Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 117

Friday, April 27, 2012

Welcome to Day 117 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 2 Samuel 2; 1 Chronicles 11; Psalm 142; Matthew 14 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

2 Samuel 2, things are heating up between David/Judah and Saul’s kingdom of Israel…

1 Chronicles 11:1, “All Israel came together to David at Hebron and said, “We are your own flesh and blood. 2 In the past, even while Saul was king, you were the one who led Israel on their military campaigns. And the LORD your God said to you, ‘You will shepherd my people Israel, and you will become their ruler.’” 3 When all the elders of Israel had come to King David at Hebron, he made a compact with them at Hebron before the LORD, and they anointed David king over Israel…

as the LORD had promised through Samuel.

Loved reading about the exploits of David’s mighty men! Amazing exploits!

Did you know that the largest category of Psalms are referred to as “Psalms of Complaint (lament or cries for help?) Psalm 142 is no exception… Honestly, I get tired of reading about David’s troubles. He always ends them well, with praises to God, but he really knows how to complain, and he asks a lot of tough questions.

Matthew 14, John the Baptist is beheaded… Jesus feeds the multitudes, walks on water…

v 29 “Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus.” (We all know he looked at the wind and waves and his head got the best of him, but let’s just leave it at THIS verse for once!)

O bservation

How unjust is it that John the Baptist is BEHEADED?? This is Jesus’ cousin! Keeps things in perspective for the rest of us when we go through hardships… there are no guarantees, are there…

And I suggest we give Peter a break for once! He’s the only one who took the risk and got out of the boat! Let’s leave it at that. Go Peter! Hard for me to understand why Jesus asked Peter “where is your faith?” He should be asking that to the other disciples who DIDN’T get out of the boat! Just sayin’…

A pplication

I want to be like Peter. Taking risks! Or even one of David’s “Mighty Men!”

Not quite so excited to end up like John the Baptist…

P rayer

Help me to not look at the wind and the waves, but to keep my eyes fixed on Jesus, the Author and Finisher of my faith! Give me the strength and courage of David’s mighty men of valor!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 117

  1. Peter walks on the water by faith. When he takes his eyes off Jesus and begins to worry about the waves, he starts to sink. He cries out to Jesus who saves him.

    When we take our focus away from Jesus and focus on the troubles of this world, we begin to sink. It’s human nature to focus on the waves. Fortunately, Jesus is there to save us when we cry out to Him.

    How do I keep my focus on Jesus and not the waves crashing around me? Continuously reading scripture of course is one way. I’m amazed at how many things in scripture I had forgotten about. Prayer is another. Worship and just taking some time out to do nothing… Serving others…

    Lord, it’s hard to keep my focus on You. Thank you for being available to save me each time I jump out of the boat.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matthew 14:23 “After sending the people away, he went up a hill by himself to pray.”

    If Jesus took time to be alone and pray, how much more do I need this? The quiet allows me to hear the Spirit talk to my spirit. I hear Jesus whisper to me. It renews me and comforts me.

    Lord, help me to make more time for just me and you.

Leave a Reply

