Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 120

Monday, April 30, 2012

Welcome to Day 120 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 6; 1 Chronicles 13; Psalm 68; Matthew 17 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S oap

2 Samuel 6, the Ark of God is brought to Israel with much rejoicing.

1 Chronicles 13:3 “Let us bring the ark of our God back to us, for we did not inquire of it during the reign of Saul.”

v 7 “They moved the ark of God from Abinadab’s house on a new cart, with Uzzah and Ahio guiding it. 8 David and all the Israelites were celebrating with all their might before God, with songs and with harps, lyres, tambourines, cymbals and trumpets. 9 When they came to the threshing floor of Kidon, Uzzah reached out his hand to steady the ark, because the oxen stumbled. 10 The LORD’s anger burned against Uzzah, and he struck him down because he had put his hand on the ark. So he died there before God.”

Matthew 17, Moses and Elijah appear to Jesus, Peter, James and John… Jesus heals a boy, rebukes the disciples for their lack of faith, instructs Peter regarding the temple tax… Sends Peter fishing to get the money to pay the tax. From the mouth of a fish?

O bservation

It may initially appear unjust that Uzzah died unjustly, due to reaching out to steady the Ark… the problem wasn’t that, it was more that this was not the way God had instructed them to move the Ark. They were supposed to use poles to carry it, not put it on a cart pulled by oxen. (Keep in mind these instructions were given to Moses 400 years earlier.)

Numbers 4:15 states, “After Aaron and his sons have finished covering the holy furnishings and all the holy articles, and when the camp is ready to move, the Kohathites are to come to do the carrying. But they must not touch the holy things or they will die. The Kohathites are to carry those things that are in the Tent of Meeting.

A pplication

It’s hard for us to grasp Uzzah’s death until we put it in its proper context… God is holy and requires obedience. Seems simple enough to follow the instructions as to how to carry the ark. However, it’s hard to know if they knew this… I’m wondering if they just didn’t have the poles? Or were the gold rings even still attached to the Ark. Were these instructions common knowledge? Did they have a scroll of Numbers?? Were they so excited to have the Ark back that they just didn’t handle it with its proper care?

Seems to me that if David knew, he would have insisted that it be carried properly. To offer a burnt offering every six steps while being transported improperly makes no sense to me.

It can be difficult to reconcile these issues… and to know how to apply them to our lives 3,000 years later, while living under a different covenant.

I always look for the timeless principle in any passage, to answer the question, “How does this apply to my life today?”

It’s about obedience and holiness. But how do obedience and holiness fit under the new covenant? Well, first, obedience is obedience either way. God says it clearly. We do what he said. Holiness is imparted to us under the new covenant… but our behavior still can be either holy or unholy, depending, right? It doesn’t change our standing before God… He still sees us as righteous, because of the work Jesus did on the cross.

But still, when he said, “Don’t touch any of the holy things.” it seems pretty simple to me.

Don’t touch them.

P rayer

Lord, help me to never have disregard for your holy things… help me to keep my hands off the things you would rather I not touch.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 120

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    2 Samuel 6:16 “As the Box, was being brought into the city, Michal, Saul’s daughter, looked out the window and saw King David dancing and jumping around in the sacred dance, and she was disgusted with him.”

    vs 21″David answered, “I was dancing to honor the Lord, who chose me instead of your father and his family to make me me the leader of his people Israel. And I will go on dancing to honor the Lord. and will disgrace myself even more….”

    These verses remind me of Matthew 10:36 “Your worst enemies will be the members of your own family.” David is trying to do what would honor the Lord and his wife is disgusted with him. Our actions, as followers of Jesus, may not make sense to our unbelieving family members. We may be persecuted for our beliefs, our actions and our commitment to Jesus. It takes courage to be who God wants me to be.

    Jesus, I want to honor you more than anything. Help me to have courage.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Enjoy your day off, Scott!

  3. Lisa Green on said:

    It will be fun to see what you write Scott after comments are posted today!

    Uzzah and touching the ark, bristles me when I think about him trying to protect the ark when the oxen stumbled and he was killed for it. I may not understand, but sometimes the good intentions of my life, could be my own ideas and do not serve the real purpose He intends.

    In Matthew, casting out the demon, Jesus said this type comes out only by prayer and fasting. It reminded me that when situations present themselves, how much better if I have already been doing what I know to do, prayer and fasting, so that when the situation arises, I am prepared for the time.

    Lord I want to be faith filled, ready, and do the works you have commanded.

  4. David and the whole company of Israel were in the parade, singing at the top of their lungs and playing mandolins, harps, tambourines, castanets, and cymbals.

    Worship is something we do, not something we go to or go to see. It requires active participation, not just with our bodies, but with our spirits. It’s like worship at the 2nd service yesterday. It’s amazing how the spirit moves when people engage in selfless acts of worship. Kudos to the teens for stepping out and getting their worship on!

    Worship is not something we do to get something from God. I’ll worship you if… Agendas should be checked at the door. He inhabits our praise. This is how we get to spend time with Him. I am excited about our next 24 hours of worship this weekend. It’s amazing to see people worshiping with abandoned hearts for an extended period of time where there is no schedule to keep. Worship teams are free to follow the spirit.

    Lord, thank you for allowing us to spend time and worship You. It is such a privilege that we take for granted. Please be with Scott on his day off so that he be relax and unwind.

  5. I love how I am learning to be a true worshipper. I can honor you in all that I do. Anytime, anywhere, you are with me. I love your friendship. Walk me tomorrow. I know I am going to need your wisdom.

  6. Ok my 3rd attempt to post here.(ALL THUMBS HA HA) I too struggled with uzzah being struck down as he steadied the Ark when the oxen stumbled (2sam.6-7) Gods anger burned for the”irreverent ” act. Something else happened I believe. Would OUR God do that over a stumble? Maybe his mind wasn’t on his job and that’s why the oxen stumbled. Just saying. I know at times I see that my motives are not about Him and I catch myself of course living in the flesh. (daily right?) What really caught my attention was David was afraid and angry, leaving the Ark behind. 11) yet when David got wind of all the blessings poured out on Obed s house and his family, he immediately went to retrieve the Ark for himself. He knew the blessings were intended for him. David went and once again 15) rejoicing and dancing before the Lord. And when he did return in celebration, his own wife 16) Michal despised him. Isn’t is that way for many of us? Father help me live for you and be a shining example of your sacrafice.

  7. Oh..p.s. great job being note free yesterday Scott. Enjoy your fishing trip..hope they are tasty!

  8. Funny… I should NOT post more often!
    7 comments on the day I don’t post.
    2 comments each day for several days prior?

    I’m beginning to get a complex…

Leave a Reply

