Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 130

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Welcome to Day 130 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 18; Psalm 56; Matthew 27 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 18:5, ““Be gentle with the young man Absalom for my sake.” And all the troops heard the king giving orders concerning Absalom to each of the commanders.”

v 14 “Joab said, “I’m not going to wait like this for you.” So he took three javelins in his hand and plunged them into Absalom’s heart while Absalom was still alive in the oak tree. 15 And ten of Joab’s armor-bearers surrounded Absalom, struck him and killed him.”

Matthew 27, Judas hangs himself after betraying Jesus… Jesus goes before Pilate, Barabbas is released, Jesus is crucified, buried (with a guard posted at the tomb.)

O bservation

What about “Be gentle with the young man [my son] Absalom” did Joab not understand??

A pplication

Betrayal is the theme for today… Jesus is betrayed by Judas, David is betrayed by Absalom, then by Joab, who kills Absalom.

Initially David doesn’t do anything to Joab… It’s not even really clear if David ever finds out that Joab killed Absalom. Not until 1 Kings 2 is Joab killed, as David is on the brink of death himself… by order of David.

P rayer

Lord, help me to be a loyal person.


Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 130

  1. I was not expecting to be so moved by Absalom’s death, the loyalty of the commanders and feeling David’s grief. Psm. 56:3 when I am afraid I will trust in you. 9) then my enemies will turn back when I call for help. By this I will know God is for me. Father thank you for being who I put my trust and hope in. Help me keep my eyes fixed on you and what plans you have for me.

  2. The king was shaken. He went up to the room over the gateway and wept. As he went, he said: “O my son Absalom! My son, my son Absalom! If only I had died instead of you—O Absalom, my son, my son!”

    David is a horrible king by earthly standards. He runs and hides when his enemies approach and mourns when his enemies are killed. Had he been paying attention, he could have nailed Absalom lying to the people before it got so bad. Mourning for Absalom is understandable since it was his son. Proverbs 24:17 tells us not to gloat when our enemies fall, but to actually mourn for them and honor their family (going back to David’s reaction over Saul’s death). ???

    Perhaps David understood the essence of Ephesians 6:12

    For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

    I haven’t much time to ponder application. The best I could come up with is that when people do things, it’s not always directed at me even though I may be greatly affected. I’m not the center of the universe. Don’t take things personal.

    Lord, help me know the difference and not over-react to situations and events.

Leave a Reply

