Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 141

Monday, May 21, 2012

Welcome to Day 141 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 7; 2 Chronicles 4; Psalm 98; Romans 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 7, “It took Solomon thirteen years,

however…

to complete the construction of his palace.”

2 Chronicles 4 describes the temple furnishings, also described in 1 Kings 7.

Psalm 98 is considered a “royal” psalm. The theme is deliverance, past, present and future!

Romans 2 addresses the value of circumcision and what makes a Jew a Jew. v 28 “A person is not a Jew who is one only outwardly, nor is circumcision merely outward and physical. 29 No, a person is a Jew who is one inwardly; and circumcision is circumcision of the heart, by the Spirit, not by the written code.”

Always an interesting discussion when the topic of judging others comes up…

O bservation

Only took seven years to construct the temple… but it took thirteen years to build his own palace? Sounds like Solomon finished his palace in similar fashion as the temple with high-quality stone and cedar…

A pplication

Wondering if this was ok with God. What God’s perspective on this will be, if it’s ever made known? Is it just… the way it is? Does it even (really) matter that Solomon’s palace is considerably larger than the temple he built?

God gave him all that wealth, other than what he inherited from his father David… So maybe it just isn’t an issue at all?

It just surprises me.

I wonder how often I put myself first. My wants, my needs, my palace.

P rayer

Lord, may the palace I build for myself never be bigger than the temple I build for you…


Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 141

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Romans 2:1 (Msg)
    “Every time you criticize someone, you condemn yourself.”

    Romans 2:8 (Msg)
    “Every refusal and avoidance of God adds fuel to the fire.”

    Lord, please help me to choose my words wisely…let them be few and full of life.
    Help me to be obedient and to stay close to you. Thank you for this beautiful morning!

  2. Mark Long on said:

    As I was reading through the Kings and Chronicles passages, I was stuck by the detail, magnitude and opulence of the temple and how even that doesn’t hold a candle to the glory of God. Even in our greatest accomplishments we can’t imagine His glory!

  3. I had the same thought about the time it took to build the temple vs. the palace. You would think the learning curve would have meant the palace would take less time since it was built after. I don’t recall their being a commission to build a palace for man, only a temple. Hmmm…

    Those people are on a dark spiral downward. But if you think that leaves you on the high ground where you can point your finger at others, think again. Every time you criticize someone, you condemn yourself. It takes one to know one. Judgmental criticism of others is a well-known way of escaping detection in your own crimes and misdemeanors. But God isn’t so easily diverted. He sees right through all such smoke screens and holds you to what you’ve done.

    I think we often believe that since we are forgiven through Christ, that we are free to do whatever we want, that we only have to be better than “them”. I know several people on a downward spiral; one is dangerously close to the bottom I presume. Despite many attempts, they won’t change their ways. The booze is just too important to them…

    No matter where we are on the spectrum of life, close to rock bottom and free falling or holding fast, pride makes us look down on others so we don’t feel so bad about our position. “At least I’m not like so-and-so…” Feeling not so bad about ourselves, we keep doing what we do, in essence rejecting God’s hand of kindness which leads us into radical life change.

    It’s also easy to look at the outward appearance of others and presume they have it all together. I remember growing up thinking that kids whose parents were divorced had it made. They could come and go as they pleased and could play them against each other to get what they wanted. In creeps envy and jealousy. I learned later on that most of these kids actually envied those of us whose parents were still married. I wonder how much we as adults envy each other for completely opposite things. God sees right through all outward appearances. Getting dressed and making an appearance at church means little if we don’t read and obey the teaching of Christ.

    Lord, You have searched me and know me inside and out. Although I try, I can’t hide from You. You made each of us for a purpose, part of Your master plan. Grant me the strength and courage to walk in Your ways, no matter how it looks to others.

Leave a Reply

