Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 160

Saturday, June 9, 2012

Welcome to Day 161 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Ecclesiastes 10; Ecclesiastes 11; Ecclesiastes 12; Psalm 94; Ephesians 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Ecclesiastes 10:4, “Calmness can lay great offenses to rest.”

Ecclesiastes 11:9, “You who are young, be happy while you are young, and let your heart give you joy in the days of your youth.”

Ecclesiastes 12:13, “Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind.”

Psalm 94:16, “Who will rise up for me against the wicked? Who will take a stand for me against evildoers?”

Ephesians 5:21, “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.”

“In Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, 27 for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. 28 There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” Galatians 3:25-26.

O bservation

Interesting how Solomon wraps up Ecclesiastes… with “Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind.”

A pplication

With all his comparing the wise and the foolish, the rich and the poor, the diligent and the sluggard, the young and the old, Solomon ends with a true bit of wisdom. Along with a few other verses in Ecclesiastes, (God set eternity in the hearts of men, and, two are better than one) this is the standout verse to me.

Stay calm. Enjoy life. Fear God. Keep his commandments.

These apply to all of us. Young/old, rich/poor, young/old, wise/foolish.

I’ve had many opportunities to practice these verses the past several days… especially yesterday, leading up to our daughter’s wedding rehearsal.

Stay calm.

Enjoy life.

Stay calm?

Enjoy life?

Stay calm…

Enjoy life…

Stay calm!

Enjoy life!

STAY CALM!

ENJOY LIFE!

Isn’t it interesting the different ways one can read the same four words?

Neither are easy to do at all times.

I am learning to enjoy life. Not that I haven’t enjoyed the past 49 years. That’s not what I mean… but to really enjoy each moment. To take it all in. To enjoy the people I’m with. I’m more determined than ever.

I’ve figured out that most people are wired pretty differently from me. (Or choose to live life differently, or simply have different views or opinions than I.)

That’s OK.

I’m not responsible for anyone but myself. I can’t manage you, I can only manage me. I can’t change you, and changing myself isn’t all that easy either.

Stay calm.

Enjoy life.

Fear God.

Keep his commandments.

Wouldn’t it be great though if everyone lived out that verse in Ephesians 5? “Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.”

That verse comes right before, “Wives, submit to your husbands.” But more often than not, the “submit to one another” is not read beforehand. Then the onus is put on the woman to submit to the man. But, “in Christ, there is no male or female…”

What if we really did that… walk out life in humility? Simply enjoying life, fearing God, keeping his commandments…

And staying calm!

(I’ll let you know how I did at applying these verses after today’s wedding!)

P rayer

Help me to live out those simple phrases… and to walk in humility.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 160

  1. Psalm 94:16 when I said, ” My foot is slipping, ” your love O Lord supported me. 22)but the Lord has become my fortress and my God the Rock in whom I take refuge. Eph. 5:1-2 be imitators of God therefore as dearly loved children and live a life of love. Sometimes its hard to just sit back, relax and trust that we are meant to enjoy life. Afterall Ecc.11:8 says however many years a man may live let him enjoy them all. That sums it up for me! Thank you Father …

  2. Ecclesiastes 10:4, “Calmness can lay great offenses to rest.”
    This verse hits home today. I asked a person a question and she freaked out and said I was yelling at her. When someone is tense it tends to pass on to others around them. I MUST do all that I can to remain calm. It also helps me choose my words wisely.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Prov. 12:12-13 (Msg)
    ” 12-13 But regarding anything beyond this, dear friend, go easy. There’s no end to the publishing of books, and constant study wears you out so you’re no good for anything else. The last and final word is this:
    Fear God.
    Do what he tells you.”

    Obedience. Submission.

    “Psalm 94:19 (Msg)
    “…When I was upset and beside myself,
    you calmed me down and cheered me up.”

    He calms me and cheers me up. What a wonderful God.

    Eph. 5:2 (Msg)
    “1-2Watch what God does, and then you do it, like children who learn proper behavior from their parents. Mostly what God does is love you. Keep company with him and learn a life of love. Observe how Christ loved us. His love was not cautious but extravagant. He didn’t love in order to get something from us but to give everything of himself to us. Love like that.”

    Extravagant love! That’s what I want. That’s what I want to give to others.

    I feel you this morning, father. Thank you for your presence. Thank you for your extravagant love. You calm me and cheer me up.

Leave a Reply

