Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 143

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Welcome to Day 143 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Chronicles 6; 2 Chronicles 7; Psalm 135; Romans 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Chronicles 6:18, ““But will God really dwell on earth with humans? The heavens, even the highest heavens, cannot contain you. How much less this temple I have built!”

2 Chronicles 7:1, “When Solomon finished praying, fire came down from heaven and consumed the burnt offering and the sacrifices, and the glory of the Lord filled the temple. 2 The priests could not enter the temple of the Lord because the glory of the Lord filled it. 3 When all the Israelites saw the fire coming down and the glory of the Lord above the temple, they knelt on the pavement with their faces to the ground, and they worshiped and gave thanks to the Lord, saying, “He is good; his love endures forever.”

Psalm 135:15, “The idols of the nations are silver and gold, made by human hands. 16 They have mouths, but cannot speak, eyes, but cannot see. 17 They have ears, but cannot hear, nor is there breath in their mouths. 18 Those who make them will be like them, and so will all who trust in them.”

Romans 4:3, “What does Scripture say? ‘Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.'”

O bservation

Thinking about Solomon’s question… “But will God really dwell on earth with humans?”

The answer, “Yes.”

Revelation 21:3 states, “And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and

God himself will be with them

and be their God.”

You gotta love that God’s presence was so strong that the priests couldn’t even perform their duties and that they had to go outside! And his presence was “above the temple,” too! (2 Chronicles 7:3) Fire was coming down from heaven consuming the sacrifices! What an amazing sight that must have been!

A pplication

What an amazing thought, truth… That the dwelling of God is WITH men. That he is WITH us. That he is WITH me.

Matthew 1:23, “The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel” (which means “God with us”).

Solomon had it right.

God doesn’t dwell in a building. The building merely housed the Ark which represented his presence. God wasn’t dwelling there… it was more of a meeting place?

Solomon’s temple stood for 419 years until King Nebuchadnezzer of Babylon destroyed it… Another temple was built some time later (at the time of Haggai and Zechariah) and stood until Jesus’ day, but was destroyed in 70 AD by the Romans. That temple had a curtain that separated “the holy place” from “the most holy place” or “the holy of holies.” That curtain was torn in two at the moment of Jesus’ death (see Matthew 27), signifying that there was no longer a veil keeping people from drawing close to God. See 2 Corinthians 3.

Hebrews 4 states that we may now approach his throne of grace “with confidence!”

How amazing is that, that we can approach the Creator of the heavens and the earth, with confidence! That he wants to be WTH us. That we can know him… not just know about him!

P rayer

Thank you Lord for making a way for us to draw near to you!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 143

  1. If those who get what God gives them only get it by doing everything they are told to do and filling out all the right forms properly signed, that eliminates personal trust completely and turns the promise into an ironclad contract! That’s not a holy promise; that’s a business deal. A contract drawn up by a hard-nosed lawyer and with plenty of fine print only makes sure that you will never be able to collect. But if there is no contract in the first place, simply a promise—and God’s promise at that—you can’t break it.

    I am thankful for this since I would have been in breach of contract within the hour. Truly amazing that God extends such undeserved grace so freely.

    This is why the fulfillment of God’s promise depends entirely on trusting God and his way, and then simply embracing him and what he does.

    Perhaps it’s just me, but it’s hard to know sometimes what God is doing. It’s easy to second guess what is going on. There are some obvious things that I’ve figured out. If my hands feel hot, I know that God wants to heal someone. I had this happen when I was praying for someone’s job situation. I asked if they needed to be healed of anything, and they responded that they’ve had tinnitus for 20 years. I put my hands on his ears (with permission of course) and God removed the ringing. How awesome! Other than the obvious, it’s easy to over react or under react to what God is doing.

    The sacrificed Jesus made us fit for God, set us right with God.

    Hallelujah!

    Lord, thank you for being patient with me as you were with the apostles when they didn’t get it. I love being a part of what you are doing, even when I miss the boat. Even the highest heavens can’t contain you, but we try to put you in a cage, only asking you out when we need you. May my eyes and ears be open to know what you are doing. Lord, let YOUR will be done.

    • Mark Long on said:

      Very cool story Shane! You can pray for my tinnitus and job situation any time!

    • Hi Shane.

      Did you always know that the hot hands meant heal someone? How is it that you made the correlation? If my hands felt hot I would think I forgot to remove them from the stove stop before I would think it’s from God. But then again, I don’t think I’m a healer either. I am just wondering if perhaps God is sending me specific physical signs that I am writing off as pre-mature hot flashes.

      I love to hear about ways God speaks to his children.

      • Sorry for the late response. I just noticed the notification. In a class several years ago during a time of ministry of praying for impartations of the spirit, my hands started feeling hot. I wouldn’t have given it much thought if Marc Dupont didn’t stop and ask if anyone was feeling warmth in their hands. So now I know that feeling. =)

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Romans 4:3
    The scripture says, “Abraham believed God, and because of his faith God accepted him ad righteous.”

    Romans 4:23-24
    “The words “he was accepted as righteous” were not written for him alone. 24 They were written also for us who are to be accepted as righteous, who believe in him who raised Jesus from death.”

    God sees me as righteous.
    Righteous is defined as morally right or justifiable. virtuous. perfectly wonderful, fine and genuine.

    I don’t feel like I am righteous most days. My intentions are good, but my flesh seems to run all over my spirit at times. But praise God, he sees me as righteous. What hope we have in Christ. I just need to believe, have faith, not doubt and praise the Lord. He will take care of the rest. What a beautiful gifts our God has give us-his love, his acceptance, his peace.

    Praise God!

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Shane & Scott-your posts remind me of this Gungor song…

Leave a Reply

