Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 126

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Welcome to Day 126 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 11; 2 Samuel 12; Psalm 51; Matthew 23 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 11:1, “In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, David sent Joab out with the king’s men and the whole Israelite army. They destroyed the Ammonites and besieged Rabbah.  But David remained in Jerusalem. 3 David sent someone to find out about her. The man said, “Isn’t this Bathsheba, the daughter of Eliam and the wife of Uriah the Hittite?” 4 Then David sent messengers to get her. She came to him, and he slept with her. (She had purified herself from her uncleanness.) Then she went back home. 5 The woman conceived and sent word to David, saying, “I am pregnant.””

v 27, “The thing David had done displeased the Lord.”

2 Samuel 12:13, “Then David said to Nathan, “I have sinned against the Lord.”

Psalm 51:10, “Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. 11 Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”

Matthew 23, Jesus warns against hypocrisy, proclaims woes upon the teachers of the Law and Pharisees.

O bservation

What comes to mind is “Oh, how the mighty have fallen…”

David, a man who had everything… a wealthy king, a war hero, slayer of Goliath, honoring, generous, instituted worship at the altar, had many wives and children already, but made one critical mistake (sin) by sleeping with Bathsheba.

A pplication

I’ve heard this passage taught before, “In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, David sent Joab out with the king’s men and the whole Israelite army… But David remained in Jerusalem.” As though that was his first mistake. That he shouldn’t have been home in the first place, like that was the issue.

However true that may be, he could have spotted Bathsheba from his rooftop and simply walked away… gone back to bed… with any of his wives… Instead, he sent for Bathsheba.

At any step along the way, we can circumvent the big sins in our lives. Stay out of the bar, don’t contact the old girlfriend from high school, think through the potential consequences of what we are considering… remember that God is watching.

One of my goals in life is to not succumb to anything that could blow my life apart. I’ve seen it too many times…

People rationalize what they have done, or are about to do, by saying, “God will forgive me.” True… but the damage path will be wide and long. God forgave David immediately, but the child still died. His sin found him out… Nathan came to him and rebuked him. David paid a high price for what he had done.

Then, in (what I would consider) an odd twist of grace, Bathsheba bore to David a son, Solomon, who would eventually build the temple. v 24, “She gave birth to a son, and they named him Solomon. The Lord loved him.”

Why not any of David’s other sons from any of his other wives? Why Bathsheba? Why this son?

To me, this is a great picture of

redemption and restoration.

I wouldn’t have worked it out this way, would you? By allowing the son of a woman, whose husband David had killed to cover up his adulterous act and eventual pregnancy, to build the temple?

But that’s how God is. He is faithful and does things differently that I would.

David is a great example of what Jesus was talking about to the Pharisees and teachers of the Law when he told them to first clean the inside of the cup… not just the outside for the sake of appearance. David did what he did and then tried to cover it up by giving Uriah the Hittite opportunity to sleep with Bathsheba. When that didn’t work, he had him killed “by the sword of the Ammonites.” (He sent him to the fiercest battle possible.)

Then, he ever-so-smuggly replies at the announcement of Uriah’s death, to the messenger he replies, “Tell Joab, “Don’t let this upset you; the sword devours one as well as another.” (Que sera, sera…)

P rayer

It’s only by your grace that any of us stand. All our sins, big and small, separate us from you. Thank you that your grace and mercy removes all of our sin… I’m amazed and so, so thankful!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 126

  1. Marcia zecchini on said:

    I was reminded today of Psalm 106 that we read a few days ago. It spoke of Gods compassion for us. Psalm 51 in todsys reading speaks of His compassion and lovingkindness. David saw that his sin didn’t affect just himself, but his entire family, and all Israel.
    Father keep me aware that my sin isn’t just about me, but affects those around me, and the Kingdom. Help me keep that Kingdom perspective. “by your favor, do good to Zion; build the walls of Jerusalem.”

  2. But the thing David had done displeased the Lord.

    Even David was not perfect. We all slip up. The question is, do we acknowledge and confess our sins. Are we willing to readily reap what we have sown as David did? David did what he could to change God’s mind, but accepted God’s judgement when rendered. Even though David did not kill Uriah himself, he was just as guilty for trying to cover up his sin and then conspiring to kill him. God of course turns an evil deed into good, using the union of Bathsheba and David to create Soloman who He loves.

    We have to accept God’s judgements and give him room to turn a bad situation into good. As mentioned before, it’s when we try to take justice into our own hands that a bad situation becomes worse. I was a smoker for years and even though I quit for good, I have to accept the reality that I shortened my life. However, I can now relate to the process of quitting as over the years I tried non-smoking aids with only temporary success. It was only through prayer that I was able to quit for good and never crave another. The smell and thought turns my stomach where previous times I looked longingly at others smoking desiring one.

    Lord, thank you for the ultimate anti-smoking aid, Your grace and strength. I pray for those struggling with this and other addictions. Make it clear to them as You did me, that these are idols in our lives that we put ahead of You. I accept Your judgements which are always just. We all mess up, so I pray for the wisdom to know what it is You detest and the resolve to avoid them. I confess my sins to you and ask for forgiveness in Jesus name.

  3. Additional thoughts on Matthew 23…

    It’s easy to be a hypocrite and give the appearance of being something we are not. I want people to see me for who I am with all my issues and quirks. I want to walk in God’s plan for my life although I still don’t know what that is. I’m glad the He has it all figured out because I certainly don’t.

  4. I am so grateful for Gods grace. When we see our own sin as David did we realize what we have done. Father thank you that your grace is a shield and protects me…

  5. I do think the worse sin is the kind that affects others around us…even generations. And I’m amazed that God can take something so big and bad and make it all work for our Good. Lord, thank You for your neverending Goodness, Your brilliance, and Your Love.

  6. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 51:3
    “I recognize my faults; I am conscious of my sins.”
    vs 5 “I have been evil from the day I was born; from the time I was conceived, I have been sinful.”
    vs 12 “…make me willing to obey you.”

    Oh, Lord, please keep me conscious of my sins. Show me my faults, so I can change my ways. Never let me think that I have it all together. Make me willing to obey you. Thank you for your grace, mercy and forgiveness. Guide me on the narrow path. Open my eyes, keep me on guard. Protect me from the enemies lure to draw me away from you. Guard my heart from temptations. I need you! I need Jesus living in me.

Leave a Reply

