Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 123

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Welcome to Day 123 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 7; 1 Chronicles 17; Psalm 2; Matthew 20 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 7 and 1 Chronicles are near parallel passages… with David lamenting his living in a palace while the Ark resides in a tent. I love that God responds with, “Did I ever say to any of their rulers whom I commanded to shepherd my people Israel, “Why have you not built me a house of cedar?”

The correct answer would be “No.”

Nathan prophesies, “I declare to you that the Lord will build a house for you!” How amazing is THAT!??

Not only will you build a house for HIM, HE is going to build a house for YOU!

Psalm 2 is one of the most quoted Psalms in the New Testament. See Matthew 3:1717:5Acts 4:25–2713:33Romans 1:4Hebrews 1:55:5)

v 7 “He said to me, “You are my Son; today I have become your Father.”

Matthew 20 records an amazing parable of the Vineyard and workers… “the Kingdom is like…” The owner paid everyone the same wages, regardless of how long they worked. Love that.

The mother of James and John (Zebedee’s sons) requests of Jesus that they sit on either side of Jesus in his kingdom… v 28 is classic, “just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Jesus healed two blind men. How cool is that?

O bservation

Interestingly, God tells David he is not the one who will build a temple, but his offspring. Then, in an interesting twist, he declares, “that the Lord will build a house for you: 11 When your days are over and you go to be with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, one of your own sons, and I will establish his kingdom.”

Psalm 127 “Unless the LORD builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain.” (A Psalm of Solomon! Who built the temple!)

1 Chronicles 17:26, “O Lord, you are God! You have promised these good things to your servant.”

A pplication

I just think it’s incredible that David’s desire is to build a house for the LORD and the Ark… but God turns it around on him. I can hear Him saying, “Thanks David, but it is I who will build a house for you!”

Wow!

P rayer

Lord You are faithful to your word! You established the house of David! The Lion of Judah on the throne!

Hallelujah!

 


Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 123

  1. 2sam.7:3 whatever you have in your mind, go and do it for the Lord is with you. 9) for I have been with you wherever you have gone and cut off your enemies from before you. 14) I will be his Father and he will be my son. What a great way to begin the day knowing He is for me and I can move ahead with confidence because He is with me. Father thank you for pavving the way for me. It will be perfect .I love you..

  2. Marcia zecchini on said:

    “I will settle him in My house and in My kingdom forever.” Doesn’t get any better than that.

  3. Amen to both of you!

Leave a Reply

