Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 129

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Welcome to Day 129 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 17; Psalm 71; Matthew 26 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 17, Absalom is now flexing his authority (self-perceived) and is ready to attack David’s army…

This is not going to end well for Absalom.

v 18 “During his lifetime Absalom had taken a pillar and erected it in the King’s Valley as

a monument to himself,

for he thought, “I have no son to carry on the memory of my name.” He named the pillar after himself, and it is called Absalom’s Monument to this day.”

Psalm 71:17 “Since my youth, God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds. 18 Even when I am old and gray, do not forsake me, my God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your mighty acts to all who are to come.”

Matthew 26:63, “The high priest said to him, “I charge you under oath by the living God: Tell us if you are the Christ, the Son of God.” 64 “Yes, it is as you say,” Jesus replied. “But I say to all of you: In the future you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of the Mighty One and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

65 Then the high priest tore his clothes and said, “He has spoken blasphemy! Why do we need any more witnesses? Look, now you have heard the blasphemy. 66 What do you think?” “He is worthy of death,” they answered. 67 Then they spit in his face and struck him with their fists. Others slapped him 68 and said, “Prophesy to us, Christ. Who hit you?”

v 74 “I don’t know the man!” (Peter)

O bservation

It’s amazing how jealousy, hurt or fear can cause people to do the strangest things…

Absalom going to war against his own father.

The High Priest and all the people around him deciding to crucify Jesus.

Peter denying that he even knew Jesus.

A pplication

If the purpose of Application is to apply the verses to our lives, the question I have to ask myself today is, “What have I done out of jealousy, hurt or fear?” What decisions have I made? What might I have said or done to someone else?

Often times when we are hurt the two default behaviors are lash out or distance myself rather than working through a situation. Obviously distancing myself avoids confrontation, at least for a while, and gives the illusion of relationship or even friendship. Lashing out is unhealthy… and it can be done under the guise of “I’m just being honest!” (“Speaking the truth in love…”)

Just for the record, I know this is Poseidon, a mythical figure… I just thought it helped capture the concept of building a monument to one’s self… which obviously, he couldn’t have done! I could have used an image of one of the Pharaohs, but I liked his expression!

Instead, it’s easier to run off and build a monument to myself. To my own hurt or fear… and believe in my own mind that I am the one who is justified in my actions.

Better to talk through situations, to seek first to understand, then to be understood… To walk in humility.

Note to self: Building a monument to one’s self is never a good idea…

P rayer

Lord, help me to rid myself of any jealousy, hurt or fear in my life. To walk in humility before others and you… telling the next generation and those around me of your mighty acts!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 129

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matthew 26:41 (Msg)
    “Stay alert; be in prayer so you don’t wander into temptation without even knowing you’re in danger. There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”

    Oh Lord, please keep me from temptation. Help me to stay awake, alert and focused. Take the evil desires within me and replace them with your desires. Guard my heart. I love you!

  2. As for me, I will always have hope;
    I will praise you more and more.

    Easy to say, hard to do. I would like to say that I always have hope, but the truth is I have many times of doubt. This week has certainly been one of them…

    I am still trying to process the recent and abrupt resignation of our electric guitar player and a close friend from our group as well as being the worship leader at his home church. He was extremely devoted to worship and it is a deep passion with him. I could understand him backing out of our group because of time restraints, but to give it up altogether…

    Peter replied, “Even if all fall away on account of you, I never will.”

    As devoted as I like to think I am to Jesus, it is possible to fall away. Peter caved when the going got tough, even though the initial accusation came from a servant girl. Because of the grace of God, all is not lost in times like this. Back in Matthew 16, Jesus declared “And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it.” Peter goes on to do this, even after denying to be a follower of Jesus.

    For me, it is hard pill to swallow and it doesn’t make any sense. I know from experience that God will turn everything around for good. As I like to say, I am glad that God has it all figured out because I certainly don’t.

    Lord, I feel like I have lost a brother, and it hurts deeply. In You I take refuge. With You as my shelter, I trust in Your plan because Your ways are higher than my ways. Please comfort my friend, because I know this is not his heart. Please show us the direction we need to go. We can’t stop worshiping You Lord. That is our only goal.

    • Mark Long on said:

      I’ll pray for both of you, Shane. A year and a half ago I stepped down as the head of the sound team and main lead guitar player from the church that I had attended for 18 years. It wasn’t anything to do with the church. per se, but the gentle leading by the Holy Spirit that there was a change in store for me. I can’t speak to your(his) situation and mine definitely wasn’t a sudden change, but happened after a few months notice to the worship leader and pastoral staff. I know for myself, things aren’t always clear, but I pray that its for all the right reasons and that God will bless and honor all of you and give you his peace.

      • Thanks Mark.

        I just spoke to him the day before and he didn’t mention anything. This was literally out of the blue. It really cripples us as a worship band since we were playing without a bass player to start with. We will continue to worship though, even if it is just two of us without sound equipment.

Leave a Reply

