Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 164

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Welcome to Day 164 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 13,14; 2 Chronicles 12; Philippians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 13 when Shemaiah (12:22), called the man of God, (from Judah) gives a word of warning against King Jeroboam and his altar of false worship at Bethel, the King’s hand shrivels and the altar splits in two. The King offers him to have a meal and receive a gift. Shemaiah declines siting the word the Lord had given him to not go there or eat or drink with them.

But.. when an old prophet hears of the incident and invites Shemaiah to his house, he lies to Shemaiah about an angel appearing to him and claims that the angel told him it was ok for him to come for a visit. (In so many words.) (As punishment?) Shemaiah is killed by a lion as he is on his way from there…

v 33, “Even after this, Jeroboam did not change his evil ways, but once more appointed priests for the high places from all sorts of people. Anyone who wanted to become a priest he consecrated for the high places. 34 This was the sin of the house of Jeroboam that led to its downfall and to its destruction from the face of the earth.”

The old prophet shrugs it off as v 26, “It is the man of God who defied the word of the Lord. The Lord has given him over to the lion, which has mauled him and killed him, as the word of the Lord had warned him.”

The moral of the story? A word you claim the Lord gave you (for me) does not outweigh a word the Lord has given to me.

1 Kings 14 Ahijah prophecies against Jeroboam, when Abijah sends his wife to Ahijah to seek their ill son’s fate… that he will die and the kingdom will be stripped from Jeroboam. Not what he was hoping to hear.

v 8, “I tore the kingdom away from the house of David and gave it to you, but you have not been like my servant David, who kept my commands and followed me with all his heart, doing only what was right in my eyes. 9 You have done more evil than all who lived before you. You have made for yourself other gods, idols made of metal; you have aroused my anger and turned your back on me.”

Ouch.

2 Chronicles 12:7, “When the Lord saw that they (the Leaders of Israel) humbled themselves, this word of the Lord came to Shemaiah: “Since they have humbled themselves, I will not destroy them but will soon give them deliverance. My wrath will not be poured out on Jerusalem through Shishak (the king of Egypt.) 8 They will, however, become subject to him, so that they may learn the difference between serving me and serving the kings of other lands.

Philippians 3:12, “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

O bservation

Yet again the Israelites learn another tough lesson due to their stubborn arrogance and unwillingness to follow the Lord’s laws and decrees.

A pplication

A little humility goes a long way…

Hard for me to understand why Israel has such a hard time following the Lord. They are people of worship, but they continually choose to worship false gods of other nations, (those of the nations the Lord had driven out before them.)

It makes no sense to me…

Although, I get it. I understand people make their choices and live with the consequences. It’s really that simple.

It’s the same today. People choose whom they are going to follow and serve.

Other gods require less. There is no standard. They even allowed sex in their worship! There were male shrine prostitutes and people engaged in all kinds of “detestable practices.” 1 Kings 14:24

God doesn’t require perfection, but he does require obedience. He requires that we not participate in detestable practices. That we not follow after other gods.

David certainly had his shortcomings (adultery with Bathsheba), Ahijah told the wife of Jeroboam, “I tore the kingdom away from the house of David and gave it to you, but you have not been like my servant David, who kept my commands and followed me with all his heart, doing only what was right in my eyes.”

I agree with Paul, “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but

I press on

to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14

I press on

toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”

P rayer

My heart is heavy this morning as I read these verses and write this journal… I am saddened by Israel’s disobedience. Help me Lord as I strain toward what is ahead, toward the prize for which you have called me.

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 164

  1. Shock on said:

    1 Kings 13
    18 He said to him, “I too am a prophet as you are, and an angel spoke to me by the word of the Lord, saying, ‘Bring him back with you to your house, that he may eat bread and drink water.’” (He was lying to him.)

    Seems conflicting that the prophet is interested in helping the man of God, but lied in order to get the man of God to come back to his house and eat and drink. His brother in Christ caused him to sin, and in the next verse receives the word of God condemning the man of God he was trying to help. This is troublesome, because the prophet thought he was doing the right thing, but unknowingly was interferring with God’s plan and it cost his brother in Christ (the man of God) his life. I guess it all centers around the seemingly innocent lie which had a huge impact. This reminds me of the verse in recent reading which stated (paraphrasing) something good cannot come from doing something wrong. The ends do not justify the means if the path includes sin. I cannot lie to my brother in Christ and think that I’m doing the right thing, even though circumstances might seem perilous.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    2 Chron. 12:14 (Msg)
    “But the final verdict on Rehoboam was that he was a bad king—God was not important to him; his heart neither cared for nor sought after God.”

    Phil 3:10-11 (Msg)
    “I gave up all that inferior stuff so I could know Christ personally, experience his resurrection power, be a partner in his suffering, and go all the way with him to death itself. If there was any way to get in on the resurrection from the dead, I wanted to do it.”

    Phil. 3:17-19 (Msg)
    “Stick with me, friends. Keep track of those you see running this same course, headed for this same goal. There are many out there taking other paths, choosing other goals, and trying to get you to go along with them. I’ve warned you of them many times; sadly, I’m having to do it again. All they want is easy street. They hate Christ’s Cross. But easy street is a dead-end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites.”

    Lord, I seek you. Please help me to know your will for my life. You can have everything that I have. I just want you. Light my path, father, please.
    Please help me to have strength to avoid temptations in my life. I love you!

  3. The old prophet answered, “I too am a prophet, as you are. And an angel said to me by the word of the LORD: ‘Bring him back with you to your house so that he may eat bread and drink water.’” (But he was lying to him.) So the man of God returned with him and ate and drank in his house.

    There are just certain things that don’t seem fair. The man of God is doing the right thing and is punished (death by lion) only because he trusted the old prophet who lied to him. The old prophet who is supporting Jeroboam’s evil ways appears to get off the hook and blames all the bad stuff on the man of God and sidesteps responsibility.

    This makes me think of my kids when they start the yeah-buts. I ask, “Did you do ?” They’ve learned not to lie to because my powers of interrogation are exceptional but will often reply with “Yeah-but so and so did such and such.” It doesn’t matter what the other kids get to do or tell us to do, to be obedient, we have to listen to what our parents (or heavenly Parent) are telling us and tune everything else out. I hate to say that I should not trust others, but when it comes hearing the voice of the Lord, I certainly want to seek confirmation.

    Lord, even though I am running the race, I need to hear Your voice telling me when to turn to the left, when to turn to the right, stay, or go. Open my ears to hear Your directions.

Leave a Reply

