Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 138

Friday, May 18, 2012

Welcome to Day 138 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Kings 3; 2 Chronicles 1; Psalm 78; 2 Thessalonians 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Kings 3, insert ALL of 1 Kings 3 here.

2 Chronicles 1, ditto.

Psalm 78 is a “Maschil”a psalm that gives instruction. It gives an overview of Israel’s long history of turning away from God and His display of mercy and faithfulness. It culminates with David’s rule as shepherd of Israel.

2 Thessalonians 2:15, “So then, brothers and sisters, stand firm and hold fast to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter. 16 May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, 17 encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

O bservation

What incredible passages we are reading today. Solomon’s humility and wisdom is on display for all to see. Asking only for wisdom to rule Israel. 1 Kings 3:9, “So give your servant a discerning heart to govern your people and to distinguish between right and wrong. For who is able to govern this great people of yours?””

A pplication

This makes me wonder what I would ask for if God appeared to me in a dream…

(Of course, we have the benefit of knowing Solomon’s request and God’s response to that request, so it’s really not possible to answer that, no matter how honest I am with myself…)

Also makes me wonder if Adonijah had become king, and God appeared to him in a dream, what would he have asked for?

But we also have the benefit of knowing the outcome of Solomon’s life… that he ended up cynical, disobedient and well, his heart had turned away from God. (See 1 Kings 11.)

I am curious over the next week or so to see Solomon’s life as king unfold before us…

(I really wish I could read this for the very first time again… not knowing any of the outcome.)

But for today, Solomon is at the very top of his game. Full of humility and wisdom. He has a great reputation and wealth beyond his wildest dreams…

His decision in regards to the two women and the baby is a huge part of his legacy, in addition to having built the temple and for uttering the famous words in Ecclesiastes 1, “The words of the Teacher, son of David, king in Jerusalem: 2 “Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the Teacher. “Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.”

I’m sure his disobedience in marrying foreign women had a little something to do with his attitude and the outcome of his life… with his very first wife being an Egyptian daughter of Pharaoh? Of course, hundreds of years have passed since Moses had led them out of slavery and Egypt, but God had made it abundantly clear that they were to not marry foreign (non-Israelite) women. And he marries a lot of them… and they lead him astray.

I wish I could read this and simply land on, “Wow, Solomon was so wise! Asking only for wisdom and God gave him wisdom and wealth too!” and simply learn the lesson from that. But for me, I end up seeing the cautionary tale within. It’s not that his wealth got the best of him, it was that his heart turns away from God. He realized that wealth and power were meaningless. That is the lesson.

Then, as Paul wrote in 2 Thessalonians 2:15, “So then, brothers and sisters, stand firm and hold fast to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter. 16 May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, 17 encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

P rayer

Lord, help me to hold fast to your teachings… to your word. To always stay near to you. To walk in obedience, but more importantly, in eternal encouragement and good hope, being strengthened in every good deed and word!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 138

  1. I was pondering the same thing, what would I ask for. After a while, it came to me that I don’t need to wait for God to appear in a dream. John 14 says

    Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

    From Matthew 21

    Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.”

    It seems pretty straightforward. Some key points that stand out are, “so that the Father may be glorified in the Son” and “If you believe”. Can it be this simple? If so, where do all the doubts come from?

    I remember hearing in a seminar on equipping it constantly repeated that God wants us healthy, wealthy and happy and that we need to embrace that promise. I believe that to be true, but it’s clear that God wants us to be obedient and humble first and foremost. It seems at times that we want Jesus to be obedient to us and not the other way around as it should be.

    Lord, I need to know how to be more obedient. Thank you for the life you have given me. I wouldn’t want it any other way. The more I get to know you, the better it gets. I pray that those reading this have the wisdom of Solomon and the faith of Peter. We need that wisdom so that we are not deceived. Let Your kingdom come and Your truth be known. In Jesus name I ask it.

  2. Nicole on said:

    How amazing it would be for the Lord to come to you in a dream and ask “What would you like me to give to you?” The thought of that just warms my soul. That the God of the universe speaks to me, to us. He wants an intimate relationship with us. He wants us to share ourselves with him and he wants to share himself with us. So amazing!

    I love Solomon’s humility in 1 Kings 3. He admits that he doesn’t know how to rule and that he is young. Humility is a beautiful thing. He asks for wisdom and to rule with justice, to know the difference between right and wrong. Then the Lord gives him that plus wealth, honor and the promise of long life if he is obedient.

    Thank you, Lord, for your presence in my life. I want to know your voice. Please help me to be humble.

  3. Yes Lord may we hear your voice above the noise. May we let your peace be our guide. Each day is a blessing. May we not take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

