Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 192

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Welcome to Day 192 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 8; Isaiah 9; Isaiah 10; Hebrews 8 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 8, oracles of judgment and hope.

14, “and he will be a sanctuary; but for both houses of Israel he will be a stone that causes men to stumble and a rock that makes them fall.”

Isaiah 9:6, “For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. 7 Of the increase of his government and peace there will be no end. He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom, establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness from that time on and forever.” (!)

Isaiah 10:20, “In that day the remnant of Israel, the survivors of the house of Jacob, will no longer rely on him who struck them down but will truly rely on the Lord, the Holy One of Israel.

Hebrews 8:10, “This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people. 11 No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord, because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest. 12 For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”

O bservation

I am beginning to feel like a broken record. (Does that analogy still work? Do you remember when a record would skip and get stuck in the same place, over and over and over?)

All God ever wanted was to love his people, and for them to love him. And what did they do? They turned to false gods and worthless idols and appointed kings to rule over them.

A pplication

This passage from Hebrews 8 quotes from Exodus, Isaiah, Ezekiel and Zechariah. Deep stuff, yet so simple! Such a great promise that if/when we turn to him, he not only forgives our sins, but remembers them no more!

His laws go from tablets of stone to being written on our hearts. (An interesting literary twist… “he will be a stone that causes men to stumble and a rock that makes them fall.”) Jesus is the stone the builders rejected. The chief cornerstone…

We are, according to 1 Peter 2, “living stones!”

4 “As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by men but chosen by God and precious to him— 5 you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. 6 For in Scripture it says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and precious cornerstone, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.”

(I’ll pass on the obvious, “Dr. Living Stone, I presume?” joke reference…)

This all makes so much sense to me. It’s so simple. Trust him…

Trust him.

Come to him, ask for forgiveness, and trust in him.

That’s all he wants! That’s all he has ever wanted from his people!

P rayer

Lord I put my trust in you… Thank you for writing your law on my heart!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 192

  1. Sometimes I have trouble staying with the cities and all that’s going on. When that happens I focus on Him and His obvious love for us. Its all He wants. Heb. 8:12 for I will forgive their wickedness and remember their sins no more. Father thank you for your love. Even when I “skim” thru passages I have trouble following I’m grateful you love me right where I am.

  2. Perhaps you should say, “like a scratched CD”. =)

    It’s OK to repeat it. It’s like the final two verses from an old hymn…

    I love to tell the story, ’tis pleasant to repeat,
    What seems each time I tell it more wonderfully sweet;
    I love to tell the story, for some have never heard
    The message of salvation from God’s own holy Word.

    I love to tell the story, for those who know it best
    Seem hungering and thirsting to hear it like the rest;
    And when in scenes of glory I sing the new, new song,
    ’Twill be the old, old story that I have loved so long.

    It’s hard to read the old (emphasizing OLD) prophecies of God’s judgment against His people. There are so many things that He is judging them for that we are guilty of today. They become defiant with God, saying that if he destroys their brick walls, they will rebuild them better with dressed stone. Having car/home/life/health/disability insurance policies can make us think the same way (I’m in no way suggesting that we should cancel our insurance). They consult spiritualists and there are still palm and tarot card readers and the daily horoscopes that we read. Why is it that we do not fall under the same judgment?

    For to us a child is born,
    to us a son is given,
    and the government will be on his shoulders.
    And he will be called
    Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
    Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

    God made it easy, but we make it tough. We all still sin, but through Christ, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” (1 John 1:9 NIV) Sinning still has consequences, but we can maintain a relationship with God in our imperfection. In Forest Gump, Lieutenant Dan is at the top of the ship during a hurricane, shaking his fist defiantly at God screaming, “Is that all you’ve got?!” God shows the wrath that He is capable of, but saves them out of love and Lieutenant Dan changes and lives a hope filled life full of blessings. It’s a movie of course, but I think it represents a truth about how God loves us.

    I am thankful that I can know your heart though the old testament, Lord. I am more thankful that I have been kindly forgiven and my sins forever wiped clean through Jesus, the perfect and permanent sin offering. You are my God, and I get to experience You firsthand. Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

