Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 152

Friday, June 1, 2012

Welcome to Day 152 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Proverbs 19; Proverbs 20; Proverbs 21; Romans 13 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Proverbs 19:19, “A hot-tempered person must pay the penalty; rescue them, and you will have to do it again.”

Proverbs 20:29, “The glory of young men is their strength, gray hair the splendor of the old.”

Proverbs 21:9, “Better to live on a corner of the roof than share a house with a quarrelsome wife. v 19 “Better to live in a desert than with a quarrelsome and nagging wife.”

Romans 13:8. “Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for whoever loves others has fulfilled the law. 9 The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,” and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” 10 Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.”

O bservation

Solomon has a propensity for stating the obvious. And validates much of what I have observed in my lifetime. I find myself, as I’m reading/listening, going… “Yup. That’s for sure. You’re telling me!”

A pplication

Well, I’m certainly not going to rip on wives this morning… Just posted the above verses because I continue to find the irony in Solomon’s take on marriage and adultery… In that he had 700 wives and 300 concubines, and he’s talking about “a” quarrelsome wife? Out of 700, I’m sure there had to be handful. (Pun intended.)

I’m also not going to hop on my SOAPbox regarding the results of anger, or rescuing one who continually finds themselves in trouble… Although I have a lot of experience with this one.

Which leads me to my Application for today…

When I read Proverbs 20:29, “The glory of young men is their strength, gray hair the splendor of the old.” I chuckled… for obvious reasons.

I’m not 20. I’m not 29. I’m 49, about to turn 50 in November.

And my hair is ever-graying. People from my past LOVE to comment on my hair. People at church, people I meet, friends, friends of friends. And their friends…

I am at a place where I fully understand “middle-age.” And it’s not hard for me to do the math on why people have a mid-life crisis.

Doing a celebrity look-alike search using my picture, yields some interesting results…

Richard Gere.

Alan Ruck (Cameron in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off)

And… of course…

Jimi Hendrix

Oh, and the host of “Cheaters.” Great…

But I digress…

I colored my hair (mostly for fun) in the mid-90’s, touching up my bit o’gray while adding some highlights. (No, I’ve never had a mannie or a peddie! Not that there’s anything wrong with that.) …until the day my wife and daughter’s OBGYN thought I was my daughter’s boyfriend!

Huh?

Well, Bonnie wasn’t there at the time and I referred to Bonnie as “her mother” in conversation, so… anyway…

In an attempt to look more my age (less like my daughter’s boyfriend) and more “pastoral,” I quit coloring my hair and, got it cut and aged ten years in one appointment at the salon.

Bummer.

So what am I trying to say?

I now hope to use the power of my graying hair for good, not evil. To take my years of experience and begin pouring whatever I have learned into the next generation(s). Caleb Roe and I did a group at the Vineyard called, “Nex10” for a couple of years. We gathered a group of 18-29 year olds once per week and talked about leadership and vision. Time will tell how much of it stuck… We do now have three former “Nex10ers” on staff!

No matter, I am going to continue taking my years of experience and pour into our young adults, and teens.

God is calling me to be a “father” to those in our church.

Not a friend, a brother or an uncle. Not a sponsor, a counselor or a mentor.

A father.

I’m still learning what that really means… but I know this…

“Even if you had ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel.” 1 Corinthians 4:15. Paul also told Timothy to treat the younger women as sisters and the older women as mothers. 1 Timothy 5:2.

Why” Because the best translation for “church” in the Bible is “family.”

I just caught a piece on the Today Show about the outcome of the John Edwards trial. A great example of a ruined man who (seemingly) had everything. And had an affair (yielding a child) while his wife was dying of cancer.

I’m sure when he considered his legacy many years ago, he never planned on this being the result.

I’m hoping to put my graying hair to better use. No $1,250.00 haircuts for me.

I’m trying to be a father, not young and cool…

But for the record, I just bought my first pair of Toms shoes. Yea, I’m still that cool.

P rayer

Lord, help me in this journey of being a son to you and a father to many…


 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 152

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Love this post, Scott!

    I’m 36 and my hair is getting gray. People look at me and ask me about it-like it is so strange that I don’t color it. I look forward to getting older. Proverbs 16:31 calls gray hair a glorious crown! Who doesn’t want a glorious crown? I look forward to being in my 50’s and 60’s-where I have experienced more and am hopefully wiser.

    And I appreciate your thoughts on being a father. We could use more men who desire to be fathers in the life.

    What I found from today’s Bible reading was Romans 13:11-14

    “11-14But make sure that you don’t get so absorbed and exhausted in taking care of all your day-by-day obligations that you lose track of the time and doze off, oblivious to God. The night is about over, dawn is about to break. Be up and awake to what God is doing! God is putting the finishing touches on the salvation work he began when we first believed. We can’t afford to waste a minute, must not squander these precious daylight hours in frivolity and indulgence, in sleeping around and dissipation, in bickering and grabbing everything in sight. Get out of bed and get dressed! Don’t loiter and linger, waiting until the very last minute. Dress yourselves in Christ, and be up and about!”

    Stay focused. Be ready. Dress yourself in Christ.

    Lord, I do want to dress myself in you. Clothe me, please, with all that you are. I desire to be like you.

Leave a Reply

