Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 145

Friday, May 25, 2012

Welcome to Day 145 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 10; 1 Kings 11; 2 Chronicles 9; Romans 6 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 10 and 2 Chronicles 9 both recount the story of the Queen of Sheeba’s visit to Solomon, including their extravagant exchange of gifts.

1 Kings 10, “She said to the king, “The report I heard in my own country about your achievements and your wisdom is true.6 But I did not believe what they said until I came and saw with my own eyes. Indeed, not even half the greatness of your wisdom was told me; you have far exceeded the report I heard. 7 How happy your people must be! How happy your officials, who continually stand before you and hear your wisdom! 8 Praise be to the Lord your God, who has delighted in you and placed you on his throne as king to rule for the Lord your God. Because of the love of your God for Israel and his desire to uphold them forever, he has made you king over them, to maintain justice and righteousness.”

1 Kings 11, “King Solomon,

however…

loved many foreign women besides Pharaoh’s daughter—Moabites, Ammonites, Edomites, Sidonians and Hittites. 2 They were from nations about which the Lord had told the Israelites, “You must not intermarry with them, because they will surely turn your hearts after their gods.” Nevertheless, Solomon held fast to them in love. 3 He had seven hundred wives of royal birth and three hundred concubines, and his wives led him astray. 4 As Solomon grew old, his wives turned his heart after other gods, and his heart was not fully devoted to the Lord his God, as the heart of David his father had been. 5 He followed Ashtoreth the goddess of the Sidonians, and Molek the detestable god of the Ammonites. 6 So Solomon did evil in the eyes of the Lord; he did not follow the Lord completely, as David his father had done.

7 On a hill east of Jerusalem, Solomon built a high place for Chemosh the detestable god of Moab, and for Molek the detestable god of the Ammonites. 8 He did the same for all his foreign wives, who burned incense and offered sacrifices to their gods.

9 The Lord became angry with Solomon because his heart had turned away from the Lord, the God of Israel, who had appeared to him twice. 10 Although he had forbidden Solomon to follow other gods, Solomon did not keep the Lord’s command. 11 So the Lord said to Solomon, “Since this is your attitude and you have not kept my covenant and my decrees, which I commanded you, I will most certainly tear the kingdom away from you and give it to one of your subordinates. 12 Nevertheless, for the sake of David your father, I will not do it during your lifetime. I will tear it out of the hand of your son. 13 Yet I will not tear the whole kingdom from him, but will give him one tribe for the sake of David my servant and for the sake of Jerusalem, which I have chosen.”

Romans 6, “The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Slaves to sin, or slaves to righteousness?

O bservation

With all Solomon’s incredibly great wisdom and understanding, his downfall was women… who worshiped foreign gods! They led him astray… to the point that he also participated in worshiping foreign gods??

(After building the temple for the LORD?? How wise was that?)

A pplication

I don’t even know what to say today… If Solomon, with all his great wisdom, given to him from God, over the course of time was led astray to the point of worshiping foreign gods, strictly forbidden in the Law, can there be hope for us finishing well??

Why, yes… Yes, there is!

“Thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ!” 1 Corinthians 15:57

Paul said to Timothy in 2 Timothy 4, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”

I’m so glad that we are fighting the good fight, together! Let’s keep “spurring one another on to love and good deeds!” (Hebrews 10:24.)

P rayer

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21 far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every name that is invoked, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.” Ephesians 1:17-21


Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 145

  1. Mark Long on said:

    The same thing struck me in today’s reading. God had given Solomon wisdom! It’s hard to understand how Solomon let that slip through his hands. He definitely didn’t use it at that point. I was also struck with Solomon’s wealth and the gifts that the Queen of Shiba brought to honor him or get an audience with him versus Jesus who was was open and available to children, prostitutes, the poor and lame. I’d rather be under his grace than have Solomon’s wealth.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    1 Kings 11:12-13 (msg)
    11-13 God said to Solomon, “Since this is the way it is with you, that you have no intention of keeping faith with me and doing what I have commanded, I’m going to rip the kingdom from you and hand it over to someone else. But out of respect for your father David I won’t do it in your lifetime. It’s your son who will pay—I’ll rip it right out of his grasp. Even then I won’t take it all; I’ll leave him one tribe in honor of my servant David and out of respect for my chosen city Jerusalem.”

    God loved David so much, he didn’t give Solomon what he deserved. Solomon got to experience the mercy of God, because of his father David. As a parent, these verses mean a lot to me. What I do will have an effect on my children, whether good or bad, for generations to come.

    Lord, thank you for your mercy. Please help me to be obedient. Not just so that I can experience your kindness, love and mercy-but so that my boys will be able to enjoy all of your goodness.

  3. Even with his wealth of God-given earthly wisdom, it still is not enough to keep him out of trouble. I’m sure it wasn’t easy for Solomon. He had great wealth, fame, popularity, etc., and I’m sure he had foreign rulers offering their daughters and the best looking women their country had to offer. I’m thinking that Solomon believed it was quite harmless in the beginning. After all, he did build a separate palace to keep them separated from God…

    This made me think of an excerpt from C.S. Lewis – The Screwtape Letters where Screwtape, the senior demon, is instructing his nephew Wormwood who is a junior tempter in a series of satirical letters.

    “Never forget that when we are dealing with any pleasure in its healthy and normal and satisfying form, we are, in a sense, on the Enemy’s ground. I know we have won many a soul through pleasure. All the same, it is His invention, not ours. He made all the pleasures: all our research so far has not enabled us to produce one. All we can do is to encourage the humans to take pleasures which our Enemy has produced, at times, or in ways, or in degrees, which He has forbidden. Hence we always try to work away from the natural condition of any pleasure to that in which it is least natural, least redolent of its Maker, and least pleasurable.”

    It is important to remember that Satan cannot create anything but is a master at turning God’s creation against us. Whenever God blesses someone, it is a certainty that Satan will be close behind looking for a way to turn it around. It is rare that he uses a brute force attack and usually tries to wedge his way into a small crack and keeps working it slowly open. In this case, he starts with Pharaoh’s daughter and moves on to others. With wealth and power comes great responsibility. I am fortunate to make a good living but don’t care to ever be wealthy. It’s easy to say that I wouldn’t abuse it, but I’m human.

    Lord, thank you for freeing us from sin, even those that have not been committed yet. Even though we are free from it, let us turn a deaf ear to sin. The loud noise of sin drowns out the sound of your voice which we desperately need to hear. I always want to turn to you. Give me the strength to resist the enemy and his empty promises and shield me from his manipulative ways. In Jesus name I pray.

  4. With great earthly power comes great opportunity for sin. I think we are seeing alot of that in our times…Lord, if you give me power, please let me use it for your service. Guide me in your ways and hold me to your Truth. Give me the discernment to know when things are going bad..

Leave a Reply

