Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 184

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Welcome to Day 184 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 6; Isaiah 7; 2 Chronicles 26; 2 Chronicles 27; Philemon 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Isaiah 6:8, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 7, starting in chapter 7 (through 11) these oracles of judgment and hope are associated with the war between Judah and a coalition of Israel and Syria. RSB

11 “Again the Lord spoke to Ahaz, 11 “Ask the Lord your God for a sign, whether in the deepest depths or in the highest heights.” 12 But Ahaz said, “I will not ask; I will not put the Lord to the test.”

2 Chronicles 26:16, “After Uzziah became powerful, his pride led to his downfall. He was unfaithful to the Lord his God, and entered the temple of the Lord to burn incense on the altar of incense. 17 Azariah the priest with eighty other courageous priests of the Lord followed him in. 18 They confronted King Uzziah and said, “It is not right for you, Uzziah, to burn incense to the Lord. That is for the priests, the descendants of Aaron, who have been consecrated to burn incense. Leave the sanctuary, for you have been unfaithful; and you will not be honored by the Lord God.”

19 “Uzziah, who had a censer in his hand ready to burn incense, became angry. While he was raging at the priests in their presence before the incense altar in the Lord’s temple, leprosy broke out on his forehead.”

2 Chronicles 27:2 “He [Jotham] did what was right in the eyes of the Lord, just as his father Uzziah had done, but unlike him he did not enter the temple of the Lord. The people, however, continued their corrupt practices.”

Philemon 1:8, “Therefore, although in Christ I could be bold and order you to do what you ought to do, 9 yet I prefer to appeal to you on the basis of love.”

O bservation

Pride? Not good…

A pplication

Boy, is there a lesson to be learned from Uzziah’s situation…

We all know “pride cometh before a fall.”

Today’s application is simple: Check my pride at the door.

Not interested AT ALL in the results. (Leprosy… Not fun.)

While we may not be stricken with leprosy, there are still plenty of negative results from pride… Right?

I just don’t want anything to do with it.

P rayer

Lord, I want to check mine at the door… Daily.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 184

  1. The story of Uzziah is a good one, not that it ended good, but good to learn from. When we are in a position of power, we have to be very careful. God will bless us with power and authority but can take it away when abused (makes me wonder why some politicians, etc. are still in power). Power is not something that should be desired. We should accept whatever power and influence is given to us to advance God’s kingdom, not for personal gain. The warning sign is when we want to get in a position of power or to gain more power. Another good warning sign is that of manipulation. It’s bad to elevate ourselves by putting others down.

    I’ve ended up in several leadership positions, not because I want them, but it worked out that way. I am usually content with life as it is. My wife wants me to run for our housing association board, but I honestly don’t want the stress and additional demand on my time. Sometimes I wonder if I am letting God down by turning down or leaving leadership positions. Some I have inquired about and others not. Sometimes, it’s hard to know which way to go.

    Lord, I want to be the one to say, “Here I am. Send me.” It’s tough to know which way to go. I need your voice and direction.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Isaiah 6:8
    “I will go! Send me!”

    Lord, I am available to you.
    Speak to me and show me where you would have me to go.
    Guide my feet, I pray.

Leave a Reply

