Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 147

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 147 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: Proverbs 4; Proverbs 5; Proverbs 6; Romans 8 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

Proverbs 4 outlines wisdom as the most precious acquisition, the path to true life, and the way of uprightness. (Did you notice, there is no reference to God or religion?)

v 18, “The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter till the full light of day. 19 But the way of the wicked is like deep darkness; they do not know what makes them stumble.”

In Proverbs 5 “wisdom” urges us to avoid the life-destroying adulteress and to find sexual and emotional satisfaction through faithfulness in marriage.

v 8, “Keep to a path far from her, do not go near the door of her house…”

I love the title of Proverbs 6 , “A Warning Against Folly.” (Just strikes me as funny…) There’s a wide range of instruction in this Psalm, including another warning against adultery.

Romans 8, one of the classic passages in all the Bible… “Therefore, there is now

no condemnation

[no condemning sentence] for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2 because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.”

v 15, “And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

[“Daddy”]

16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.”

v 28, “And we know that in

all things

God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

v 31, “If God is for us,

who can be against us?”

v 37, “No, in all these things we are

more than conquerors

through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth,

nor anything else

in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

O bservation

Romans 8 is definitely one of the greatest chapters in the Bible. It’s rich with insight as to living life through the Spirit vs. in the flesh. Throughout Romans, Paul often compares the Spirit (freedom and life) and the Law (sin and death.)

It’s funny to me that Solomon, considered to be one of, if not the wisest man ever, is writing about adultery… He had seven hundred wives and three hundred concubines! (See 1 Kings 11.) I guess he is writing these warnings from firsthand experience!

A pplication

Our focus over the past year or so has been on God’s goodness. That he is for us. That all things DO work together for our good!

It’s so easy to slip into a mindset that God is angry at us for one reason or another. Or that he will take things from us!

In Job there is a verse that is condensed into “He gives and takes away.” We even sing that…

I heard someone say the other day, “If I don’t use the gift God gave me, he’ll give it to someone else…”

I don’t buy that. Not for a second.

If I give a bicycle to one of my kids, it’s a gift. It’s theirs. God has no shortage of gifts, in that, if I don’t use my gift, he has to take it back because it’s in limited supply. He has MORE than enough.

I can’t imagine taking that bicycle back…

Sure, in our humanity, you could make a case like, “Hey, if you don’t ride that bike I’m giving it to the kid down the street that can’t afford one!” That’s not what I’m talking about.

With a gift, there is a transference of ownership. If I give you a gift, it’s YOURS.

People don’t often get this…

Because more often than not, there is an expectation that goes with the gift.

If you give me a $100 to take my wife out to dinner… but you have no idea that we need to pay a certain bill… You may get offended when you ask me how dinner was and I tell you we paid a bill with it. But that would be your issue. In that case, you should have given us a gift card… : )

If I give you a car, it’s yours. If you sell it the next day, that’s up to you. I gave it to you to do whatever you want.

I’m not talking about being callous or being a jerk, I’m simply talking about ownership. If I give you a gift, it’s yours to do what you want.

He is our “Abba” translated, “Daddy.”

He has plenty of bikes. I’m sure it gives him pleasure to see us riding that bike, but he has so many bikes that he doesn’t need to take ours away to give one to someone else!

Where would the grace be in that?

Having said all that… Pull that bike out… dust it off, oil it up, hop on and give it a whirl!

Give Daddy the pleasure of seeing you ride it!

P rayer

Thank you that You have more than enough

for me!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 147

  1. You have no idea how much I needed to hear this about God’s gifts! I have so often found myself rushing headlong into what I think will be ripped away if I don’t immediately act on it. I loved the last verse the best Roman 8:37 nothing can stand between me and God’s love. Wow. Abba Father thank you for loving me. And that whatever you have for me is for me

  2. Mark Long on said:

    For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38, 39 NIV)

    Thank you Lord for loving US so much!

  3. Maggie Shergill on said:

    Proverbs 4:26 – Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways.
    Romans 8:6 – The mind governed by the flesh is death, but the mind governed by the Spirit is life and peace.

    I attended a Grounded in Prayer session this morning and was prayed for by two women that I hadn’t ever met as we tested out the 5 steps model. They both prayed over me something similar to these verses and it was so encouraging then to come home and read this. I am so grateful to be part of his kingdom and was reminded today by my prayer partners on how amazing God is. Thank you again to the women who prayed for me and to the Lord for calming my mind and lighting the steps for my feet. It was truly an amazing day.

Leave a Reply

