Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 119

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Welcome to Day 119 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 4, 2 Samuel 5; Psalm 139; Matthew 16 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 4, yet another instance when someone tries to win David’s approval by killing an adversary, but when they expect a reward, they find judgment. David has them killed for “killing an innocent man, in his own house, in his own bed.” (David has no need of human assistance, as the Lord is with him in all he is doing.)

2 Samuel 5, David is now king over all Israel, conquering Jerusalem, then defeating (finally!) the Philistines!

Psalm 139:1, “O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. 2 You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.”

v 7 “Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?”

v 23 “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Matthew 16:16 “Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”

v 23 “Jesus turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.”

O bservation

Ok… enough about David for now. We’ll come back to him soon enough. He’s finally king over all of Israel.

Let’s focus on Peter today. Isn’t it strange how he make this great confession that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of the living God!” Then, when Jesus is explaining that “he must go to Jerusalem and suffer many things at the hands of the elders, chief priests and teachers of the law, and that he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life.” Then Peter pulled him aside and began to rebuke him!

Let me get this straight… Peter knows that Jesus is the Messiah? Then he rebukes him?

Imagine how Peter must have felt when Jesus said to him, “Get behind me Satan!”

A pplication

Yet again, people give Peter a hard time for having foot-in-mouth disease… But how much like him am I?

Able to leap tall buildings in a single bound one minute, then the next… wham!

Spiritually in tune one minute, then the next… wham!

My own thinking… My will, not thy will. My thoughts, not his thoughts. My plan, not his plan.

Jesus told the disciples to “Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees…” (Their teaching.) The disciples thought he was upset that they had forgotten bread (this, after they had fed multitudes, twice, recently!)

I think we have to give ourselves a little space to “not get it” once in a while.

Even with the Spirit of God living in us, and having the benefit of studying all the disciples’ mistakes, we still make our own share of them, don’t we?

The danger comes when I begin to think I have it all together…

“Well, if I had gotten out of the boat, I would know better than to take my eyes off Jesus and I would never focus on the wind and waves!” I would have known Jesus was talking about the Pharisees’ teaching, not bread. I would have known that Jesus had to suffer many things and be crucified, being the Christ, the Messiah. I would never deny Jesus… On and on and on and on it goes…

Best to walk in a little humility… dontchathink?

Let’s give the disciples a break?

Just imagine if someone recorded a few your blunders for generations to come to read about!

P rayer

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 119

  1. Marcia zecchini on said:

    2 Samuel 4:1 “when Ishbosheth Sauls son heard that Abner had died in Hebron, he lost courage and all Israel was disturbed. ” I saw the difference between David and Ishbosheth. David put his trust in God and Ish put his trust in Abner. Not only did he lose his life but all Israel suffered. Then Ishbosheth was buried with Abner. I found that ironic.
    Reading 2 Samuel 5 I saw in verse 12 that David did not exhault himself, but realized God was exhaulting him for the sake of His people. . . humility. David proceeded in warfare by
    1. Asking God if he should fight
    2. Asking God how he should fight
    3. After victory he gave God all the glory
    Psalm 139:2 says “You understand my thought from afar.” That spoke to me. He doesn’t just know my thoughts but my thought pattern. How I process. How I reason. We all have strongholds or grids that our thoughts must filter through because of deep woundings in our lives. Thank you God that as I, just as David, place my trust in you, you will be with me through my battles with the enemy, and my own flesh, and you will lead me to victory for my sake and the sake of others that I will bring along with me. Bring down every stronghold in my thinking not just for my benefit but for your kingdoms sake.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matthew 16:24
    “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you want to come with me, you must forget yourself…”

    vs 25 “…but if you lose your life for my sake, you will find it.”

    Forget myself.
    Lose my life & my way.
    Find life in Jesus. His way, his thoughts, his heart, his will.

    Jesus, I want to forget about me-my ways, my thoughts, my desires. I want to know you. More than anyone else, I want you.

Leave a Reply

