Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 178

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 178 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Kings 13; 2 Kings 14; 2 Chronicles 25; 2 Timothy 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Kings 13:21 “Once while some Israelites were burying a man, suddenly they saw a band of raiders; so they threw the man’s body into Elisha’s tomb. When the body touched Elisha’s bones, the man came to life and stood up on his feet.”

v 14, “Now Elisha had been suffering from the illness from which he died.” Hmmm..

2 Kings 14 continues the history of the succession in the kingdoms both of Judah and Israel.

v 10, “You have indeed defeated Edom and now you are arrogant.”

2 Chronicles 25 records an account of Amaziah’s reign (compare with 2 Kings 14.) Note that the war against Edom is recorded only in Chronicles.

2 Timothy 3:10, “You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, 11 persecutions, sufferings…”

O bservation

One of the great mysteries of life is how a prophet like Elisha, who healed the sick and raised the dead, would die from an illness… Then, after he is buried, when a man’s body is thrown into his tomb, the man comes back to life when his dead body touched Elisha’s!

A pplication

Am I the only one to whom this makes no sense?

I get that Elisha was a power prophet and man of God. I do, I get that…

So… why would he die from “an illness?”

I think at the end of the day, it’s because we are all still human, in an earthly body? That in the end we are all dust anyway?

But it’s amazing that even after Elisha is dead and buried that when another man’s body is tossed into his tomb, that man comes back to life?

How does that work?

What makes no sense to me is that one who had healed the sick and raised the dead would die from an illness.

That is what makes no sense to me…

The fact that a guy came back to life after his dead body touched Elisha’s… I get that.

What I don’t get is why he would die from an illness…

That never makes sense to me. Like Bill Johnson, pastor of Bethel Church in Redding, CA (where I am right now), his father died of cancer… and they see people healed of cancer on a regular basis.

Makes no sense, does it…

That seems to be just kind of how life is. Some things make no sense.

David echoed this throughout the Psalms… 44:23, “Awake, Lord! Why do you sleep? Rouse yourself! Do not reject us forever. 24 Why do you hide your face and forget our misery and oppression?”

I think it’s good to ponder these questions without getting hung up on them.

Should we stop praying for the sick, because our loved one died of cancer? (No.) Elisha died of an illness… and he healed the sick and raised the dead. (I keep reminding myself of that.)

I think this is why Jesus said to pray, “Your kingdom come, your will be done.” We are to pray that, not in a repetitious way, but in a very real way, asking for God’s will to be done on earth.

Because it isn’t always done on earth. Everyone knows it… It’s not God’s will for a baby to die after living for four days. Or in utero… Or to have a heart condition… or…

See what I’m saying? Some things just make no sense and you have to land on that God’s will is not always done on earth as it is in heaven.

That’s why Jesus told us to pray for it… to contend for it.

Let your kingdom come, and your will be done.

P rayer

I want to see heaven come to earth…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 178

  1. Sometimes in the OT, I think we are given what I call prophet foreshadowing. In this case, a man who heals the sick dies of sickness, but his earthly remains still have the healing anointing and heal a dead man who died from illness. In a similar fashion, Jesus lived a sin free and was put to death by sinful men, and through resurrection our sins are forgiven when we accept him and receive the holy spirit.

    I don’t know how the logic of this all works out. It certainly can’t be explained. I think this is where the curse of the tree of knowledge comes in. When I try to apply earthly reasoning to the resurrection story or this one, my faith can become a bit rattled. Often, I have to accept stuff as is. Matthew 18:3 says

    And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

    Children are amazing in that they just believe stuff without question or doubt.

    Lord, I want to believe like a child.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    2 Tim. 3:12
    “Everyone who wants to live a godly life in union with Christ Jesus will be persecuted.”

    We will be persecuted if we live a godly life in union with Jesus.
    I want to live a godly life. I want to be one with Jesus. So I will be persecuted.

    Lord, I trust you to help me in times of persecution. Thank you for your protection. Thank you for your word that encourages me.

Leave a Reply

