Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 125

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Welcome to Day 125 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 10; 1 Chronicles 20; Psalm 20; Matthew 22 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

It’s always difficult for me to list just the ONE verse or passage that jumped out at me when we are reading 4-5 chapters at a time. Especially within the New Testament that captures several situations when Jesus is teaching and healing the sick.

I usually (for the sake of those looking on) try to give a one line description of each chapter, even if I don’t do the Observation portion on that section. It helps me, when looking back, to recall what was happening in each chapter. When I did my Life Journal last year, I usually focused on just one, maybe two passages.

S cripture

2 Samuel 10, “In the course of time, the king of the Ammonites died, and his son Hanun succeeded him as king. 2 David thought, “I will show kindness to Hanun son of Nahash, just as his father showed kindness to me.” So David sent a delegation to express his sympathy to Hanun concerning his father.”

1 Chronicles 20 recounts a few of David’s wars…

Psalm 20:7, “Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but

we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”

Matthew 22, the Pharisees and Sadducees are trying to trap Jesus.

v 29 “Jesus replied, (To the Sadducees, who said there is no resurrection…) “You are in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God.”

v 37 “Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

O bservation

David continues to show his (potential) adversaries kindness, yet is misunderstood… or simply, they don’t trust him. He sends a delegation to express his sympathy, but they believe that he is spying on them!

I always take note of how Jesus handled the Pharisees, Sadducees and Teachers of the Law. The questions they asked and how he answered them.

A pplication

There is nothing worse than being misunderstood. When a person reads something into what you said or did and they assign ill to your intentions.

I make my share of mistakes, as we all do… and I’m quick to own mine.

I am often in a place where I have to make a decision that will be off-putting to someone.

How we handle hearing the word, “No.” says a lot about us, doesn’t it?

For instance, who I select to lead worship on a weekend that I will be speaking… there is a lot of opportunity for jealousy or hurt feelings to occur. (Fortunately, we have very little of that!) I’m just using that as an example for obvious reasons…

Or when we have a guest worship leader in town, who gets to play in the band with them can be a similar situation to administer. Musician and artists… we can all be a little sensitive at times… and it’s ok for one to be disappointed. It’s how we handle that disappointment that matters.

Or, what about how I handle when Doug offers the weekend speaking to another staff person. Do I lash out? Emotionally withdraw? Shrug it off as though I didn’t care? Or offer genuine support to that person and come alongside them and help them to be at their best?

Jesus was always amazing at how he handled tough situations. He was always misunderstood, even accused.

P rayer

Give me your heart, Lord… help me to walk through difficult situations with grace and compassion. To always put my trust in you, not in my own wisdom or ability…

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 125

  1. David Biggs on said:

    Scott, again, the words God has given you for this blog, just brings it all together for me. Day in and day out. Thanks for your obedience and discipline. You are a blessing. Keep it up bro!

  2. shauna on said:

    I apologize for adding this entry so late. My husband just reminded me the blog is available for questions regarding the journal reading. My comment is regarding the story about the Faith of the Canaanite Woman from Day 118, in Matt 15:21-28. Every since I read this story I have been confused and troubled. I am a “baby” Christian and I just started my walk with Christ less then a year ago and up until now it has been wonderful, but after reading v24 “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel” something about that “only” part just left me empty inside. I know he commends the Canaanite woman for her great faith, but after reading this verse I had this feeling of disconnection. Like the words I was reading were not meant for me, they were only meant for the Jews. I keep telling myself that this does not change the close relationship I was starting to feel with God and all the blessings I have been given. But for some reason that one verse (and some others I found in the Bible about Jesus and Gentiles) has managed to turn things upside down for me. I desperately want to get things back to the way they were before this reading. I was hoping Scott and/or other bloggers could help this “baby” to understand and share your knowledge.

    • Nicole Marvin on said:

      Shauna-This verse is a bit puzzling and I can’t explain the way Jesus reacted to her. But I wanted to respond to your reply. His words to the Canaanite woman do not change his presence in your life. Don’t let this put a wedge in your relationship with him. I would say you should rebuke the spirit of emptiness and disconnect that is coming in to your life. Read Psalm 31 and know that you are in his constant care.

      • shauna on said:

        Thank you Nicole for your suggestion of Psalm 31. One verse stood out to me “I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction and knew the anguish of my soul.” I am fighting daily the confusion, but am confident God will help me through this like so many other things. Thank you again for sharing this Psalm with me.

  3. Rebecca Caudill on said:

    I realized for the first time how the various Jewish religious leaders of Jesus’ day put great and collaborative effort in trumping Jesus’ knowledge of God’s word. Jesus amazes me with His patience in answering their evil intentions with opportunities to see and hold on to the truth.

    Sent from my iPod

  4. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Psalm 20:7-8
    7-8 See those people polishing their chariots,
    and those others grooming their horses?
    But we’re making garlands for God our God.
    The chariots will rust,
    those horses pull up lame—
    and we’ll be on our feet, standing tall.

    I love these verses. “Some people trust in….(fill in the gap).” But I trust in the power of the Lord. The power of the Lord! Nothing is stronger that his power. What an honor to be in his care.

Leave a Reply

