Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 134

Monday, May 14, 2012

Welcome to Day 134 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Chronicles 22; 1 Chronicles 23; 1 Chronicles 24; 1 Thessalonians 3 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Chronicles 22:7 “David said to Solomon: “My son, I had it in my heart to build a house for the Name of the Lord my God. 8 But this word of the Lord came to me: ‘You have shed much blood and have fought many wars. You are not to build a house for my Name, because you have shed much blood on the earth in my sight. 9 But you will have a son who will be a man of peace and rest, and I will give him rest from all his enemies on every side. His name will be Solomon, and I will grant Israel peace and quiet during his reign. 10 He is the one who will build a house for my Name.”

v 22:2-29:20 This is the longest section about David’s life in the Bible and is found only in Chronicles. The history of how David completed temple preparations begins and ends with descriptions of royal assemblies. (Reformation Study Bible)

1 Chronicles 23:32, “And so the Levites carried out their responsibilities for the tent of meeting, for the Holy Place and, under their relatives the descendants of Aaron, for the service of the temple of the Lord.”

1 Chronicles 24 (More of the same…)

O bservation

Reflecting on yesterday’s post about the famine on the earth (they believed) was caused by offenses of Saul’s house. David was not permitted to build the temple because he was a man of war. His son Solomon was to be a man of peace and rest. David had shed too much blood on the earth.” However literally one might take that, whether “ON the earth” or simply “on the earth” it prevented him from building the temple… even though David was a great worshiper, his warring outweighed his worship in this regard.

A pplication

I am wondering what I may have done over the course of my life that may prevent me from accomplishing a task that might be in my heart? What might one of my children (or someone else) have to finish?

I am quite content, at this point in my life, to see where this journey takes me. I want what God has for me. No more, no less. I have already been used in greater ways than I ever thought possible.

I have had many words given in recent years about having greater impact on our city and extending His kingdom… impacting the nations, etc.

Time will tell.

The key is to not try to “make” it happen. I am more of the “let it happen” mindset at this point in my life.

As Doug prayed many years ago, “Lord, I’ll take the next open door.” (Not that every open door is the Lord opening it…) I have lots of open doors I could walk through… I want the ones HE is opening… for me.

P rayer

My prayer this morning is for you… as Paul prayed in 1 Thessalonians 3:12,

“May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you. 13 May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones.”

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 134

  1. Thank you Scott for your prayers. And the Lord make you to increase and abound in love as well. With this goal and this provision of love in Him, the best is yet to come!

  2. Nicole on said:

    1 Thes. 3:2-3
    “…We sent him to strengthen you and help your faith, so that none of you should turn back because of persecutions. You yourselves know that such persecutions are part of God’s will for us.”

    We will be persecuted and have difficult times in life, if we are following Christ along the narrow path. Praise God for tests and times of persecution. They develop our character, make us stronger in him and help us to mature. Otherwise we would stay weak and immature in our faith.

    And oh, what a blessing it is to have people around you who are also passionate about Christ. It does strengthen and encourage us. We need to help each other, to encourage one another and find ways to share ourselves with others when they are going through times of testing.

    Lord, thank you for the people in my life that you have sent to encourage and strengthen me. Please help me to be that for others. Help me, Lord, to stay in your will. Open my eyes to see what that path looks like. Fill me with your Spirit, so that I will know how to live. I am so thankful today for who you are Jesus.

  3. Nicole on said:

    Scott- You are a Timothy to me.
    1 Thes. 3:2 “while we sent Timothy, our brother who works with us for God in preaching the Good News about God. We sent him to strengthen you and help your faith.”

    You preach the Good News about God, you strengthen us by sharing what God speaks to you through the Word and you help us in our faith by leading us daily in our reading of God’s word.

    Thank you for your obedience and dedication. It has been such a blessing to me!

  4. A few thoughts today… David had it in his heart to build a house for “the Name of the Lord my God”. I noted that it is not a house for God, but for His name. It’s kind of silly to think that God who is omnipotent and omnipresent would require a home. It’s nice to have a place to gather in His name though. I grew up thinking that God could only be encountered on Sunday morning at church. Silly, huh?

    It’s clear that David really wants to build the temple and God makes it clear that he will not be the one to do it. At this point, David could have been jealous of Solomon for getting this honor, but he is obedient and makes plans and provisions for the temple. If it were me in this position, would I act the same way, or say “Fine! Let Solomon figure out how to pay for it then if my name isn’t going to be on the plaque in front of the building.”

    “I have taken great pains to provide for the temple of the Lord a hundred thousand talents of gold, a million talents of silver, quantities of bronze and iron too great to be weighed, and wood and stone. And you may add to them. You have many workers: stonecutters, masons and carpenters, as well as those skilled in every kind of work 16 in gold and silver, bronze and iron—craftsmen beyond number. Now begin the work, and the Lord be with you.”

    I like the depiction of planning, provision and organization here. I am finding out [the hard way] that God’s plan is not the same as mine. I can only see the physical, earthly plan that seems efficient. God sometimes has us wander in the wilderness for a while to ring out some selfishness, our ego, or to strengthen our resolve. I’m amazed at the things He knows about me that I haven’t figured out yet.

    Lord, thank you for being patient with me. I am slowly learning, I think. I desperately need Your help on this journey.

  5. I’ve been pondering how it is in David’s heart to build a temple, yet God says no. I’m not sure this is God looking down on David or punishing him. David was a worshiper and a warrior and that is precisely what was needed at the time. I wouldn’t hire a warrior to build or decorate my house. I can almost see God patting David on the back saying, “I know you want to do this for me, but you’ve done what I needed you to do. Well done.” Then David responds, “Even though I can’t build it, I’ll at least do whatever I can to support those who will build it.”

    There are many things on my heart that may not have put in my DNA. I would love to be a pro golfer, but it’s not likely given my physical attributes. I could practice until my back gave out and possibly get by as a golf pro, but how much better is my life doing what I was meant to do. When I was a kid, I kept weather data and conditions in a log. I was fascinated with the weather so I’m not sure how I didn’t end up as a meteorologist.

  6. Nickie on said:

    I really like what the pp just said. I, too, didn’t think of this as a punishment, but more like, building the temple isn’t what David is supposed to do. We all have our own talents and gifts from God and so we won’t all do the same things to progress God’s kingdom.

  7. Marcia zecchini on said:

    Chron. 22:6-19 David helped his son Solomon fulfill his purpose by making preparation for him, supplying him, casting vision for him, blessing him, warning him of the pitfalls of sin, charging him with Gods mission, and sending him out. I want to make sure I have done that for my sons Lord. Show me areas where I have been lax. It’s never too late.

  8. 1 Thessalonians 3:12

    “And may the Lord make your love for one another and for all people grow and overflow, just as our love for you overflows.”

    So God is responsible for helping me love others and not me? That’s awesome because the harder I try to make myself love others the more I dislike them. “Loving others: Do not try this alone!”

Leave a Reply

