Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 150

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Welcome to Day 150 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Proverbs 13; Proverbs 13; Proverbs 15; Romans 11 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Proverbs 13, 14 and 15 continue the broad scope of wisdom. (Chapters 10-22 will be this way, a somewhat random collection of sayings…)

13:20, “Walk with the wise and become wise…”

14:8, “The wisdom of the prudent is to give thought to their ways…”

14:16, “The wise fear the Lord and shun evil…”

15:2, “The tongue of the wise adorns knowledge…”

15:7, “The lips of the wise spread knowledge…”

Honorable mention: 15:22, “Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed.” The Scott Translation, “A wise person seeks insight from those around him.”

Romans 11:36, “For from him and through him and for him are all things. To him be the glory forever! Amen.”

O bservation

The thread comparing the wise and the foolish, those who love wisdom and those who lack it, continues.

A pplication

I am constantly amazed at the situations in which people find themselves. Most are avoidable.

Not to be too simplistic, but it often comes down to making poor decisions that have lasting impact on not only their life, but also on those around them.

Considering an affair? Not a great idea…

Drinking and driving? Also not a great idea…

Quitting your job? Have you talked to your spouse about this decision?

Do you have ample resources to hold you over until you find another one? Is the issue really work related or is it more internal, perhaps an issue that you have not dealt with? If it’s with a coworker, have you actually talked to that person directly about it?

Granted, my thinking may be somewhat over-simplified… But the truth is, life is one long series of decisions.

Making good decisions is key.

That’s what Proverbs is all about. Applying practical wisdom to everyday life.

“See that woman over there? Stay far away from her.”

“Saving some money is a good idea.”

“Hanging out with trouble-makers will only get you into trouble.”

“Tell the truth.”

This is not rocket science…

There is a book called, “All I really Need to Know I learned in Kindergarten” by Robert Fulghum. In it, he applies simple principles to everyday life… Share everything, play fair, don’t hit people, put things back where you found them.

If life were really that simple.

Life isn’t simple, but one can avoid a lot of heartache by applying simple wisdom.

OK, I have to admit something that’s not easy to say out loud…

If you ask Doug what his top spiritual gift is, he will tell you “evangelism.” (His number two is “faith.”)

My top gift is “wisdom.” (I know, right?) My number two is “administration.”

Things just… make sense to me. Solutions to problems are not hard. I can just sort of “see” how things are going to play out given different scenarios.

But even knowing what to do, what not to say, etc, it all still comes down to choosing to do what is right. To say the right thing. (I hate that… It’s exhausting at times.) To not be harsh or sarcastic or too pointed…

Sometimes I just want to let it fly…

Not wise.

P rayer

Lord, give me wisdom for all the situations I am facing. And the courage to walk them out with integrity.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 150

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    This verse made me smile…
    Proverbs 13:7
    “Some people pretend to be rich, but have nothing.
    Others pretend to be poor, but own a fortune.”

    I love the second part of that verse. It brings a smile to my face when I know someone who lives way below their means, doing with what they have, content and resourceful. They appear like they have little, but they have plenty to pass on to the next generation.

    And this verse makes me realize that I need to pray for more wisdom…

    Proverbs 14:12
    “What you think is the right road may lead to death.”

    Lord, I need to stay focused and I need your help to do that. Please remind me of my purpose. Please bless me with wisdom, light my path and guide me on the right road. I love you.

  2. Mark Long on said:

    A wise son brings joy to his father. (Proverbs 15:20 NIV)

    Call me joyful x2!

    • The only reason you’re on the tree is because your graft “took” when you believed, and because you’re connected to that belief-nurturing root. So don’t get cocky and strut your branch. Be humbly mindful of the root that keeps you lithe and green.

      I love parables and metaphors. They make sense to me. I was that weird kid in school that loved story problems because there was application to them instead of just mindless number crunching. Sections of scripture like this are just clear to me. I didn’t know why you would graft an olive branch though. eHow.com says this:

      Grafting is a gardening technique used to refresh old olive trees by using fresh growth to produce new fruit-bearing branches. The technique most commonly used, and the most effective on olive trees, is known as patch grafting. With this technique, you literally introduce a patch of bark into the tree that is integrated and becomes a branch.

      So if you have a tree with branches that are not bearing fruit, you chop them off and graft in a new branch that will bear fruit. It’s the tree that accepts and nourishes the branches and makes them grow, not the other way around. If a branch does not continue to bear fruit once attached, it will be cut off and replaced. Branches that have been cut off can still be put back on unless they “persist in remaining deadwood.”

      Am I still bearing fruit? Am I inviting the branches on the ground to be grafted in? Am I encouraging other branches to continue to bear fruit?

      Lord, thank you for supplying all that we need to bear fruit. We can’t see your root system, but it certainly is larger than imaginable. Give me the strength and courage to keep bearing fruit.

Leave a Reply

