Vineyard Life Journal

An online forum for our church family to connect around our 2012 daily Bible reading plan using the S.O.A.P. method.

Day 111

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Welcome to Day 111 of our Life Journal!

Click here for today’s reading: 1 Samuel 24; Psalm 57, 58; 1 Chronicles 8, Matthew 8 (2012 Daily Bible Reading Plan)

Before you comment or read what I have posted, please read the following passages for yourself and complete your own S.O.A.P. exercise… How does this work?

S.O.A.P = Scripture, Observation, Application, Prayer

S cripture

1 Samuel 24:5 “Afterward, David was conscience-stricken for having cut off a corner of his robe. 6 He said to his men, “The LORD forbid that I should do such a thing to my master, the LORD’s anointed, or lay my hand on him; for he is the anointed of the LORD.”

Saul asked, “Is that your voice, David my son?” And he wept aloud. 17 “You are more righteous than I,” he said. “You have treated me well, but I have treated you badly. 18 You have just now told me about the good you did to me; the LORD delivered me into your hands, but you did not kill me. 19 When a man finds his enemy, does he let him get away unharmed? May the LORD reward you well for the way you treated me today. 20 I know that you will surely be king and that the kingdom of Israel will be established in your hands.”

Psalm 57 is another psalm written from a cave. It could be today’s passage or the previous in the cave of Adullam. No matter, David certainly has a formula for his psalms. Lamenting his situation, crying out to God for help and praising Him.

Psalm 58 this psalm can easily be (prophetically) associated with Jesus before the Sanhedrin… “Do you rulers indeed speak justly? Do you judge people with equity? 2 No, in your heart you devise injustice, and your hands mete out violence on the earth.”

1 Chronicles 8 gives the genealogy of Saul, who was of the tribe of Benjamin.

Matthew 8, Jesus heals a man with leprosy, the Centurion’s servant, Peter’s mother-in-law, and many who were demon-possessed. He cast some demons into a herd of pigs… He also calmed the storm.

8 “The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. 9 For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

10 When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him, “Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith. 11 I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven.”

O bservation

When Jesus makes a statement such as, “Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith.” I take note of it.

The centurion was a Gentile! Yet he had more faith than Jesus had seen in all of Israel. Then when Jesus said, “11 I say to you that many will come from the east and the west, and will take their places at the feast with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob in the kingdom of heaven.”

A pplication

That us! You and me! Of course we (again) have the benefit of knowing the whole story, start to finish. We have already seen Paul’s writings about going to the Gentiles. The Old Testament makes mention of this idea that others will take their place… But when Jesus said this, it had to have sent shock waves through all the Jews! “What?? Gentiles seated with our fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob?? Are you kidding me?? Who does this guy think he is??”

I don’t know how great my faith is. I wonder if Jesus stepped into my life and followed my around for a few days if he would make a statement like that regarding me. “Wow! I’ve not seen such great faith in all of Dayton!”

But it wasn’t only the centurion’s faith, but his understanding of authority. He knew that Jesus was a man under authority and that he only did what he was told. He knew that Jesus also had great authority, and all he had to do was say the word and his servant would be healed!

And how cool was it that this centurion came to Jesus on behalf of his servant? He obviously cared very deeply about that person. He could have just sent someone else to fetch Jesus… But he was the one who had faith.

Imagine a city councilman tracking down Jesus for him to heal the person cutting their grass. That’s what this is like. Someone of some governmental importance, with some authority acting on behalf of one of their servants.

I just think it’s such a great show of humility and concern…

Jesus said to his disciples in the boat, “You of little faith.”  (Some versions he asked, “Where is your faith?”) Luke 8:25.)

P rayer

Lord, I want to be like this centurion, who had great faith, but demonstrated great concern for one of his servants. Help me to understand authority as well… that you only did what you saw the father doing, and you acted accordingly. Fill me Lord with your Spirit afresh today!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Day 111

  1. I loved the centurions faith! I’m grateful that my struggle today is only about money and that I can SEE to create something and THINK about how I’m going to get my inventions/ideas and phone applications to fruition and FEEL the cool breeze while I WALK my two favorite dogs. Thanks you Father for so so much. I know the rest is gonna be great.

  2. Nicole Marvin on said:

    Matt 8:4
    “…Your cleansed and grateful life, not your words, will bear witness to what I have done.” -Jesus

    At times words are unnecessary.

    Lord, I want my life to bear witness to what you have done. Please help me to be slow to speak today.

    Matt 8:10 & 12
    vs 10 Taken aback, Jesus said “I’ve yet to come across this kind of simple trust in Israel, the very people who are supposed to know all about God and how he works.”
    vs 12. “Then those who grew up ‘in the faith’ but had no faith will find themselves out in the cold, outsiders to grace and wondering what happened.”

    I want simple faith. I don’t want just knowledge of God. I want to know God. How he works, what makes him happy & sad, what moves him and what his voice sounds like.

    God, thank you for showing yourself to me. Please continue to reveal yourself to me. I want to know all of you.

  3. I too am impressed with the Roman’s great faith. I feel chllenged to show my faith today.

Leave a Reply

