jesus’ sacrifice.

A pplication

Yet again we are reminded of the amazing sacrifice of Jesus. He offered himself, unblemished, to take away our sins.

Period.

(Remember back to Leviticus and all the sacrifices and their requirements? A lamb without spot or wrinkle?)

Jesus.

No need for ongoing sacrifices, offered by men, through men. Jesus did it. Once for all.

How does that apply? (This is the “Application” portion of my SOAP…)

I don’t have to strive. I don’t have to earn anything. I don’t have to be good enough. He paid my debt. In full.

It’s not about my serving, my giving, or even this Life Journal…

“So I… stand… in awe… of you…”

P rayer

All I can say, over and over and over, is thank you.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 193

  1. He will not judge by what he sees with his eyes,
    or decide by what he hears with his ears;
    but with righteousness he will judge the needy,
    with justice he will give decisions for the poor of the earth.

    Jesus judges us by what is in our hearts, not by our appearance. We can sit in the front row at church every week or read our bible, but if we don’t change or respond, what good does it do? Politicians may claim to be for the little guy, but their actions contradict their words. It doesn’t matter how much money we have in our pockets, great or little. It’s easy to assume that people who have wealth don’t have problems and need prayer, but money often brings more problems than it solves.

    This made me think about the way I look at people and the assumptions I make. How is it that I look at people on the street or even people that I know? Do I assume that because someone is a leader that they don’t have problems or need prayer. Just because I’m paying someone a tip that I can treat them like dirt? If someone drives a sports car, are they wealthy, or just in debt? If someone “unfriends” me in Facebook or “unfollows” me on Twitter, do they hate me or did I post something offensive? Perhaps I’m just not very interesting or they want to clean up their wall. Do I avoid making eye contact with a homeless person as if they have leprosy?

    It would be nice to have a spiritual mirror that would show me a reflection the way Jesus sees me or glasses to see others as He does.

    Lord, I want to see myself and others more like you do.

Leave a Reply

