Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 113

Monday, April 23, 2012

Welcome to Day 113 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 27; Psalm 141; 1 Chronicles 9; Matthew 10 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Samuel 27, David settles in the land of Achish… Remember him? He’s the king of Nob… that David acted insane in front of in 1 Samuel 21! What an odd turn of events. David probably knew that Achish didn’t see him as a threat. He stayed in that place 16 months… among the Philistines! Strange… strategy?

v 12 “Achish trusted David and said to himself, “He has become so obnoxious to his people, the Israelites, that he will be my servant for life.”

Psalm 141:8, “But my eyes are fixed on you, Sovereign LORD; in you I take refuge.”

1 Chronicles 9, This chapter contains a selective summary of Israelites who made up the early community of those returning from exile in Babylon. (Reformation Study Bible) This is odd timing to me, since the captivity hasn’t happened yet… (Not for maybe a hundred years or so, if my math is good.)

Matthew 10, Jesus sends out the twelve…

32 “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. 33 But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.

O bservation

Noted in Matthew 10 the list of dos and do nots that he gave to the disciples… In short, Do: Heal the sick, proclaim this message, freely give. Do not: Go to the Gentiles or Samaritans, take gold or silver or a bag for the journey, do not worry.

I’m still curious as to why David went into hiding from Saul. I mean, I get that he knew Saul was out to kill him, yet he, twice, put himself at risk by going into the cave and into the camp where Saul was…

Perhaps since David had killed Goliath, he simply had the upper hand and was not the slightest bit afraid of Saul when it came down to it? idk

A pplication

Makes me wonder what I hide from in my life…. What am I afraid of? Who do I run from?

When Jesus sent out the twelve, he sent them out with nothing. The closest I have come to experiencing that was when my brother-in-law, Dave, and I went to Rwanda in 2004. I had a plane ticket and rough itinerary. We had NO idea where we were staying… or even who was going to meet us at the airport! What the food would be like, etc, etc, etc. A three-week adventure that pushed every emotional, physical and spiritual button in my body.

Being sent can be a little scary… Paul said in 2 Corinthians 11, “I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my fellow Jews, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false believers. 27 I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. 28 Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches. 29 Who is weak, and I do not feel weak? Who is led into sin, and I do not inwardly burn?”

Keep in mind, Paul used to be the scary guy… going from city to city persecuting the Believers… having the power to have them killed at his word. (Remember the stoning of Stephen in Acts 7 & 8?)

On another trip to Mozambique, our team was harassed by marauders out in the bush. Doug and I had already left for home (USA) but the rest of the team stayed behind and while traveling out in the middle of nowhere, were accosted by men (with guns?) . Nothing serious happened, but pretty scary, nonetheless… (I am confirming the accuracy of this paragraph to ensure I’m not making it up in my own head, or that the details are not exaggerated.)

P rayer

Give me the strength and courage to carry out all that you have called me to.

Psalm 141, “Set a guard over my mouth, LORD; keep watch over the door of my lips. 4 Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil so that I take part in wicked deeds…”

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 113

  1. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matthew 10:34-39 (see also Luke 12:51-43, 14:26-27)
    “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the world. No, I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.35 I came to set sons against their fathers, daughters against their mothers, daughters-in-law against their mothers-in-law; 36 your worst enemies will be the members of your own family.37 Those who love their father or mother more than me are not fit to be my disciples. 38 Those who do not take up their cross and follow in my steps are not fit to be my disciples. 39 Those who try to gain their own life will lose it; but those who lose their life for my sake will gain it.”

    Jesus gets first place if I want to be his disciple. He wants to be first in all areas of my life. He wants to come before my to do list, my family, my work, my desires, my plans. He wants to be at the top of my list. My first priority.

    Why does it say in verse 36 that our worst enemies will be (not may be) the members of our own family? I think because they demand so much of our time, they have expectations of us, they can influence us more than Jesus if we allow them and we are under our parent’s authority (which if we aren’t careful can trump the authority of Jesus). Also, their opinions, plans and voices can drowned out the plans that Jesus has for us, if we allow it to.

    As a mom, I want to protect my boys, I want them to have a comfortable life, I want them to be safe. But they are men of God. I am learning that comfort, safety and the easy life is not what is best for them. We are in a spiritual war. I don’t want them to be on desk duty, I want them to be on the front lines. As a disciple of Christ, I should want them to live a life of adventure and risk, sharing the glory of God.

    So, how should I be different as a parent, if I let my children live under the authority of Jesus first? I will guide them along the narrow path instead of trying to control their way. I will not push my hopes, plans and dreams for their life on them. I will allow the Father to speak to them and pray for them to hear his voice first, over mine. I will get out of the way. I will walk in the freedom of knowing that God is in control-and I don’t need to be.

    Thank you, Lord, for opening my eyes to see how I can help my boys to be your disciples. I want to hear your voice and I want my boys to learn how to hear your voice now, while they are young. Help me to be filled with a spirit of adventure, boldness and risk-taking. Help me to get out of the way, so that you can move. I adore you.

  2. God knows the number of hairs on my head. God know every sparrow that falls. I love how these reminders are said by Jesus in the middle of his “commissioning” his apostles to go out and preach the Kingdom of God. He knew they needed the reassurance of the Father’s amazing love and protection–they’d never done anything like this before!

    Stepping out can be scary! Even in the midst of “doing ministry” I can sometimes forget that God is with me, loving me, cheering me on, blessing me. How much more when I’m doing something I’ve never done before.

    Thanks, God, for the reassurance that Your love is so deep. That you are very much aware of what’s going on in our lives. And that you are with us every moment.

    (Why do I need this reminder so much?)

  3. Set a guard over my mouth, LORD;
    keep watch over the door of my lips.
    Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil
    so that I take part in wicked deeds
    along with those who are evildoers;
    do not let me eat their delicacies.
    (Psalm 141:3-4 NIV)

    This would have been a great prayer after yesterdays comment.

    Don’t be bluffed into silence by the threats of bullies. There’s nothing they can do to your soul, your core being. Save your fear for God, who holds your entire life—body and soul—in his hands.
    (Matthew 10:28 MSG)

    It’s hard to look beyond this world. It’s so easy to be influenced by what people will think. We don’t even live in fear of bodily harm or death like the early church and many Christians around the world today. It’s easy to want to be apologetic for some bad things done in the name of the church throughout history.

    I will not apologize for misguided acts in the past though. I will strive to live the life that Christ wants me to. I listen to Christian music in my office. Although my boss doesn’t appear to be too crazy about it, it stirred up an awesome conversation with a new girl in sales. I’ve opened my door to handle God’s business and people know who they can turn to if they need prayer or reassurance.

    Lord, I pray that I can represent you well. I want to represent you well, rebuking when it is warranted and comforting as it is needed. I will not live in fear of what others think.

  4. Rick Hall on said:

    Wow Scott, Thanks for sharing the levitation remark. I haven’t personally seen that, but based on things I have seen, and knowing you, I don’t doubt it for a second. It is good to drive home the point that the world really *is* spiritual, and *we* are in a battle. (Although we know who wins, and it isn’t much of a battle for *Him*.)

Leave a Reply

