Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 188

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Welcome to Day 188 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Hosea 10; Hosea 11; Hosea 12; Psalm 73; Hebrews 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Hosea 10:12, “Break up your unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the Lord, until he comes…”

Hosea 11: 8 “My heart is changed within me; all my compassion is aroused. 9 I will not carry out my fierce anger, nor will I devastate Ephraim again. For I am God, and not a man—the Holy One among you. I will not come against their cities. 10 They will follow the Lord…”

Hoseea 12:6, “You must return to your God; maintain love and justice, and wait for your God always.”

Psalm 73:28, “But as for me, it is good to be near God. I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge…”

Hebrews 4:3, “Now we who have believed enter that rest, just as God has said… Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest…”

O bservation

Rest.

A pplication

This passage in Hebrews speaks to us on many levels… Resting from working for our salvation, and, finding a place of rest in this world. Not striving. Free from performance. Letting God work through us…

Easier said than done, but I can tell you I’m making progress in this area.

I am more at rest than ever. Finding a place of rest, internally, in this world.

Rest.

It’s not speaking of taking a nap, or sleeping well at night. This is about resting in the salvation God has provided. To cease from striving. Not being wound up internally.

It’s like saying, “peace is not the absence of war.” We can be at peace regardless of our circumstances. We can know God’s rest.

No matter what Israel did, God’s unfailing love was there waiting for them. His heart was and is always to restore them to himself. All he ever wanted was for them to want Him as their king. He wanted a people he could care for.

He rested from his work after creation. He took a day off. But this speaks more toward my attitude every day. If I am not at rest six days a week, then take a day off, that’s not rest.

It’s being a rest day in and day out. Regardless of my circumstances. Having a certainty that God is with me, that he is for me. That he is good to me. All the time. Resting in that. In spite of what I see. In spite of the chaos of life. In spite of a negative diagnosis that the doctor could give, or the condition of my finances.

Rest.

It takes work to enter that rest… How ironic.

“Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest…” Rest doesn’t come easily. It takes turning down the volume in our lives. Tuning into him. Hearing his voice. Listening to what he has to say about us.

P rayer

Lord, I thank you for the rest you provide. Help me to enter into that rest.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 188

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Praying for a safe trip for all of you…

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 73:23 (Msg)
    “I’m still in your presence,
    but you’ve taken my hand.
    You wisely and tenderly lead me,
    and then you bless me.
    You’re all I want in heaven!
    You’re all I want on earth!
    When my skin sags and my bones get brittle,
    God is rock-firm and faithful.”

    Heb 4:3
    “We who believe, then, do receive that rest which God promised….”

    Heb 4:16
    “Let us have confidence, then, and approach God’s throne, where there is grace. There we will receive mercy and find grace to help us just when we need it.”

    You wise and tenderly lead me, Lord. You bless me. You are all that I want.
    Thank you for the rest that you provide me. Thank you for your mercy and grace. You are all that I need.

  3. Psalms 101:3 I will refuse to look at anything vile or vulgar. I will reject perverse ideas and stay away from every evil.

    We really must stay on the offense against evil. Our minds can easily justify something as harmless when it is really not.

    David sets a daily task. He makes a goal. He plans his purpose. He sounds determined. I like it!

    I too feel I must stay focused. It is when I let myself go that I can fall for anything. I begin to become ugly. I must stay humble. People are not here to serve me, but rather I am here to serve.

    Lord, I need your help. I see my failures and want so bad to learn from them. I must keep my thoughts pure and set on you and not my circumstances. My God is able!

  4. Therefore, since the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us be careful that none of you be found to have fallen short of it.

    It’s been a hectic week. Our AC went out and we had a new on installed. There was a holiday in the middle of the week, one in which I had limited sleep due to neighbors setting off fireworks (need to work on a forgiveness thing here). Temps are breaking highs

    I took an unintentional 2.5 hour nap this afternoon. I woke up feeling refreshed.

    Lord, thank you for giving us the promise of rest.

  5. Aren’t those naps great? I’m sure God did that for you, He knew you needed it. I find I get most whiney and sinful when I’m tired. It doesn’t really help to be a martyr at that point. It doesn’t do anyone any good. Just a terrific reminder for me today! Thank you Lord, and thank you all. And please Lord watch over Scott during his travels.

  6. Naps are a good reminder that we do not have to keep going when we are weak. In fact it makes us face our weakness. It is okay to let go…take a nap and let God handle it.

  7. Cindy on said:

    Rest=believing, listening, understanding, faith

Leave a Reply

