Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 112

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Welcome to Day 112 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 25, 26; Psalm 63; Matthew 9 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

Sunday is one of my early days. (We have a sound check at 8:00 AM) so I may have to finish my SOAP later today… God bless! Scott

S cripture

1 Samuel 25:1 “Now Samuel died, and all Israel assembled and mourned for him…” (A sad way to start the day!)

1 Samuel 25:3 “His name was Nabal and his wife’s name was Abigail. She was an intelligent and beautiful woman, but her husband was surly and mean in his dealings—he was a Calebite.”

1 Samuel 26:15 “David said, “You’re a man, aren’t you? And who is like you in Israel? Why didn’t you guard your lord the king? Someone came to destroy your lord the king. 16 What you have done is not good. As surely as the LORD lives, you and your men must die, because you did not guard your master, the LORD’s anointed. Look around you. Where are the king’s spear and water jug that were near his head?”

21 Then Saul said, “I have sinned. Come back, David my son. Because you considered my life precious today, I will not try to harm you again. Surely I have acted like a fool and have been terribly wrong.”

22 “Here is the king’s spear,” David answered. “Let one of your young men come over and get it. 23

The LORD rewards everyone for their righteousness and faithfulness.

The LORD delivered you into my hands today, but I would not lay a hand on the LORD’s anointed. 24 As surely as I valued your life today, so may the LORD value my life and deliver me from all trouble.”

25 Then Saul said to David, “May you be blessed, David my son;

you will do great things and surely triumph.”

So David went on his way, and Saul returned home.”

Psalm 63:1 “You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water.”

Matthew 9, Jesus heals and forgives a paralyzed man, calls Matthew, addresses fasting, raises a girl from the dead, heals the woman with an issue of blood, heals the blind and mute man, and talks about the harvest.

v 35 “Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness. 36 When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.”

O bservation

Yet again, Saul is pursuing David. Yet again, David, out of respect, passes on the chance to kill Saul.

I journaled about perspective the other day… noted today in Psalm 63, David is in the desert, but proclaims thirst for the Lord (not water.) Again, his perspective was heavenward, not on his earthly troubles.

Matthew 9, as most chapters in the Gospels, encapsulates potentially a long time period… almost sounds as if it’s “all in a day’s work.” But obviously he “went through all the towns and villages…” so this was over a longer period of time than just a day or two.

A pplication

I love that David refused to kill Saul… and both times, he let Saul know immediately that he could have killed him. This time, he rubbed in Saul’s guard’s faces that they did a poor job of guarding Saul.

I can’t quite understand why then Saul didn’t kill David… Saul was pretty ruthless. (Remember when he had the 85 priests killed?) But both times, his heart kind of softened toward David. He even blessed him! “May you be blessed, David my son; you will do great things and surely triumph.”

I really think Saul was… conflicted? Everyone around him loved David. I think he probably did too… but his love for David was overshadowed by his jealousy.

Where the rubber meets the road in terms of A pplication? How do I treat those around me? Those in authority over me, and those who succeed around me. Do I show honor and respect or do I get jealous?

Jealousy is a cancer… Grumbling about those in authority over us is too.

Must… keep… jealousy… at… bay… Bless… those… who… curse… you…

P rayer

Lord, help me to always speak blessing and honor. To have a right heart toward those around me.

 


Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 112

  1. David could have easily put Saul to death (again) and not had to worry about him. He doesn’t insisting that the Lord will deal with him. Saul is trying to kill him and he doesn’t even retaliate. Even though he goes to retaliate against Nabal, God sends a messenger to reassure David that He will take care of it.

    Quite often, we have people trying to kill us with words. We have the choice to retaliate or not. I think it is just as good to leave it be. In many ways, the information age of social networking is compounding this. It’s easier to tear someone to shreds when you are not face to face with them. It’s easy to be “courageous” when you are posting a status to Facebook. How often have we read a certain emotion in an email when it wasn’t intended that way.

    Lord, give me strength to monitor my words, both spoken and typed. So often I want to lash out and retaliate to set the record straight. As David, I take refuge in You.

    • Ive been thinking about David all day and the fact he left the retaliation to God. I admire that David didn’t kill him and the fact that he wrote Psalms in the midst of confusion. He drew nearer and trusted God. What pastor Doug spoke of “things being out of reach and being beaten down by circumstances that they were not from God.” And that his prayer for those of us who have been reaching, believing and today those things would no longer slip away from us.’ I’m so grateful for that encouragement and words of power. Like David I’m gonna let God care for my enemies. And step into what He had for ne.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matt. 9:2
    Jesus says to the paralyzed man…”Courage, my son! Your sins are forgiven.”

    Matt. 9:22
    Jesus says to the woman with the bleeding problem…”Courage, my daughter! Your faith has made you well.”

    Courage: The ability to do something that frightens one.
    Strength in the face of pain or grief.

    Thank you, Jesus, for another day. I want to be courageous. Please help me to live fearless and full of your strength.

    Matt. 9:36
    “As he saw the crowds, his heart was filled with pity for them, because they were worried and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.”

    Sheep without a shepherd are worried and helpless. We have a shepherd, so we shouldn’t live with worry or the feeling of helplessness.

    Thank you, Lord, that you are my shepherd. I will not worry. Thank you for the hope that I have because of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

