Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 124

Friday, May 4, 2012

Welcome to Day 124 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 8; 2 Samuel 9; 1 Chronicles 18; 1 Chronicles 19; Matthew 21 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 8:15, “David reigned over all Israel, doing what was just and right for all his people.”

1 Chronicles 18:14, “David reigned over all Israel, doing what was just and right for all his people.”

2 Samuel 9, “Don’t be afraid,” David said to him, “for I will surely show you kindness for the sake of your father Jonathan. I will restore to you all the land that belonged to your grandfather Saul, and you will always eat at my table.” 8 Mephibosheth bowed down and said, “What is your servant, that you should notice a dead dog like me?” 9 Then the king summoned Ziba, Saul’s servant, and said to him, “I have given your master’s grandson everything that belonged to Saul and his family.”

Matthew 21, Jesus’ triumphal entry and cleansing of the temple, cursed the fig tree, his authority is questioned, parables of the two sons, parable of the vineyard… “‘They will respect my son,’ he said. 38 “But when the tenants saw the son, they said to each other, ‘This is the heir. Come, let’s kill him and take his inheritance.’ 39 So they took him and threw him out of the vineyard and killed him.”

O bservation

How amazing is it that David took in Jonathan’s son (also Saul’s grandson)! Not only did he take him into his house, he restored to him all that had belonged to Saul and assigning people to farm the land on his behalf, and insisting that he eat at the king’s table every day. This is Mephibosheth, the crippled son of Jonathan. (That he is crippled is repeated several times in scripture.) 2 Samuel 9 ends with “he always ate at the king’s table, and he was crippled in both feet.”

A pplication

This is such an amazing picture of God’s love for us… adopting us, taking us in, allowing us to eat at his table, restoring to us all that had been lost, metaphorically speaking. A beautiful foreshadowing of things to come…

God’s heart is to take in the poor, the lost, the hurting, the lame, the broken…

Ephesians 1:4-6, “For

he chose us

in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love 5 he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will— 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.”

Regardless of how we may see ourselves, God has predestined us to be adopted as his sons (and daughters). And he is excited about that! It was/is his pleasure and will! To adopt you… and me! Us! Into his family! To sit at his table with him. To restore to us our inheritance!

How amazing is that!?

P rayer

Thank you Lord for your amazing loving kindness toward me!

Harmony of Kings, Samuel and Chronicles
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 124

  1. Marcia zecchini on said:

    The account of Mephibosheth is so uplifting. Mephibosheth lived in Lo-debar which means desolate, deserted, despised one. Not only did he have a physical ailment but he must have lived his life in fear thinking David would kill him at any time. But because of David’s integrity and the covenant he made with Johnathan, he was not seeking to kill him but to bless him. What a picture of grace. I, like him, deserved death but God in His mercy for me came to my rescue. I thought of an old song today. “He reached down His hand and He lifted me up. He placed my feet on the Rock of salvation. Oh what a firm foundation. He reached down His hand and He lifted me up. ”
    Had to do a little happy dance in my office with that one.

  2. “I tell you the truth, if you have faith and don’t doubt, you can do things like this and much more. You can even say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. You can pray for anything, and if you have faith, you will receive it.”

    I am constantly amazed that things I pray for happen, and I know I shouldn’t be. I pray with faith that they will happen, and they do, then I am surprised. Just last week, I was considering throwing in the towel on our worship event this weekend as things seemed to be unraveling at an alarming rate. Instead, I prayed with full anticipation that things would come together, and voila.

    I throw in the towel too early sometimes. Just because not everyone we pray for gets healed, doesn’t mean we should get discouraged. I prayed for a coworkers husband who had a stroke and hours were numbered. He made a miraculous turnaround and became coherent for a few days, but did pass. We can look at this as failure since he is now gone, but the few days that she got to spend with her husband is priceless.

    Lord, thank you for answering prayers. There is nothing too big, or too small, for You! I pray that my faith continue to grow and my ears become more clear, so that I can know Your will and focus my prayers there.

  3. From yesterday: 2 Sam 7:18: (David prayed) “Who am I, O Lord, and what is my family that you have brought me this far?”
    Today: 2 Sam 9:8 Mephibosheth bowed down and said, “What is your servant, that you should notice a dead dog like me?”

    God had been merciful, gracious, and kind to David. David did the same for his fellow man. David’s kindness to Mephibosheth is not the first time David has acted this way to people who didn’t “deserve” anything, especially from the king.

    God amazes and overwhelms us with His kindness. It causes us to do the same for others. We become like our Father…

  4. He knew they were trying to trap Him.
    I must be aware of the traps in my life. Lord, I pray for wisdom to discern when I am being tempted and the exit is obvious.
    Many are called, but few are chosen. Lord, I choose this day to follow you.

Leave a Reply

