Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 172

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Welcome to Day 172 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Kings 6; 2 Kings 7; 2 Chronicles 20; 1 Timothy 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Kings 6, story of the ax head floating.

“Don’t be afraid,” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” 17 And Elisha prayed, “Open his eyes, Lord, so that he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. 18 As the enemy came down toward him, Elisha prayed to the Lord, “Strike this army with blindness.” So he struck them with blindness, as Elisha had asked.”

The two women ate the one woman’s son??

2 Kings 7, Israel plunders the Aramean army after they are blinded and run in fear.

2 Chronicles 20, this battle is not found in Kings. Jehoshaphat defeats Moab and Ammon. “All the men of Judah, with their wives and children and little ones, stood there before the Lord.” What a great moment! v 18, “Jehoshaphat bowed down with his face to the ground, and all the people of Judah and Jerusalem fell down in worship before the Lord. 19 Then some Levites from the Kohathites and Korahites stood up and praised the Lord, the God of Israel, with a very loud voice.”

v 22,

“As they began to sing and praise, the Lord set ambushes

against the men of Ammon and Moab and Mount Seir who were invading Judah, and they were defeated. 23 The Ammonites and Moabites rose up against the men from Mount Seir to destroy and annihilate them. After they finished slaughtering the men from Seir, they helped to destroy one another.”

v 32, “He [Jehoshaphat] followed the ways of his father Asa and did not stray from them; he did what was right in the eyes of the Lord. 33 The high places,

however,

were not removed, and the people still had not set their hearts on the God of their ancestors.”

1 Timothy 3:1-12, qualifications to be an overseer or a deacon. Paul’s instructions on how we ought to conduct our lives…

O bservation

My observation is that very few people don’t have a “however” somewhere in their life story…

A pplication

“However…”

2 Chronicles 20:32, “He [Jehoshaphat] followed the ways of his father Asa and did not stray from them; he did what was right in the eyes of the Lord. 33 The high places, however, were not removed, and the people still had not set their hearts on the God of their ancestors.”

“However…”

Do you ever imagine a biblical summary of your life? One sentence or one verse that encapsulates a lifetime?

What might yours say?

I often wonder what mine will say.

I know I’m determining that, even now…

If I died today, mine might say, “Scott was 28 when he moved to Dayton along with Doug Roe, and their wives and children, to serve the Lord. He served 22 years.”

“However…”

What if there were no “however?” Does there have to be one? Or is that just how life is… that we are all imperfect and flawed and destined to have “high places” in our lives that should have been removed, but for one reason or another, were not?

I wonder why Jehoshaphat didn’t remove the high places? Did he give in to public pressure? Did he have family who worshiped false gods? Was he too busy? Did he just think, “Those high places are just not that big of a deal?”

Look at the amazing victory he had by trusting in the Lord! God was certainly with him…

…even with high places in his life?

P rayer

Lord, help me to remove the high places from my life… to faithfully serve you for the next 22 years!

P.S. The battle belongs to the Lord! “The Lord set ambushes!” Note to self…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 172

  1. Thank you Scott – I wonder too what my one line will be. It will probably be about how far behind I get with my reading program! 🙂 I have managed to catch up this week – although I have a few weeks to go back and read later.
    The ‘one line’ thought reminds me of the prayer of Jabez – and how we now have books written about the one line of background and the prayer he prayed.

    I am drawn to 2Kings 7:1 Elisha talking “Hear this message from the Lord! By this time tomorrow in the markets of Samaria, 5 quarts of fine flour will cost only half an ounce of silver….”
    Imagine if someone broadcast a message from God today on TV – that gas prices would be $1 a gallon again – tomorrow. I would probably answer just like the officer did – “that couldn’t happen if the Lord opened the windows of heaven”. How do we approach the news of better housing markets, or more available jobs, or inexpensive health care that saves lives…. I am of the mind that I’ll believe when I see. I have a house that needs to be on the market – I don’t trust that I can get the value I need from the sale. And there it is – I AM the officer who cannot believe.

    How much better would it be to be the leper, with nothing to lose, to show up in the empty camp, ready to beg for your life; and find all you can eat, drink, wear and carry – available to you! Isn’t that where God meets many of us? In the place where we ran our own lives into the place where we have nothing left to lose? That’s where he met me once. And whenever I can bring myself to accept his athority over something, he meets me there over and over.

    Maybe that’s my one line. She was far from perfect. God met her anyway. Praise be to God!

  2. Alarmed, Jehoshaphat resolved to inquire of the Lord, and he proclaimed a fast for all Judah. The people of Judah came together to seek help from the Lord; indeed, they came from every town in Judah to seek him.

    All the men of Judah, with their wives and children and little ones, stood there before the Lord.

    Jehoshaphat appointed men to sing to the Lord and to praise him for the splendor of his holiness as they went out at the head of the army, saying:
    “Give thanks to the Lord,
    for his love endures forever.”

    It must have been nice as a king to proclaim a fast or appoint men to sing and worship before the army. Trying to establish a worship team / organization is proving to be extremely difficult. Coordinating scarce resources, planning around life events and work schedules, people leaving for no apparent reason, others questioning your motives… It certainly would make things easier to have lordship over others to direct their footsteps as needed.

    This process is teaching me to rely heavily on prayer. Even though I am not a king who can direct others, I can pray in the name of the King who touches the hearts of others and makes things happen when all seems lost. It’s when I realize that I am powerless to make anything happen that things always seem to work out in unimaginable ways. Note to self, even when the deck seems stacked against me and I am outnumbered, God is bigger than it all. Let Him fight the battles that need to be fought.

    Lord, let my eyes be open to Your kingdom. Direct my footsteps so that Your ways become my ways. I don’t want to waste time, but I want to work in Your timing. Let Your kingdom come and Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. In Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

