Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 142

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 142 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 8; 2 Chronicles 5; Psalm 99; Romans 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 8:3, “When all the elders of Israel had arrived, the priests took up the ark, 4 and they brought up the ark of theLord and the tent of meeting and all the sacred furnishings in it. The priests and Levites carried them up, 5 and King Solomon and the entire assembly of Israel that had gathered about him were before the ark, sacrificing so many sheep and cattle that they could not be recorded or counted.”

Solomon’s prayer, and the dedication of the temple.

2 Chronicles 5 also records the Ark being brought to the temple and it’s dedication.

Psalm 99 is another “royal” psalm.

Romans 3:21, “But now apart from the law the righteousness of God has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. 22 This righteousness is given through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe.”

O bservation

At last, the Ark has a more permanent home. Keep in mind, it has been over 400 years from Moses to this moment. All that remained in the Ark were the stone tablets… (Wondering what happened to Aaron’s staff, the jar of manna… even the gold rats the Philistines put into the Ark when they had it briefly.)

A pplication

What is jumping out at me today is the timeline. Over FOUR HUNDRED YEARS… This would be a similar timeline as the discovery and founding of the United States, just over 500 years in the making. Keep in mind the Declaration of Independence is just over 200 years old. The Ark was twice that old.

What’s my point? God has a different perspective on time. His viewpoint is “But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.” 2 Peter 3:8.

People use this verse to stretch out the timeline of creation, however, I believe it was literally six days. “There was evening and there was morning the third day.” That’s 24 hours… (Having said that, who knows how long the spirit of the Lord “hovered over the waters?” That could have been millions of years.)

I try to keep all this in mind when I get in a hurry. The Ark was in Moses’ tabernacle and David’s tent for generations. But when the timing was right, Solomon built a temple.

Timing is everything. It’s so easy to rush ahead of God. To get impatient.

Sometimes a day seems like a thousand years, doesn’t it?

P rayer

Lord give me patience as I wait for you…

2 Peter 3:9, “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 142

  1. Romans 3:22-23 today speaks to me about judgement, and my own judgement of others and situations.
    “…The righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction; for all have sinned and fall short of glory of God, and all are justified by his grace as a a gift, through the redempton of Jesus Christ.”

    I know at times I am very critical, especially if I’m feeling wounded. This is a good reminder that I’m not justified in this at all. There isn’t anything I can do that will bring me closer to God than my brother/sister. Their faith justifies them, just as it justifies me. Easy to fall into the trap of feeling “more worthy”…

    Lord, help me to have a forgiving heart. Thank you for the grace that covers me and my brothers/sisters. I pray for our reconciliation when we disagree.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Romans 3:28 (Msg)
    ” Our lives get in step with God and all others by letting him set the pace, not by proudly or anxiously trying to run the parade.”

    I don’t need to run the parade. Submit. Surrender. Let God take control.

    Lord, thank you for your direction and care for me. Please give me wisdom to know which path you want for me. Open my eyes to see the road that you want me to go down. Thank you for speaking to me. Thank you for your presence in my life.

  3. All the Levites who were musicians —Asaph, Heman, Jeduthun and their sons and relatives—stood on the east side of the altar, dressed in fine linen and playing cymbals, harps and lyres. They were accompanied by 120 priests sounding trumpets. The trumpeters and musicians joined in unison to give praise and thanks to the LORD. Accompanied by trumpets, cymbals and other instruments, the singers raised their voices in praise to the LORD and sang:

    “He is good; his love endures forever.”

    Then the temple of the LORD was filled with the cloud…

    This scene always stands out and give me goose bumps. To me, it’s one of the most momentous occasions in the OT since it depicts such closeness to God’s presence. All the Israelites coming together to worship… It wasn’t a rock concert or a religious Sunday morning exercise. I picture all the musicians playing together and people singing and dancing for God. This was the party to end all parties.

    I like to relate things in the bible to real world events. I’ve seen the massive galleries that follow Tiger Woods or Phil Mickelson at PGA events and I believe that the crowds following Jesus in his day far surpass that. I picture this scene resembling a Super Bowl only with everyone cheering for God. I would love to see a crowd larger than the Indy 500 coming together in worship. I wonder if that would be possible in today’s capitalistic society. 500,000 or more people joining together in worship with no admission fee and no agenda other than worshiping God because He Is.

    Lord, this is what I want for you. You deserve no less. We gather in large numbers for sporting events and musical concerts, but we fall short of coming together to celebrate you. I pray that more and more hearts turn to you. I am thankful for your presence whether it’s in the midst of 2 gathered in your name or 2 million. Thank you for wanting to be a part of our lives.

Leave a Reply

