Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 144

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Welcome to Day 144 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 9; 2 Chronicles 8; Psalm 136; Romans 5 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 9:1, “When Solomon had finished building the temple of the Lord and the royal palace, and had achieved all he had desired to do, 2 the Lord appeared to him a second time, as he had appeared to him at Gibeon.”

v 4, ““As for you, if you walk before me faithfully with integrity of heart and uprightness, as David your father did, and do all I command and observe my decrees and laws, 5 I will establish your royal throne over Israel forever, as I promised David your father when I said, ‘You shall never fail to have a successor on the throne of Israel.’”

v 6, ““But if you or your descendants turn away from me and do not observe the commands and decrees I have given you and go off to serve other gods and worship them, 7 then I will…”

2 Chronicles 9 echoes the same content as 1 Kings 9.

Psalm 136 is a great psalm of thanksgiving, similar to Psalm 135, but this one is responsive in nature. Affirms the goodness of God, his creation and all his mighty deeds! A great reminder.

Romans 5,:1, “Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

v 6,  “You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.”

v 19, “For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous. 20 Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded,

grace did much more abound:

O bservation

I always take note of the “ifs” and “buts” in scripture… But it’s so easy to slip into performance mode in those instances. This is just stating the results of our faithfulness or turning away from him. Even though in just a chapter or two, Solomon becomes jaded and his heart turns away from God, God remained faithful to his promise. Jesus, son of David, sits forever on the throne. His house firmly established forever!

Romans 5 is one of the great chapters in all the Bible! States that through our faith we are at peace with God. There is no longer hostility. No more judgment. Only grace!

A pplication

Weighing our behavior against God’s grace is always difficult. God has already forgiven me. I am forgiven. Period.

Even for whatever transgressions I may commit in the future. It’s all covered by his blood. I have already been pronounced forgiven at my trial. I can not be tried for the same crime twice…

I once heard someone describe Jesus’ sacrifice in this manner…

Imagine someone paying your electric bill for you. They mail enough to cover your bill for the rest of your life. You account is paid. In full.

You can send a check, but they will send it back stating that your account is over-paid. The bill has already been paid in full. You owe nothing.

You could call customer service and state that you weren’t the one who paid the bill, but they don’t care. Someone paid it. It’s PAID. IN FULL.

Are there results to my sins? Sure. Sin always has a price tag, but is not about my forgiveness or salvation. My salvation is secure. It has nothing to do with what I do or don’t do. The account has already been paid. In full. It’s about what HE has done.

(If someone commits a crime, God will forgive them, but they will still go to jail…)

As the old hymn states, “Jesus paid it all… All to him I owe… Sin had left a crimson stain… He washed it white as snow!”

It can be difficult to reconcile the “if’s” and “buts” in the Bible with grace…

I land here… There may be ramifications to my actions, but God’s forgiveness is apart from that.

It occurred to me the other day that I did nothing to become a son. I was born into that role. I am a son. I can never change that. I am my father’s son.

With God, I have been adopted. He adopted me into his family. I am his son, solely because he chose to adopt me.

I am now a child of the King of Kings. If that’s true, that makes me a…

P rayer

Thank you Lord! #thatisall

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 144

  1. Solomon brought Pharaoh’s daughter up from the City of David to the palace he had built for her, for he said, “My wife must not live in the palace of David king of Israel, because the places the ark of the LORD has entered are holy.”

    And yet, he married her… *head scratch* I wonder what I have done or am currently doing that interferes with my relationship with God.

    There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next.

    Good words to remember in the times where we are struggling. Right now, I am at a period of waiting for what comes next. God knows what is next and I have to trust in that. I must remain patient and alert. In the meantime, I will enjoy life and praise His holy name. God does not expect us to always be doing something. Sometimes it’s better to just hang.

    Lord, your love endures forever. It doesn’t seem efficient to sit around and wait. I know you have a plan and I trust in that plan. In the meantime, I will chill in your holy presence. There is not better place to be.

    • Mark Long on said:

      I have been in what feels like a period of waiting for some time as well. I’ve been trying to better learn patience and perseverance and been meditating on this part of Romans 5 recently:
      “3 Not only so, but we[c] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”

      A few weeks ago I was driving home from work and thinking about patience and just at that time someone pulled out in front of me and continued to drive at about 30MPH in a 45 zone. I had to laugh out loud – “Great sense of humor God!”

      Shane – it seems that we may be in similar places and have some common ground – we should talk soon…

      • I would love to meet, perhaps for coffee. I’m hoping that there will be another meetup of the Life Journal bloggers soon too.

        I am trying to approach this with a sense of God’s timing which if perfect. I want to be ready to say, “Here I am Lord. Send me!” when the time is right. In the meantime, I keep praying and resting in His presence as much as I can.

      • Mark Long on said:

        Sounds good. I added you on Google+. I can share contact info there.

Leave a Reply

