Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 181

Saturday, June 30, 2012

Welcome to Day 181 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Amos 7; Amos 8; Amos 9; Psalms 104; Titus 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Amos 7 This long section contains four visions (7:1–3; 7:4–6; 7:7–9; 8:1–3) and an autobiographical section related to the third vision (7:10–17). The first two visions have the structure: (a) the Lord gives the vision; (b) Amos intercedes; (c) the Lord relents. Conversation between the Lord and His prophet is an integral part of the visionary experience. RSB

Amos 8, God charges Israel with social injustice, commercial dishonesty, and indifference to holy days…

Amos 9, In the other four visions, Amos was an intercessor or respondent to the Lord’s questions (7:1–8:3 note; 7:7 note). In this vision, however, Amos has no active role, but simply records what he sees. RSB

13, “The days are coming,” declares the Lord, “when the reaper will be overtaken by the plowman and the planter by the one treading grapes.

New wine will drip from the mountains and flow from all the hills, 14 and I will bring my people Israel back from exile.

“They will rebuild the ruined cities and live in them. They will plant vineyards and drink their wine; they will make gardens and eat their fruit. 15 I will plant Israel in their own land, never again to be uprooted from the land I have given them,” says the Lord your God.”

Psalm 104:33, “I will sing to the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live. 34 May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the Lord.”

Titus 2, “For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. 12 It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, 13 while we wait for the blessed hope—the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, 14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.”

O bservation

Now THAT verse from Titus 2 is an AMAZING verse!

A pplication

“Our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, 14 who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.”

Jesus didn’t only give himself to make a way for us to go to heaven.

He made a way for us to be right with God.

Then, our lives are spent doing good.

They key: “Being eager.”

Eager to do good.

I have spent the past several days trying to serve our team to the best of my ability. Making sure, as best as I can, that they are comfortable, cared-for, well rested and fed. I want them to all receive ALL that God has for them.

I don’t want them to miss anything.

I love doing good… or at least I try to do good. I’ve been hanging around Doug Roe for more than twenty years…

His voice mail message used to say this…

“Hi. This is Doug. I’m out doing good and having more fun than most people. Leave me a message after the beep. Thanks. God bless!”

The Gospel is more than what we believe. It’s how we live. How we walk it out.

“Eager to do good.”

P rayer

Lord, help me to be eager to do good.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 181

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalms 104:34
    “May he be pleased with my son, for my gladness comes from him.”

    Titus 2:14
    “He gave himself for us, to rescue us from all wickedness and to make us a pure people who belong to him alone and are eager to do good.”

    My gladness comes from you, Lord!
    Thank you, Jesus, that you make me pure. I belong to you alone and am eager to do good. I praise you, Jesus.

    God is so good!

Leave a Reply

