Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 191

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 191 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Micah 5; Micah 6; Micah 7; Hebrews 7 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Micah 5, this prophecy goes from present distress to one concerning the coming messiah!

5:2 “But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are small among the clans of Judah, out of you will come for me one who will be ruler over Israel, whose origins are from of old, from ancient times.”

Micah 6:8, “He has showed you, O man, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”

Israel’s guilt and punishment continues…

Micah 7, misery to victory!

18, “Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy.” (Portions of this chapter are reminiscent of Psalm 103).

Hebrews 7:22, “Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant. 28 The law appoints as high priests men who are weak; but the oath, which came after the law, appointed the Son, who has been made perfect forever.”

O bservation

I love how today’s passages from Micah pointed to the messiah… then Hebrews, about Jesus being our great high priest.

A pplication

Amazing thought that Jesus is our great high priest, making intercession for us after having made the perfect sacrifice of himself.

That’s deep stuff.

Before Jesus, all the priests were imperfect men who had to make sacrifices first for themselves, then for those for whom they were offering the sacrifice. Jesus, however, did not have to offer a sacrifice for himself. He had no need! He was already perfect. The spotless lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.

In our staff training earlier today, Caleb got up and exhorted our staff to do our work out of love for Jesus, not duty or a paycheck. But to allow the scales to tip in the direction of our love for him, not for any other reason.

I had a picture while Caleb was talking…

I saw scales with bricks of gold being moved from one side to the other until the scale tipped in the opposite direction.

What I think that means is that God sees all that we do. (Hopefully) It comes from a place of sincerity and pure desire to serve him. Our works should be a bi-product of our faith. A natural outflow as it were… Our works are golden to him… when they come from a place of not trying to earn something.

Every drawing I do for him goes on the fridge.

When we serve from a place of love… from sonship, the equation changes. We serve because all he has is already ours. We can’t earn it. Our inheritance is already certain! I don’t need to earn anything. I cease from striving.

How amazing…

And when I mess up, this great high priest, Jesus, goes to the father on my behalf and pleads my case.

He is my (our) advocate [paraklētos] with the father. That literally means he comes to our defense. He is our defense attorney, our intercessor. He comes to our defense and intercedes for us along the way. The same word is translated “comforter.”

(Chew on that for a while and you won’t be able to sleep!)

P rayer

Thank you Jesus!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 191

  1. “In that day,” declares the LORD, “I will destroy your horses from among you and demolish your chariots. Micah 5:10

    I started to get caught up on the notion of which day this would be. Are we living in that day, or is it still to come? Does it matter since I don’t have horses or chariots? The Geneva Study Bible says, “I will destroy all things in which you put your confidence, such as your vain self-reliance and idolatry, and in doing this I will be helping you.”

    What are things that I put my confidence in other than God? Government? Medicine? Guns? Money? Cars? Television? Internet? Does it mean that all these things are bad? I have little faith in the government and we have seen what can happen to the value of money throughout history. Cars break down and guns can get us in trouble even when we use them in what we believe is a justifiable manner. Is it bad to go see the doctor? Doesn’t God use all these things? What is the difference between trusting in God vs. trusting in a needed surgery?

    I think the answer is prayer. Instead of assuming that the government will solve my problems, I need to pray that God uses the government for His purposes. I am so thankful that our service men and women put their necks on the line and sometimes pay the ultimate price. It is my responsibility to pray for their safety and for comfort for their families when they are lost. I also pray that God uses my online presence and guides me to help others. Many times have I needed prayer or received information about others who need prayer through Facebook. I am often lead to post a certain piece of scripture, and I am amazed at the comments and personal messages that I get from people who say it was just what they needed to hear. When we put faith in God over “things”, it seems like he will use those very things for His purposes. Maybe this is God’s way of demolishing things.

    Lord, I don’t know what your timing is for everything, but I trust in You. Demolish all things that I put above You and use them for Your purpose. Help our leaders make good decisions, those in office and those running for office. Thank you for protecting our service men and women. Continue to guide my online and personal interactions with others. To You be all glory and honor. In Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

