Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 170

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Welcome to Day 170 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Kings 1; 2 Kings 2; 2 Kings 3; Psalms 82; 1 Timothy 1 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Kings 1:1, “After Ahab’s death, Moab rebelled against Israel. 2 Now Ahaziah had fallen through the lattice of his upper room in Samaria and injured himself. So he sent messengers, saying to them, “Go and consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron, to see if I will recover from this injury.”

3 But the angel of the Lord said to Elijah the Tishbite, “Go up and meet the messengers of the king of Samaria and ask them, ‘Is it because there is no God in Israel that you are going off to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron?’ 4 Therefore this is what the Lord says: ‘You will not leave the bed you are lying on. You will certainly die!’”

2 Kings 2:6, “Then Elijah said to him, “Stay here; the Lord has sent me to the Jordan.” And he replied, “As surely as the Lord lives and as you live, I will not leave you.” So the two of them walked on.”

v 9, “Elijah said to Elisha, “Tell me, what can I do for you before I am taken from you?” “Let me inherit a double portion of your spirit,” Elisha replied.”

(v 23-25, Seriously? Bears mauled 42 youths for calling Elisha “baldy?”)

2 Kings 3:14, “Elisha said, “As surely as the Lord Almighty lives, whom I serve, if I did not have respect for the presence of Jehoshaphat king of Judah, I would not pay any attention to you. 15 But now bring me a harpist.”

While the harpist was playing, the hand of the Lord came on Elisha 16 and he said, “This is what the Lord says: I will fill this valley with pools of water. 17 For this is what the Lord says…”

Psalms 82:3, “Defend the weak and the fatherless; uphold the cause of the poor and the oppressed. 4 Rescue the weak and the needy; deliver them from the hand of the wicked.”

1 Timothy 1:1, “Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the command of God our Savior and of Christ Jesus our hope, 2 To Timothy my true son in the faith…”

v 5, “The goal of this command is

love,

which comes from

a pure heart and

a good conscience and

a sincere faith.”

v 8, “We know that the law is good if one uses it properly. 9 We also know that the law is made not for the righteous but for lawbreakers and rebels, the ungodly and sinful, the unholy and irreligious…”

O bservation

Both Elijah and Elisha were… intense. Calling down fire from heaven to consume false prophets, bears and lions mauling people in judgment, performing miracles in the name of the Lord.

A pplication

It’s hard for me to process how Elijah and Elisha acted…

The prophetic (in the Old Testament) is always about righteousness, justice and judgement. Calling people back to the Lord.

But when Jesus’ disciples wanted to call down fire from heaven on a Samaritan village for not welcoming Jesus, he rebuked them.

Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 14:3, “But the one who prophesies speaks to people for their strengthening, encouraging and comfort.” That is New Testament prophecy.

Paul understood grace like no other. He was the master at comparing the Law versus grace.

1 Timothy 1:15, “Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. 16 But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life. 17 Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

I would much rather call down strength, encouragement and comfort upon people’s lives than fire and judgment!

“Mercy triumphs over judgment.” James 2:13

P rayer

Give me your heart of mercy, Lord…

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 170

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    When Elisha curses the youth who called him bald and 42 of them are then mauled by two mama bears, I’m thinking…they called you bald, who cares. I turned to my son, as we were reading it together and said “be careful who you make fun of!”.

    It seems to me that he was abusing the power of the Lord. On an ego trip maybe? And why would God allow that? Hmm….

    It’s so interesting to me…what makes it to the Bible. I don’t understand some things and wonder what the significance is that I am missing.

    1 Timothy 1:5 (Msg)
    The whole point of what we’re urging is simply love—love uncontaminated by self-interest and counterfeit faith, a life open to God.
    1 Timothy 1:19
    All those prayers are coming together now so you will do this well, fearless in your struggle, keeping a firm grip on your faith and on yourself. After all, this is a fight we’re in.

    Love, selflessness, faith, open to God, fearless…

    Lord, thank you for your love. My life is yours. Help me to keep my eyes on you.
    I trust you. Thank you for daily gifts…for hope, peace, love and your protection.

  2. Reading through Elisha’s curse of the “boys” it’s easy to assume that they were innocent young boys having a little fun. Reading through the commentaries on this paints a much different picture. They were likely older boys and were not so much lightly picking on Elisha as they were directly challenging him as a prophet / religious leader if not God’s authority directly. Other commentaries suggest that the 42 who were mauled were only the portion of a larger group who deserved punishment. Given the emergence of idolatry at the time, it’s not too unreasonable to think that they would seek to test and challenge Elijah’s predecessor.

    I think if I was walking down the street and was accosted by a group of at least 42 hostile teenage boys, I think I would be praying for police to show up and help me out. Or bears…

    Lord, we know your judgments are just. Thank you for Your mercy.

    • Nicole Marvin on said:

      Shane, Thanks for posting this. It puts a whole different perspective on it. I didn’t read commentary on it, and now it makes so much more sense to me.

  3. Anonymous on said:

    Scott, I did not make that connection . What a beautiful picture of the mercy of our savior. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

