Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 133

Sunday, May 13, 2012

Welcome to Day 133 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 24; 1 Chronicles 21; Psalm 30; 1 Thessalonians 2 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Chronicles 21:1, “Then Satan stood up against Israel and moved David to number Israel…”

v 7 “God was displeased with this thing, so He struck Israel. 8 David said to God, “I have sinned greatly, in that I have done this thing. But now, please take away the iniquity of Your servant, for I have done very foolishly.””

1 Thessalonians 2:10, “You are witnesses, and so is God, of how holy, righteous and blameless we were among you who believed. 11 For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with his own children, 12 encouraging, comforting and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory.”

O bservation

David made his share of mistakes… Adultery with Bathsheba, killing Uriah, her husband, now numbering his armies.

A pplication

Wouldn’t it be nice if we would just arrive. Like, at the pinnacle of our walk with the Lord we would just suddenly be declared “holy, righteous and blameless” like Paul proclaimed? (Of course, this was after he had the power to have believers, like Stephen, killed…)

We all make mistakes, David sure made his share. This one seems like a dumb one to me. More of a thoughtless act, than something sinful. An act of lack of trust in the Lord… taking matters into his own hands vs. something like his adulterous act with Bathsheba, followed up by killing her husband.

But it was still wrong. God was displeased to the point of declaring his anger and giving David his choice of punishments, to which David replied to Gad, “I am in deep distress. Let me fall into the hands of the Lord, for his mercy is very great; but do not let me fall into the hands of men.”

This is the only explanation for David to be termed, “a man after God’s own heart.” Acts 13:22. David understood and experienced God’s heart of mercy. And David displayed that same mercy toward Saul, and his son Mephibosheth. He could have killed Saul several times, but spared his life and refused to lift his hand against God’s anointed. Then, when Saul was dead, he extended mercy to his son, allowing him to eat at his table.

That is God’s heart.

P rayer

May I have that type of heart, Lord…

 

P.S. 2 Samuel 24:22 “David said to him, “Let me have the site of your threshing floor so I can build an altar to the Lord, that the plague on the people may be stopped. Sell it to me at the full price.” 23 Araunah said to David, “Take it! Let my lord the king do whatever pleases him. Look, I will give the oxen for the burnt offerings, the threshing sledges for the wood, and the wheat for the grain offering. I will give all this.” 24 But King David replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying the full price. I will not take for the Lord what is yours, or sacrifice a burnt offering that costs me nothing.”

You have to love that David was unwilling to give an offering that cost him nothing! He understood there was a cost to worship. A sacrifice is called “a sacrifice” for a reason…

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 133

  1. Nicole on said:

    Psalm 30:5
    “His anger lasts only a moment,
    his goodness for a lifetime.
    Tears may flow in the night,
    but joy comes in the morning.”

    Oh, I love these verses. This is how God is. He is angry for a moment, but he is good forever. And what joy the morning brings. Things always look brighter come morning. A fresh start. Praise God we get a fresh start every day.

    Thank you, Lord for your goodness. Thank you for a fresh start each day. Thank you that you bless us with a new morning each day. I adore you.

  2. When I first read 1 Samuel 24, I was confused because I thought it read that God instructed David to count the armies and then punished him for it. 1 Chronicles clarifies that Satan put the thought in David’s head to take a census. It is often hard to know what we should do. Many things are clear such as murder, theft, etc. but taking a census seems rather innocent. It goes to show that many things may be sinful even though they aren’t on the “forbidden list”. I love to play golf. In the beginning, it was just enjoyable to do, a personal challenge. After a while, it started to dominate my life as a quest to shoot the lowest score and beat everyone.

    Even though golf itself is not sinful, putting it before God is. I still enjoy playing golf, but now it is more about spending time in prayer and not about what is on the score card. Funny thing, my scores really improved. Last year, I was playing along wondering if God was really there with me and the ball dropped in the hole from 165 yards for my first and only eagle.

    Lord, thank you for spending time with me whether it’s on the golf course or anywhere.

  3. Kelley Flees on said:

    It really is all about the condition of our hearts. May mine be viewed as strong and caring. My love for people is tested daily. Satan bothers me through people. Lord, may their words not phase me. I pray that I am so fixed on you that I am unwavering. Amen

    • You’re not alone in that Kelley… None of us relates well to everyone. I’m sure I rub some people the wrong way! That’s when they get to practice patience and longsuffering! : )

Leave a Reply

