Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 149

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Welcome to Day 149 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Proverbs 10; Proverbs 11; Proverbs 12; Romans 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Proverbs 10:1–22:16 This section consists mainly of single-sentence proverbs. There is no evidence that these are a form of wisdom writing from a different time than the longer instructions of chapters 1–9. They are simply different forms, and function in different ways. Aphorisms are often stated categorically, without the qualifications that might allow them to cover every conceivable situation. (Reformation Study Bible.)

Proverbs 10, wisdom, righteousness, wealth, prudence, integrity, security, love, discernment, knowledge, discipline are all topics in this chapter.

Proverbs 11 and 12 primarily contrast the righteous and the wicked.

(The random nature of this section of Proverbs, combined with the wide range of topics makes it hard for me to focus on any one or two verses.)

Romans 10:4, “Christ has already accomplished the purpose for which the law was given. As a result, all who believe in him are made right with God.”

v 9, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved… 13 “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

O bservation

I took note in Proverbs 10, 11 and 12 the number of times the words, “mouth,” “lips,” and “words” were used. Additionally the glaring contrast between those who seek wisdom and those who lack it. 10:19 states, “Sin is not ended by multiplying words.” or as the New Century Version puts it, “Sin is not ended by multiplying words.”

The Scott Translation, “Talk less. Sin less.”

Again the book of Romans does not disappoint with classic verses contained in today’s chapter 10! I have heard Romans described as a legal document explaining the law versus grace. v 4 is a concise example; “Christ has already accomplished the purpose for which the law was given.”

As we read in Romans 8:3, “For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering.”

A pplication

It’s easier for me to apply Proverbs than Romans. Period.

Romans is this amazing book comparing and contrasting the Law versus grace. The flesh versus the Spirit. I could go on about how I want to live according to the Spirit and how thankful I am about the work of the Spirit in my life.

(I am especially looking forward to Romans 12 and 14! Easily two of my favorite chapters in the whole Bible.)

But what strikes me today is how easy it is to get ourselves into trouble, simply by talking too much.

I am acutely aware of this…

For us extroverts, holding our tongue is easier said than done.

I think out loud most of the time.

James 1:19 says, “Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak.”

I find that when I’m tired, my “filter” seems to not work quite so well. In other words, I am more likely to say things I would normally “filter out.” (Not say them…)

This is also true when I am around my family and close friends. I am less guarded…

I have one verse that I have held on to for many years. I find this one verse to contain so much wisdom, and I refer to it often…

“Without wood a fire goes out; without a gossip a quarrel dies down.” Proverbs 26:20.

In other words, when you want to stoke the fire in any situation, it’s probably not a good idea. Better to bite your tongue. Sometimes something has to be said, but I often ask myself, “Am I merely stoking the fire if I say this?”

Facebook would be a better world if people caught that one verse…

Some things are simply better left unsaid.

I’m not talking about having poor boundaries or not avoiding a situation that needs addressed… I’m talking about not stoking a fire.

P rayer

“Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.” Psalm 141:3

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 149

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Prov. 10:19
    “The more you talk, the more likely you are to sin.
    If you are wise, you will keep quiet.”

    There are so few things that need to be said. I am learning that I don’t need to fill the quiet with my voice. Silence seems awkward in the midst of conversation but it isn’t my job to fill that silence with unnecessary words.

    Prov. 12:23
    “Smart people keep quiet about what they know…”

    Something to ponder.

    Prov. 12:25
    “Worry can rob you of happiness…”

    Worry is such a waste of time and so destructive to our physical being.

    Lord, I come to you today and ask that you help me to choose my words wisely. Help me to be slow to speak and quick to listen. Thank you for who you are.

  2. Whew. I’m grateful that I can call on Him and be saved. Romans 12:13 I too tend to remove my filter if I’m tired or feeling testy. Father I’m happy I can connect with you one on one. I don’t need to text or tweet or email you. I can stand sit or kneel before you anywhere and you always hear me. You long for relationship with us. Wow. Apple of His eye AND He longs for us? Tweet THAT!

  3. I could write a book of SOAP, a SOAP opera if you will, on the book of proverbs. I don’t know where to start. It’s a shame they are clumped together for mass consumption. Often I think that a proverb a day will help keep the devil away. This combined with Romans which is a book rich in revelation has me on overload.

    For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile —the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him, for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

    I think it’s easy to lose sight of this in our capitalistic, competitive world. We like to compare and contrast this church to that and one practice against another. We are all on the same team.

Leave a Reply

