Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 135

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Welcome to Day 135 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Chronicles 25; 1 Chronicles 26; 1 Chronicles 27; 1 Thessalonians 4 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Chronicles 25:1, “David, together with the commanders of the army, set apart some of the sons of Asaph, Heman and Jeduthun for the ministry of prophesying, accompanied by harps, lyres and cymbals. Here is the list…”

1 Chronicles 26:20, “Their fellow Levites were in charge of the treasuries of the house of God and the treasuries for the dedicated things…”

1 Chronicles 27:1, “This is the list of the Israelites—heads of families, commanders of thousands and commanders of hundreds, and their officers, who served the king in all that concerned the army divisions that were on duty month by month throughout the year.”

1 Thessalonians 4, living to please God, addresses believers who have died–and the return of Jesus.

O bservation

Taking note today of what it means to be “appointed.” Some were appointed due to their family lineage, and casting lots?

A pplication

However we are called to whatever we are called, we are to live holy lives, set apart (sanctified) for his purposes.

Doesn’t imply full-time ministry… it is a heart issue. 1 Peter 3:15, “But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect.”

I am fortunate to have been a full time minister since 1995 or so. But I never viewed myself as NOT in full-time ministry, even when I was working at an ad agency… because it’s a heart issue. When you have a kingdom mindset, how you earn your living is different has nothing to do with how you view extending the kingdom.

I did much of what I’m doing now before I was ever paid to do it. Same with Doug. He didn’t go full time until we had 300-400 people. Most churches have a full-time pastor at 100 people. I went full time at 700 people, because going “full-time” wasn’t my goal.

I was no less the worship leader being part time than full time.

I often say that I could go to work at Wal-Mart and it would only change the logo on my paycheck. (And obviously the amount of time I would have to commit to day to-day ministry.) But it wouldn’t change who I am, or how God sees me.

If we can grasp that it’s about extending the kingdom… more than “church…” I know that I am no better or more powerful by being full time than any person who is serving in the Children’s Ministry as a volunteer ministry partner! I am no better than our facility team or admin team. I am merely called to different ministry, with different responsibilities.

Remember that body analogy? “The hand cant’ say to the eye, ‘I don’t need you.'”

If we can see the gold in those around us… and strive to bring that gold out… to give others the chance to shine, to make room for that… to bless what God is doing in their lives… to give them space to make mistakes… to equip and release them into their calling? Wow!

To see others as God sees them. As he sees us… as he sees me… Called, anointed, appointed.

Galatians 3:26, “So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith, 27 for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. 28 There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

P rayer

Give me your eyes to see others as you see them! To see others as powerful, full of gold, waiting to be mined!

 

P.S. I love this pic! —->

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 135

  1. Marcia zecchini on said:

    Today’s verses in Chronicles just drove home to me the fact that organization and planning are necessary. I thought of that saying “God is in the details”. Sometimes folks just think they show up and the Holy Spirit does the work, and He does sometimes just “drop in” but I think these scriptures teach us planning, organization, and accountability are necessary to excel. Lord help me to excel in kingdom service.

  2. Nicole on said:

    1 Thes 4:3-12

    Be holy, completely free from sexual immorality.
    Live with your spouse in a holy and honorable way.
    Don’t do wrong to other Christians or take advantage of them.
    God teaches us how to love others.

    Also,
    Live a quiet life.
    Mind your own business.
    Earn your own living…when you do these things you will earn the respect of other who are not believers and won’t need to depend on others for your needs.

    How to be holy is my thought for today. Live a quiet life. Just that one line comforts me today and relaxes my spirit.

    Thank you, Lord for your word. It is my daily bread. What a joy to read from your word on such a beautiful morning. I am so blessed! Help me to be holy. Show me what that means. I adore you.

  3. 1 Chronicles 25: 6-8

    Scripture:

    “All these men were under the direction of their fathers as they made music at the house of the Lord. Their responsibilities included the playing of cymbals, harps, and lyres at the house of God. Asaph, Jeduthun, and Heman reported directly to the king. They and their families were all trained in making music before the Lord, and each of them—288 in all—was an accomplished musician. The musicians were appointed to their term of service by means of sacred lots, without regard to whether they were young or old, teacher or student.”

    Observation:

    Can you imagine 288 of the most accomplished musicians playing for the Lord in unison? The New York Philharmonic, touted #12 in the top 20 Orchestras in the world) only has 72 musicians. I can’t wait to hear what heaven sounds like.

    Application:

    Go overboard for God. Go extreme.

    Each morning before school and while they eat their breakfasts, my kids watch a Dr. Seuss Cartoon narrated by Martin Short. I hear the theme song every day but this morning some of the words caught my attention. They were: “Go, go, go, go, on an adventure. Go, go, go , go, go!” Can you imagine facing each new day with that attitude and enthusiam?

    I think God will take us all on adventures if we let Him be our guide.

    Prayer:

    Lord, give us all the courage to ask you to take us places we never thought we’d be. Give us the enthusiasm and blind faith necessary to say (and really mean), “Here I am. Take me.”

  4. Stay calm; mind your own business; do your own job.

    It’s hard to mind my own business? At work and home, I need to keep tabs on what my employees and children are doing. That’s part of being a responsible manager / parent. With a good relationship, my employees and family keep tabs on me. I try to commend my employees when they catch a mistake I’ve made. I’m human after all. I am certainly far from a perfect parent.

    Outside of that, it is still hard to sit around when you see people making bad decisions. Every decision we make is a brush stroke on the canvas of our life. If we make a dark blotch, it often takes many swipes of a light color to cover it up. Sitting around doing nothing seems wrong though. Gossiping about it is even worse. Gossip by its nature is condemning of others. Satan loves it when we slander others for him. A great way to frustrate the enemy is to honor others whenever we can. I like what Kanga from Winnie the Pooh says, “If you don’t have anything nice to say about someone, don’t say anything at all.” Even a lighthearted poke at someone’s background or ethnicity can be painful to them. Ouch…

    We first have to make sure that we are painting a good picture on our own canvas. Isn’t it better to help others paint a good picture than it is to sit around and criticize their painting? If we start flinging paint around, it can make just as much of a mess on others canvases than it does on our own.

    Lord, I am sorry for helping the enemy slander others and shake their self esteem. It’s hard looking back and seeing the damage I’ve done to my life and others. I know that my attempts to cover the stains of my life are in vein. Your blood is red paint that covers all permanently. Thank you for covering up my mess. I will try to paint withing the lines.

    • I often quote from Winnie the Pooh but it’s usually Pooh saying, “What a very large bother.” There is a trend forming in the posted comments today with the quotations from children’s shows. Perhaps there is a veiled message in that.

Leave a Reply

