Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 155

Monday, June 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 155 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Proverbs 28; Proverbs 29; Psalm 60; Romans 16 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Proverbs 28:8, “Whoever increases wealth by taking interest or profit from the poor amasses it for another, who will be kind to the poor.”

v 11, “The rich are wise in their own eyes; one who is poor and discerning sees how deluded they are.”

v 19, “Those who work their land will have abundant food, but those who chase fantasies will have their fill of poverty.”

v 27, “Those who give to the poor will lack nothing…”

Proverbs 29:3, “A man who loves wisdom brings joy to his father, but a companion of prostitutes squanders his wealth.”

v 14, “If a king judges the poor with fairness, his throne will be established forever.”

Psalm 60:5, “Save us and help us with your right hand, that those you love may be delivered.”

Romans 16:17, “I urge you, brothers and sisters, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way…” (Continuing yesterday’s theme about relationship…)

O bservation

Solomon often compares rich and poor, and those who have wisdom and discernment to those who lack it. Not favoring one over the other (rich or poor), necessarily… keeping in mind that Solomon was wealthy beyond imagination, but he also cared for the poor. That is evident in Chronicles, as well as his writings in Proverbs.

A pplication

Solomon wrote about those who “chase fantasies” and he also wrote about the one who “squanders his wealth” (on prostitutes.) The poor (may) want to get rich… then it’s easy to squander it. The rich can be foolish and the poor can be wise. And vice versa…

Funny how that works.

Solomon even addresses how one’s wealth is accumulated. He values hard work (remember, he was a warrior before he was king) even though he inherited great wealth, he also increased it over his forty year reign. (Can you imagine what it cost to support 700 wives and 300 concubines??)

Solomon was like most of us. Wise at times and in some things. Not so in others.

One of his most foolish decisions was marrying the Egyptian woman, right off the bat. All his foreign women led him astray and into worshiping false gods. Not wise.

All the wisdom in the world can not overshadow a foolish decision.

When history looks back on anyone’s life, all of our lives are boiled down to just a few bullet points… highlights, if you will.

If I say the name, “Martin Luther King, Jr.” you’ll most likely think, “I have a dream,” and remember his as one who was killed in the pursuit of equality.

If I say the name, “George W. Bush,” you’ll most likely think about 9/11 and “Soon they’ll hear ALL our voices,” …and the war in Iraq.

If I say the name, “Abraham Lincoln,” you’ll most likely think, “Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.”

If I say the name, “Pete Rose,” you’ll most likely think of him as baseball’s hit-leader… not in the hall of fame, due to his gambling on baseball.

Every person’s life fits snugly onto a page on Wikipedia.

Even at the end of Paul’s letter to the church in Rome, unfamiliar people are immortalized in a sentence… “Greet Tryphena and Tryphosa, those women who work hard in the Lord. Greet my dear friend Persis, another woman who has worked very hard in the Lord.”

As opposed to Titus 1 that states, “One of Crete’s own prophets has said it: “Cretans are always liars, evil brutes, lazy gluttons.” Nice…

I often wonder what “the-one-sentence” of my life will say… What will people think when they hear my name? (I’m not asking. I’m being rhetorical, ok? 🙂
I know what I’d like for it to be. I know how I want to be remembered… But I have a L O N G way to go to finish my race. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could write our own Wikipedia page about our life??

We are. Every day…

P rayer

Lord help me to walk out my faith, day by day… and to remember I am writing my own history with every decision I make. Help me to keep in step with your Spirit, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 155

  1. marcyj5800 on said:

    Thanks Scott! I needed to hear that we’re ‘writing our one liner’ in how we live our life one day at a time. I desire to be more consistent with the kind of righteous life that both Proverbs and Romans describe.

  2. Anonymous on said:

    Thanks for the reminder Scott ……to LIVE OUT our faith publicly ………hoping my “one liner ” will be ……..she believed in a BIG GOD!

  3. Better the poor whose walk is blameless than the rich whose ways are perverse.

    Verses like this are hard to put into context living in a society with a middle class. In our world, many of us are both wealthy and poor. If even our poorest compare themselves to the vast majority of the poor in other countries, they are wealthy. Many people struggle to make ends meet and can hardly catch a break though. I know people who are “wealthy” who also struggle in life. Wealth in our society seems to be relative.

    I have a friend who lost his job while being in debt. They fought and prayed and never lost faith even though I know they struggled with it at times. They are still fighting through, but I would have to say that they are filthy, stinkin rich in a spiritual sense. I think this boils down to blessing those who have less than us no matter where we are on the financial spectrum. Blessings from our mouths can be just as, if not more so, valuable than money.

    I miss going on outreaches. Having teenage kids in events always seems to create schedule conflict. What I miss is the opportunity to speak hope into peoples lives. The enemy tries to make us think that we are trapped. …that there is no way out. It is our job to break that. Hopefully now that it is summer break (yay!) I can make it back out.

    Lord, It’s hard to put the topic of wealth in perspective as there are always people who have more than we do. Let us gauge our wealth by those who have less. Thank you for our daily bread that you provide so readily. Let those who need be connected to those who have. Lord, I ask for your multiplication over this in Jesus name.

  4. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Prov. 28:1
    “…but an honest person is as brave as a lion.”

    Prov. 29:25
    “It is dangerous to be concerned with what others think of you,
    but if you trust the Lord, you are safe.”

    I feel as brave as a lion with the Lord.

    Thank you, Lord, that I can trust in you and know that I will be safe.
    You are my everything.

Leave a Reply

