Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 183

Monday, July 2, 2012

Welcome to Day 183 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Isaiah 4; Isaiah 5; Psalm 115; Psalm 116; Jude (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Did you know? Isaiah is quoted directly in the NT over 65 times, far more than any other OT prophet, and mentioned by name over 20 times!

Today’s readings focus on Judah’s shortcomings in terms of their social sins…

Isaiah 4 clearly points to Christ, the Messiah. “The branch.” (See Zechariah 3:8.)

Isaiah 5, The owner and the vineyard stand for God and His people. The song is fulfilled in Jesus Christ, who replaces sour grapes with new fruit! RSB

Sidenote: These are the verses from which the Vineyard church movement derived its name…

(The next six chapters will focus more on political entanglements… So much for not mixing politics and religion.)

Psalm 115 declares Israel’s dedication to the Lord in choosing him over lifeless idols. v 9-11, “… trust in the Lord— he is their [your] help and shield.

Psalm 116, the psalmist overcame death (perhaps a sickness?) and determines to offer a thank offering to the Lord. v 8-9, “For you, Lord, have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling, 9 that I may walk before the Lord in the land of the living.”

v 12, “What shall I return to the Lord for all his goodness to me? 17 “I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and call on the name of the Lord.”

Jude:20, “But you, dear friends, by building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, 21 keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life.

22 Be merciful to those who doubt; 23 save others by snatching them from the fire; to others show mercy, mixed with fear—hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh.

24 To him who is able to keep you from stumbling…”

O bervation

Keep yourself… And he will keep you…

A pplication

Funny, Bill Johnson spoke on this book (Jude is only 1 chapter) yesterday morning…

Jude is a simple book to outline. 2 verses of greeting. 19 verses of warning. 2 verses of doxology.

In short…

v 21, “keep yourselves in God’s love…”

v 24, (to him who is able to…) “keep you from stumbling.”

Keep yourself… And he will keep you.

Let’s personalize this…

Keep myself in his love, and he is able (will?) keep me from stumbling.

1 John 2:6 states, “Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.” The KJV puts it this way, we “ought to walk as Jesus also walked.”

Makes me think of Psalm 119:105, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”

And he is able to keep me from stumbling!

Sidenote: (Did you take notice of the warning against grumbling and fault-finding?)

P rayer

Thank you Lord! Please walk with me…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 183

  1. That did stand out. It takes a lot of work to not bicker or complain. Things don’t always go the way I like and often I have to choose to be content. In the world of information technology, I proposed many things that were rejected by management over the years. When things go wrong, it often relates back to one of these things. I have to be careful not to take the “I told you so.” approach. That hasn’t worked very well for me. Instead…

    Be merciful to those who doubt; save others by snatching them from the fire; to others show mercy, mixed with fear—hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh.

    Lord, I need the strength to make good decisions and show mercy to others.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 115:9-11
    Trust in the Lord. He helps you and protects you.

    Psalm 116:2
    He listens to me every time I call to him.

    Lord, I trust you. Thank you for your help and protection. Thank you for listening to me, for always being available and for caring for me.

Leave a Reply

