Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 128

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Welcome to Day 128 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 15; 2 Samuel 16; Psalm 32; Matthew 25 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

The saga of Absalom continues in 2 Samuel 15 and 16, with Absalom undermining David’s reign garnering support, endearing himself to all the people to the point where David flees.

Psalm 32:10, “the Lord’s unfailing love surrounds the one who trusts in him.”

Matthew 25 Jesus tells parables of the Kingdom in preparation for his departure… the ten virgins, the parable of the talents (bags of gold), and the sheep and goats.

Matthew 25:35, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat…”

O bservation

What comes to mind is nothing lasts forever…

A pplication

Although we know David’s house is forever established, in the midst of these chapters it seems otherwise David is now watching his kingdom begin to unravel. His own son has turned on him… even Mephibosheth, Saul’s grandson stayed behind, hoping that his grandfather’s kingdom would be restored to him. (This, after David took him in and let him eat at the king’s table.)

Both the Samuel passages and the Matthew passage had a similar feel to me… a sense of urgency, almost panic behind them.

Jesus strongly states that we must be ready at any time… at all times. The bridegroom may show up at any time! Our lamps should be trimmed and ready. We should be about his business extending the kingdom, waiting expectantly for him.

v 46, ““Then they will go away to eternal punishment,

but the righteous to eternal life.”

P rayer

Thank you Lord for making a way for us. Simply by trusting in you we are not condemned to an eternity apart from you! I want to be ready…

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 128

  1. It must have been difficult to say the least to have your own son turn against you. Psm. 25:15 you are my hiding place. You will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. David was a great servant and it was hard not to jump ahead to see how God was going to deliver him. I loved the loyalty this chapter began with, 2sam.15:21 But Ittai replied, as surely as the Lord lives and as my lord the king lives, wherever my lord the king be, whether it means life or death, there your servant will be. Father, I want to be a great servant.

  2. “Look, your claims are valid and proper, but there is no representative of the king to hear you.”

    It doesn’t say, but I am guessing this is a lie in order to make people upset with the king and to gain their allegiance. More lies… more deceit. It appears that satan is working hard to disrupt God’s plan. David could easily turn away from God, but…

    Then the king [David] said to Zadok, “Take the ark of God back into the city. If I find favor in the Lord’s eyes, he will bring me back and let me see it and his dwelling place again. 26 But if he says, ‘I am not pleased with you,’ then I am ready; let him do to me whatever seems good to him. ”

    David puts his trust in God, not in the ark.

    It may be that the Lord will look upon my misery and restore to me his covenant blessing instead of his curse today.

    I wonder if David, not knowing that Absalom had been deceiving the people, believed that God was punishing him for his sin with Bathsheba. It’s easy to assume that when bad things happen, it must be heavenly punishment. Remember that Nathan spoke God’s word to David, “The Lord has taken away your sin. You are not going to die.” Today we have the promise of John 1:19…

    If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

    As Scott reminds us, we will reap what we sow. The “Growing” series he did years ago was a turning point in my life. If we plant good seeds and water them, we will grow a good crop. Weeds will grow, but we need to stay on top of them before they overrun the field. Working as a teenager in the corn fields, I remember having to get rid of morning glory, a beautiful plant, but destructive to corn if let go. As I got more experienced, I could spot a small morning glory plant from 50 yards and would immediately go pull it. If you didn’t get all of the root, it would grow back quickly.

    I think this is the way it is with sin, it will grow in our fields and we have to recognize it and pull it. It is easier to pull when it is a small weed. Weeds growing in our neighbors field will blow seeds into ours, but we need to concern ourselves first with our weeds before worrying about our neighbors.

    Lord, help me to see the weeds in the field when they are small. I know that You want a relationship with me, not to punish me. Lord, reveal the works of satan, the lies and deceit, for what they are so that I can know You better. I pray for myself and others who are struggling with loved ones whose fields have become over run with weeds. In Jesus name.

  3. Nicole Marvin on said:

    I really want to read ahead in 2 Samuel, as some of the verses today were quite perplexing to me. But I will be patient. 🙂

    What stood out to me today was Matthew 25:13 “And Jesus concluded, “Watch out, then, because you do not know the day or the hour.” It is a repeat from yesterday for me. Be ready! Be aware. Be prepared. This feeling of us (people passionate for Christ) being soldiers, on the front lines, sharing Jesus with others, meeting needs, staying clean/pure/sin-free is weighing heavy on me lately. We are in the midst of a spiritual war, everyday.

    Epehesians 6:10-20 (Msg)
    ” 10-12And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.
    13-18Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.”

    I need you , Jesus. I need your strength and your wisdom. Keep my eyes open. I need your help.

Leave a Reply

